2018 Reviews · Australian · contemporary fiction · culture · mystery · new release

Book Review: Scrublands by Chris Hammer

Title: Scrublands Author: Chris Hammer Published: July 25th 2018 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 496 Genres: Fiction, Australian, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars In an isolated country town brought to its knees by endless drought, a charismatic and dedicated young priest calmly opens fire on his congregation, killing five parishioners before being shot dead himself.  A year later, troubled journalist Martin Scarsden… Continue reading Book Review: Scrublands by Chris Hammer

2018 Reviews · Beauty and Lace review · crime · fiction · mystery

Beauty & Lace Book Review: The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas

Title: The Psychology of Time Travel Author: Kate Mascarenhas Published: August 1st 2018 Publisher: Harper Collins Books Australia Pages: 368 Genres:  Fiction, Crime, Mystery RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3 stars A time travel murder mystery from a brilliantly original new voice. Perfect for readers of Naomi Alderman’s The Power and Emily St John Mandel’s Station Eleven . 1967. Four female scientists invent a… Continue reading Beauty & Lace Book Review: The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas

#aww2018 · 2018 Reviews · contemporary fiction · domestic

Book Review: Before I Let You Go by Kelly Rimmer

Title: Before I Let You Go Author: Kelly Rimmer Published: February 27th 2018 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 384 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars THE TOP TEN BESTSELLER. Your sister needs you. But her child needs you more… Fans of Jodi Picoult will love this moving page-turner from Australia’s Kelly Rimmer As children, sisters Lexie and Annie were incredibly close. Bonded by the… Continue reading Book Review: Before I Let You Go by Kelly Rimmer

#aww2018 · 2018 Reviews · Australian · contemporary fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty

Title: Nine Perfect Strangers Author: Liane Moriarty Published: September 18th 2018 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 512 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars From the no. 1 New York Times bestselling author of The Husband’s Secret and Big Little Lies. The retreat at health and wellness resort Tranquillum House promises total transformation. Nine stressed city dwellers are keen to drop their literal and mental baggage, and… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty

#aww2018 · 2018 Reviews · Books On Tour · children · Just Write For Kids · Picture book

Just Write For Kids – Books On Tour – Blog Tour: The Forever Kid by Elizabeth Mary Cummings and Illustrated by Cheri Hughes

Title: The Forever Kid Author: Elizabeth Mary Cummings Illustrator: Cheri Hughes Published: 1st October 2018 Publisher: Big Sky Publishing Pages: 32 Genres:  Children –  4 to 8 years RRP: $14.99 Rating: 4 stars It’s Johnny’s birthday but he is no longer here. His family still gathers and lovingly celebrates him on his birthday. By continuing Johnny’s favourite party traditions, and sharing special memories, the family… Continue reading Just Write For Kids – Books On Tour – Blog Tour: The Forever Kid by Elizabeth Mary Cummings and Illustrated by Cheri Hughes

2018 Reviews · Australian · contemporary fiction · Guest Review · new release

Guest New Release Book Review: How to be Perfect by Holly Wainwright

Title: How to be Perfect Author: Holly Wainwright Published: August 29th 2018 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 352 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars The bestselling author of The Mummy Bloggers is back with another page-turning, rip-roaring story about mums, phones and the cult of self-improvement. In the rolling green hills of Australia’s hippest hinterland, a new guru is blogging about her breakfast.  ELLE CAMPBELL… Continue reading Guest New Release Book Review: How to be Perfect by Holly Wainwright

#aww2018 · 2018 Reviews · contemporary fiction · dual time frame · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: Dressing the Dearloves by Kelly Doust

Title: Dressing the Dearloves Author: Kelly Doust Published: August 20th 2018 Publisher: Harper Collins Books Australia Pages: 416 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4.5 stars One crumbling grand manor house, a family in decline, five generations of women, and an attic full of beautiful clothes with secrets and lies hidden in their folds. Kelly Doust, author of Precious Things, spins another warm, glamorous… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Dressing the Dearloves by Kelly Doust