2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · psychological · thriller

New Release Book Review: Stranger in the Lake by Kimberly Belle

Title: Stranger in the Lake Author: Kimberly Belle Published: September 2nd 2020 Publisher: HQ Fiction – US Pages: 304 Genres:  Fiction, Thriller, Psychological RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars When Charlotte married the wealthy widower Paul, it caused a ripple of gossip in their small lakeside town. They have a charmed life together, despite the cruel whispers about her humble past and his first… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Stranger in the Lake by Kimberly Belle

2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · new release · psychological · thriller

New Release Book Review: Hermit by S.R. White

Title: Hermit Author: S.R. White Published: August 25th 2020 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 384 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3.5 stars Riveting, atmospheric and unforgettably original, HERMIT is perfect for fans of acclaimed crime authors like Jane Harper, Chris Hammer, Tana French and Susie Steiner. HE DISAPPEARED FOR 15 YEARS…SHE HAS 12 HOURS TO FIND OUT WHY. Compulsive, atmospheric and stunningly accomplished, HERMIT introduces a thrilling… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Hermit by S.R. White

2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: Playing Nice by JP Delaney

Title: Playing Nice Author: JP Delaney Published: July 28th 2020 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 400 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Thriller, Suspense RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars Pete Riley answers the door one morning to a parent’s worst nightmare. On his doorstep is Miles Lambert, who breaks the devastating news that Pete’s two-year-old, Theo, isn’t Pete’s real son – their babies got mixed up at… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Playing Nice by JP Delaney

#aww2020 · 2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · mystery · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Night Swim by Megan Goldin

Title: The Night Swim Author: Megan Goldin Published: August 4th 2020 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 352 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Thriller, Suspense RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars Ever since her true-crime podcast became an overnight sensation and set an innocent man free, Rachel Krall has become a household name – and the last hope for people seeking justice. But she’s used to being… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Night Swim by Megan Goldin

2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: Invisible Girl by Lisa Jewell

Title: Invisible Girl Author: Lisa Jewell Published: August 4th 2020 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 416 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3.5 stars FROM THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THEN SHE WAS GONE, an engrossing twisty tale of betrayal and redemption. NOW AVAILABLE: from the #1 bestselling author of THE FAMILY UPSTAIRS and THEN SHE WAS GONE… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Invisible Girl by Lisa Jewell

Australian · Better Reading Preview · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · suspense · thriller

Better Reading Preview: Either Side of Midnight by Benjamin Stevenson

Title: Either Side of Midnight Author: Benjamin Stevenson Published: September 1st 2020 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 336 Genres: Fiction, Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3.5 stars An electrifying thriller from an exciting new voice in crime fiction: One million viewers witness a popular TV presenter commit suicide live on air – so why is his twin brother… Continue reading Better Reading Preview: Either Side of Midnight by Benjamin Stevenson

2020 Pop Sugar Reading Challenge · 2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · domestic · suspense · thriller

POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020: The Other Woman by Sandie Jones

Today I am marking off my twenty ninth #29th checkpoint category for the POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020 with: The Other Woman by debut author Sandie Jones, is a gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Michelle Frances’s The Girlfriend and B A Paris’s Behind Closed Doors. There’s nothing that this mother wouldn’t do for her son . . .… Continue reading POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020: The Other Woman by Sandie Jones

2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Hunted by Gabriel Bergmoser

Title: The Hunted Author: Gabriel Bergmoser Published: July 31st 2020 Publisher: Harper Collins Books Australia Pages: 288 Genres:  Fiction, Thriller, Suspense RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3 stars Nowhere to run, nowhere to hide – an electrifying, heartpounding, truly unputdownable thriller. ‘A truly terrifying, breathlessly exciting novel. It gut punches you in the first few pages and doesn’t let you recover until the… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Hunted by Gabriel Bergmoser

#20BacklistIn2020 · 2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · suspense · thriller

#20BACKLISTIN2020 Backlist Book Challenge: The Boy at the Door by Alex Dahl

In a desperate bid to reduce the books that are collecting dust on my TBR shelves, I have decided to collaborate with another avid reader and fellow book reviewer, Nicole from Certified Book Addicts. The #20BACKLISTIN2020 challenge is a self paced challenge hosted by Jaylamm.Reads, Reading and Sunshine, and Cassidys.Bookshelf. The overall goal of this challenge is to read… Continue reading #20BACKLISTIN2020 Backlist Book Challenge: The Boy at the Door by Alex Dahl

2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Last Wife by Karen Hamilton

Title: The Last Wife Author: Karen Hamilton Published: June 20th 2020 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 352 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars THE BRILLIANT NEW PSYCHOLOGICAL DRAMA FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE PERFECT GIRLFRIEND Two women. A dying wish. And a web of lies that will bring their world crashing down. Nina and Marie were best friends-until… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Last Wife by Karen Hamilton