2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Maid by Nita Prose

Title: The Maid Author: Nita Prose Published: January 20th 2022 Publisher: HarperCollins – GB Pages: 352 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars I am your maid.I know about your secrets. Your dirty laundry.But what do you know about me? Molly the maid is all alone in the world. A nobody. She’s used to being invisible in her job at the Regency… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Maid by Nita Prose

A Tea break with Mrs B · Interview

A Tea Break with Mrs B: Penelope Janu

It is a pleasure to welcome Penelope Janu back to my blog, Mrs B’s Book Reviews for A Tea Break with Mrs B, a author interview series. To help celebrate the release of Clouds on the Horizon we sat down for a chat. Thanks Penelope! Hello Penelope. It is my pleasure to welcome you back to my blog, Mrs B’s Book… Continue reading A Tea Break with Mrs B: Penelope Janu

Book Blast · crime · thriller

Book Blast: Exit .45 by Ben Sanders

It gives me great pleasure to showcase the latest Ben Sanders novel, Exit .45. Private investigator Marshall Grade returns to tackle the New York underworld in this new thrillride from bestselling author Ben Sanders. Exit .45 released on January 5th 2022! Blurb: Marshall Grade returns in an action-packed thrillride through the New York underworld. When a former NYPD colleague… Continue reading Book Blast: Exit .45 by Ben Sanders

2022 Reviews · Book Stack · contemporary fiction · detective · mystery · new release

New Release Book Review: Murder Most Fancy by Kelly McCourt

Title: Murder Most Fancy Author: Kellie McCourt Published: January 5th 2022 Publisher: HQ Fiction – AU Pages: 464 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Mystery, Detective RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3.5 stars She’s not responsible for the corpse this time. Okay, maybe just a little bit. Our favourite socialite and felon are back in a madcap new sleuthing adventure … for readers of Janet Evanovich and Kerry… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Murder Most Fancy by Kelly McCourt

2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: Treasure and Dirt by Chris Hammer

Title: Treasure and Dirt Author: Chris Hammer Published: September 28th 2021 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 512 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars An unputdownable standalone thriller from the bestselling author of Scrublands. In the desolate outback town of Finnigans Gap, police struggle to maintain law and order. Thieves pillage opal mines, religious fanatics recruit vulnerable young people and billionaires… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Treasure and Dirt by Chris Hammer

2022 Reviews · Audible · contemporary fiction · literary

Audio Book Review: The Paper Palace by Miranda Cowley Heller

Title: The Paper Palace Author: Miranda Cowley Heller Published: July 2nd 2021 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 400 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Literary RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5+ stars A magnificent literary debut about the myriad loves that make up a life Before anyone else is awake, on a perfect August morning, Elle Bishop heads out for a swim in the glorious fresh water pond below… Continue reading Audio Book Review: The Paper Palace by Miranda Cowley Heller

2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: Fancy Meeting You Here by Ali Berg and Michelle Kalus

Title: Fancy Meeting You Here Author: Ali Berg and Michelle Kalus Published: November 30th 2021 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 328 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3 stars Sometimes the man of your dreams is standing right in front of you… only ten years in the past. A charming and unconventional love story about trying to rewrite history. Evie Berry is a… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Fancy Meeting You Here by Ali Berg and Michelle Kalus

2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · suspense · thriller

Book Review: Hostage by Clare Mackintosh

Title: Hostage Author: Clare Mackintosh Published: June 29th 2021 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 400 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4.5 stars Bestselling author and international sensation, Clare Mackintosh, brings her showstopping quality to this modern take on the classic locked-room thriller ‘A NAIL-BITER OF A THRILLER’ SHARI LAPENA‘HYPNOTICALLY GOOD’ LEE CHILD‘FEELS LIKE A BLOCKBUSTER MOVIE’ LISA JEWELL You can save hundreds of lives.Or the… Continue reading Book Review: Hostage by Clare Mackintosh

2021 Reviews · Germany · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Girl Behind the Wall by Mandy Robotham

Title: The Berlin Girl Author: Mandy Robotham Published: July 28th 2021 Publisher: Avon GB -HarperCollins Books Australia Pages: 416 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars A city divided.When the Berlin Wall goes up, Karin is on the wrong side of the city. Overnight, she’s trapped under Soviet rule in unforgiving East Berlin and separated from her twin sister, Jutta.Two sisters torn… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Girl Behind the Wall by Mandy Robotham

2021 Reviews · Audible · contemporary fiction

Audio Book Review: Beautiful World, Where Are You by Sally Rooney

Title: Beautiful World Where Are You Author: Sally Rooney Published: 7th September 2021 Publisher: Faber  – Allen & Unwin Pages: 352 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $29.99 Rating: 2 stars The new novel from the author of Normal People. Alice, a novelist, meets Felix, who works in a distribution warehouse, and asks him if he’d like to travel to Rome with her. In Dublin, her best… Continue reading Audio Book Review: Beautiful World, Where Are You by Sally Rooney