2017 Reviews · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa

Title: The German Girl Author: Armando Lucas Correa Published: December 1st 2016 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia Pages: 368 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars A stunningly ambitious and beautiful debut novel, perfect for fans of Sarah’s Key and All the Light We Cannot See, the story of a twelve-year-old girl’s harrowing experience fleeing Nazi-occupied Germany with her… Continue reading Book Review: The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/4/17

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Book Date .This meme is a great opportunity for book bloggers to showcase their ‘book-ish’ habits for the week. It is a good forum to share books read in the past week, current reads and upcoming reads. It is also a fantastic way to… Continue reading It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/4/17

2017 Reviews · contemporary fiction · suspense · thriller

Book Review: Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough

Title: Behind Her Eyes Author: Sarah Pinborough Published: February 1st 2017 Publisher: Harper Collins Australia Pages: 384 Genres:  Fiction,  Contemporary, Thriller, Suspense RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3.5 stars Why is everyone talking about the ending of Sarah Pinborough’s Behind Her Eyes? Louise is a single mom, a secretary, stuck in a modern-day rut. On a rare night out, she meets a… Continue reading Book Review: Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough

2017 Reviews · Britain · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The Safest Place in London by Maggie Joel

Title: The Safest Place in London Author: Maggie Joel Published: September 1st 2016 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 352 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars On a frozen January evening in 1944, Nancy Levin, and her three-year-old daughter, Emily, flee their impoverished East London home as an air raid siren sounds. Not far away, 39- year-old Diana Meadows… Continue reading Book Review: The Safest Place in London by Maggie Joel

2017 Reviews · Australian · Bookstr · contemporary fiction · women's fiction

Book Review: The Missing Pieces of Us by Fleur McDonald

Title: The Missing Pieces of Us Author: Fleur McDonald Published: March 29 2017 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 324 Genres:  Fiction,  Contemporary, RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars Sometimes you have to resolve the past before you can face the future. The moving and heart-warming new novel from Fleur McDonald. Lauren Ramsey was adopted at birth. Now a teacher, her mantra… Continue reading Book Review: The Missing Pieces of Us by Fleur McDonald

2017 Reviews · contemporary fiction · romance

Book Review: Two by Two by Nicholas Sparks

Title: Two by Two Author: Nicholas Sparks Published: October 4 2016 Publisher: Sphere Pages:  416 Genres:  Fiction,  Contemporary, Romance RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3.5 stars #1 New York Times bestselling author Nicholas Sparks returns with an emotionally powerful story of unconditional love, its challenges, its risks and most of all, its rewards. At 32, Russell Green has it all: a… Continue reading Book Review: Two by Two by Nicholas Sparks

2017 Reviews · France · historical fiction · mystery · World War II

Book Review: Paris Time Capsule by Ella Carey

Title: Paris Time Capsule Author: Ella Carey Published: August 22 2016 Publisher: Harlequin Books Australia Pages: 288 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, Cultural – France, Mystery RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars New York–based photographer Cat Jordan is ready to begin a new life with her successful, button-down boyfriend. But when she learns that she’s inherited the estate of a… Continue reading Book Review: Paris Time Capsule by Ella Carey