#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Shadow House by Anna Downes

Title: The Shadow House Author: Anna Downes Published: September 28th 2021 Publisher: Affirm Press Pages: 384 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars When single mother Alex flees her abusive relationship and moves with her teenage son and baby girl to a rural ecovillage, she thinks she’s made the best decision of her life. Pine Ridge is idyllic: the off-grid lifestyle and… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Shadow House by Anna Downes

2021 Reviews · Book club · contemporary fiction · crime · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Night She Disappeared by Lisa Jewell

Title: The Night She Disappeared Author: Lisa Jewell Published: July 20th 2021 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 480 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4.5 stars From the global number one bestselling author of The Family Upstairs: a missing woman, an abandoned mansion, family trauma, and deep buried secrets. It can only be Lisa Jewell! NOW AVAILABLE TO PRE-ORDER: the… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Night She Disappeared by Lisa Jewell

2021 Reviews · crime · mystery · suspense · thriller

Book Review: The Confession by Jo Spain

Title: The Confession Author: Jo Spain Published: August 14th 2018 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 416 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $19.99 Rating: 4 stars Late one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. The man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry as a horror-struck Julie watches, frozen by fear.… Continue reading Book Review: The Confession by Jo Spain

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · Better Reading Preview · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · new release · suspense · thriller

Better Reading Preview: Cutters End by Margaret Hickey

Title: Cutters End Author: Margaret Hickey Published: August 17th 2021 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 384 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery, Suspense RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars A scintillating crime thriller, set in the South Australian outback town of Cutters End. A mysterious death on New Year’s Eve 1989 leads to a shocking murder investigation 32 years later . . . ‘Past… Continue reading Better Reading Preview: Cutters End by Margaret Hickey

contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · suspense · thriller

Book Review: Dirty Little Secrets by Jo Spain

Title: Dirty Little Secrets Author: Jo Spain Published: February 12th 2019 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 400 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars The second psychological thriller from No.1 bestselling author Jo Spain. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Lucy Foley. FROM THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE CONFESSION Six neighbours, six secrets, six reasons to want… Continue reading Book Review: Dirty Little Secrets by Jo Spain

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · mystery · new release · Read along · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: Once There Were Wolves by Charlotte McConaghy

Title: Once There Were Wolves Author: Charlotte McConaghy Published: August 3rd 2021 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 272 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars From the author of the international bestseller Migrations comes a pulse-pounding new novel set in the wild Scottish Highlands Inti Flynn arrives in Scotland with her twin sister, Aggie, to lead a team tasked with… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Once There Were Wolves by Charlotte McConaghy

2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · mystery · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Guilt Trip by Sandie Jones

Title: The Guilt Trip Author: Sandie Jones Published: June 29th 2021 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 416 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Thriller, Suspense RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars The Guilt Trip is the compelling, twisty novel from Sandie Jones, the author of The Other Woman, and perfect for fans of T.M. Logan’s The Holiday. They went away as friendsThey came back as suspects . . . Jack and Rachel.… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Guilt Trip by Sandie Jones

2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · mystery · new release · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Perfect Family by Robyn Harding

Title: The Perfect Family Author: Robyn Harding Published: July 28th 2021 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Pages: 336 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Mystery, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars The bestselling author of The Party explores what happens when a seemingly perfect family is pushed to the edge by cruel, vindictive and increasingly dangerous attacks. Thomas and Viv Adler have a picture-perfect family. Affluent and attractive, with two well-mannered… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Perfect Family by Robyn Harding

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · suspense · thriller

Book Review: Deadman’s Track by Sarah Barrie

Title: Deadman’s Track Author: Sarah Barrie Published: July 8th 2020 Publisher: HQ Fiction – AU Pages: 416 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars Alone in the wilderness, they are picked off one by one … Gripping, standalone romantic thriller from an author at the top of her game, for readers of The Dark Lake and The Dry. A tragic accident, a terrible crime,… Continue reading Book Review: Deadman’s Track by Sarah Barrie

2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: When You Are Mine by Michael Robotham

Title: When You Are Mine Author: Michael Robotham Published: June 30th 2021 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 416 Genres: Fiction, Crime, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars For as long as we both shall live? A pulse-racing standalone thriller by the #1 bestselling author of The Secrets She Keeps, now a major TV seriesPhilomena McCarthy has defied the odds and become a promising young officer with the… Continue reading New Release Book Review: When You Are Mine by Michael Robotham