#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · romance

New Release Book Review: Our Own Private Fig Tree by Rania Battany

Title: Our Own Private Fig Tree Author: Rania Battany Published: October 14th 2021 Publisher: Independent Pages: 302 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Romance Rating: 4.5 stars 1988: In a multicultural pocket of inner-city Melbourne, sixteen-year-old Caleb falls in love with Samira, his Lebanese neighbour. Both understand the rules that determine they’re not allowed to date, but neither stays away. As they hide in the branches… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Our Own Private Fig Tree by Rania Battany

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · cover reveal · dual time frame · historical fiction · new release · romance

New Release Book Review: The Buchanan Girls by Emily Madden

Title: The Buchanan Girls Author: Emily Madden Published: September 1st 2021 Publisher: Mira – AU Pages: 448 Genres:  Fiction, Historical, Romance RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars A sweeping family saga about betrayal, forgiveness and the cost of love. Sydney, 1941: Olive and Ivy may be identical twins, but they couldn’t be more different. While Olive is focused on marrying a man appropriate to… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Buchanan Girls by Emily Madden

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · new release

New Release Book Review: You Had It Coming by B.M. Carroll

Title: You Had It Coming Author: B.M. Carroll Published: May 13th 2021 Publisher: Viper Pages: 320 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars WOULD YOU SAVE THE MANWHO DESTROYED YOUR LIFE? When paramedic Megan Lowe is called to the scene of an attempted murder, all she can do is try to save the victim. But as the man is lifted… Continue reading New Release Book Review: You Had It Coming by B.M. Carroll

A Tea break with Mrs B · Interview · new release

A Tea Break with Mrs B: Nicola Marsh

It is a pleasure to warmly welcome Nicola Marsh back to my blog, Mrs B’s Book Reviews for A Tea Break with Mrs B, a short form author interview series. To help celebrate the release of Summer of Serenity we sat down for a chat. Thanks Nicola! Hello Nicola. It is my pleasure to welcome you back to my blog, Mrs… Continue reading A Tea Break with Mrs B: Nicola Marsh

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Shadow House by Anna Downes

Title: The Shadow House Author: Anna Downes Published: September 28th 2021 Publisher: Affirm Press Pages: 384 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars When single mother Alex flees her abusive relationship and moves with her teenage son and baby girl to a rural ecovillage, she thinks she’s made the best decision of her life. Pine Ridge is idyllic: the off-grid lifestyle and… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Shadow House by Anna Downes

A Tea break with Mrs B · Interview · new release

A Tea Break with Mrs B: Charlotte Anne

It is a pleasure to welcome Charlotte Anne to my blog, Mrs B’s Book Reviews for A Tea Break with Mrs B, an author interview series. To help celebrate the release of The Unworthy Duke we sat down for a chat. Thanks Charlotte! What is your drink of choice as we sit down for a chat about your new… Continue reading A Tea Break with Mrs B: Charlotte Anne

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · mystery · new release

New Release Book Review: The Cuckoo’s Cry by Caroline Overington

Title: The Cuckoo’s Cry Author: Caroline Overington Published: September 29th 2021 Publisher: Harper Collins – AU Pages: 224 Genres:  Fiction, Mystery RRP: $19.99 Rating: 4 stars A compulsively gripping lockdown thriller by the bestselling author of The One Who Got Away On the eve of the global lockdown, Don Barlow opens the door of his old beachside cottage to find a pretty girl with… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Cuckoo’s Cry by Caroline Overington

A Tea break with Mrs B · Interview · new release

A Tea Break with Mrs B: Tania Blanchard

It is a pleasure to welcome Tania Blanchard back to my blog, Mrs B’s Book Reviews for A Tea Break with Mrs B, a author interview series. To help celebrate the release of Echoes of War we sat down for a chat. Thanks Tania! Hello Tania. It is my pleasure to welcome you back to my blog, Mrs B’s Book… Continue reading A Tea Break with Mrs B: Tania Blanchard

2021 Reviews · historical fiction

Book Review: Bereft by Chris Womersley

Title: Bereft Author: Chris Womersley Published: March 8th 2011 Publisher: Scribe Pages: 272 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $24.99 Rating: 4 stars It is 1919. The Great War has ended, but the Spanish flu epidemic is raging across Australia. Schools are closed, state borders are guarded by armed men, and train travel is severely restricted. There are rumours it is the end of the… Continue reading Book Review: Bereft by Chris Womersley

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: Sisters of the Resistance by Christine Wells

Title: Sisters of the Resistance Author: Christine Wells Published: July 7th 2021 Publisher: HarperCollins – US Pages: 416 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars Two sisters join the Paris Resistance in this page-turning new novel inspired by the real-life bravery of Catherine Dior, sister of the fashion designer and a heroine of World War II France—perfect for fans of Kate Quinn… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Sisters of the Resistance by Christine Wells