2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: Black River by Matthew Spencer

Title: Black River Author:  Matthew Spencer Published: May 31st 2022 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 360 Genres: Fiction, Crime, Thriller, Suspense RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars Black River is the most compelling thriller you’ll read this year. A long, burning summer in Sydney. A young woman found murdered in the deserted grounds of an elite boarding school. A serial killer preying on victims… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Black River by Matthew Spencer

2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: The It Girl by Ruth Ware

Title: The It Girl Author: Ruth Ware Published: August 3rd 2022 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Pages: 352 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Thriller, Suspense RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars Everyone wanted her lifeSomeone wanted her dead It was Hannah who found April’s body ten years ago.It was Hannah who didn’t question what she saw that day.Did her testimony put an innocent man in prison? She… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The It Girl by Ruth Ware

2022 Reviews · crime · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Unbelieved by Vikki Petraitis

Title: The Unbelieved Author:  Vikki Petraitis Published: August 2nd 2022 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 384 Genres: Fiction, Crime, Thriller, Suspense RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4.5 stars Winner of the inaugural Allen & Unwin Crime Prize. ‘So you believed the alleged rapists over the alleged victim?’ Jane’s voice took on an indignant pitch. ‘Girls lie sometimes.’ I nodded. ‘And rapists lie all the… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Unbelieved by Vikki Petraitis

A Tea break with Mrs B · Interview

A Tea Break with Mrs B: Neela Janakiramanan

It is a pleasure to welcome Neela Janakiramanan to my blog, Mrs B’s Book Reviews for A Tea Break with Mrs B, an author interview series. To help celebrate the release of The Registrar we sat down for a chat. Thanks Neela! Hello Neela. It is my pleasure to welcome you to my blog, Mrs B’s Book Reviews. I greatly… Continue reading A Tea Break with Mrs B: Neela Janakiramanan

2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction

Book Review: Maybe in Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Title: Maybe in Another Life Author: Taylor Jenkins Reid Published: July 7th 2015 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Pages: 368 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $19.99 Rating: 4 stars One choice. Two different paths – with stunningly different results. From the bestselling author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo. At the age of twenty-nine, Hannah Martin still has no idea what she wants to do with… Continue reading Book Review: Maybe in Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid

2022 Reviews · crime · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: Lying Beside You by Michael Robotham

Title: Lying Beside You Author: Michael Robotham Published: June 29th 2022 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 400 Genres: Fiction, Crime, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars TWO MISSING WOMEN. ONE WITNESS. SO MANY LIES . . . The brand-new thriller by the number-one bestselling and award-winning master of crime Twenty years ago, Cyrus Haven’s family was murdered. Only he and his brother survived. Cyrus… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Lying Beside You by Michael Robotham

2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · mystery · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Wrong Woman by J.P. Pomare

Title: The Wrong Woman Author: J.P. Pomare Published: July 27th 2022 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 336 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Thriller, Suspense RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4.5 stars IT WAS A TRAGIC ACCIDENT. WASN’T IT? A private investigator returning to the hometown he fled years ago becomes entangled in the disappearance of two teenage girls in this stunning literary crime thriller. Reid left the small… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Wrong Woman by J.P. Pomare

2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · romance · rural fiction · small town

Book Review: The Vet From Snowy River by Stella Quinn

Title: The Vet from Snowy River Author: Stella Quinn Published: June 6th 2021 Publisher: HQ Fiction – AU Pages: 416 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Romance, Small Town RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars A hot vet. A rebellious teenager. And meddling but well-meaning townsfolk. Vera gets more than she bargains for when she runs off to a new life in the country … A fresh and… Continue reading Book Review: The Vet From Snowy River by Stella Quinn

2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · psychological · thriller

New Release Book Review: Out of Breath by Anna Snoekstra

Title: Out of Breath Author: Anna Snoekstra Published: July 6th 2022 Publisher: HQ Fiction AU Pages: 432 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Thriller, Psychological RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars A compulsive, nail-bitingly tense psychological thriller that takes its readers deep into the heart of a seemingly idyllic intentional community – that proves to be anything but…For readers of Anna Downes’ The Safe Place and Sarah Bailey’s The Housemate.… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Out of Breath by Anna Snoekstra

2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Family Remains by Lisa Jewell

Title: The Family Remains Author: Lisa Jewell Published: July 5th 2022 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 448 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3.5 stars ***FROM THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE FAMILY UPSTAIRS and THEN SHE WAS GONE*** **Loved THE FAMILY UPSTAIRS? Find out what happened next …** LONDON. Early morning, June 2019: on the foreshore of the river Thames, a… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Family Remains by Lisa Jewell