#aww2018 · 2018 Reviews · Australian · memoir · Throwback Thursday

Throwback Thursday Book Review: A Sunburnt Childhood by Toni Tapp Coutts

Welcome to a weekly post, Throwback Thursday. This weekly book review post is a way to share some old favourites, books that were published over a year ago and most importantly those books that have been languishing on the to be read pile for far too long! Synopsis: Toni Tapp grew up on the massive… Continue reading Throwback Thursday Book Review: A Sunburnt Childhood by Toni Tapp Coutts

#aww2018 · 2018 Reviews · children · local writer · Picture book

Children’s Book Review: Every Family is Different by Maureen Eppen

Title: Every Family is Different Author: Maureen Eppen Illustrator: Veronica Rooke Published: January 31st 2018 Publisher: Serenity Press Pages: 32 Genres:  Children RRP: $26.99 Rating: 4.5 stars Who’s in your family? Some children live with their mum and dad, others live with their grandparents or foster parents. Some live in a big house, others live in a tiny apartment. With captivating illustrations, Every Family is… Continue reading Children’s Book Review: Every Family is Different by Maureen Eppen

2018 Reviews · a-z author challenge 2018 · contemporary fiction

Book Broadcast: Almost Love by Louise O’Neill

Book Broadcast is a post I have created to help ease the load of the books I have for review. It is a great way to spread the word, providing recognition to an author or publisher for sending me a book to review. As my reviewing and blogging duties have stepped up a notch in… Continue reading Book Broadcast: Almost Love by Louise O’Neill

Q & A

Q & A with Belinda Castles, Author of Bluebottle

To celebrate the release of Bluebottle, author Belinda Castle’s new novel published by Allen & Unwin, I have a Q & A with Belinda I would love to share with you all. It is true pleasure to welcome Belinda to Mrs B’s Book Reviews for a Q & A session. My review of Bluebottle was recently published on… Continue reading Q & A with Belinda Castles, Author of Bluebottle

2018 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · new release · psychological · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: Baby Teeth by Zoje Stage

Title: Baby Teeth Author: Zoje Stage Published: July 16th 2018 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 320 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars On the outside it looks like Suzette has it all. A stunning ultra-modern home, designed by her handsome Swedish husband. A beautiful, but silent, seven-year-old daughter who is fiercely intelligent. But under the shiny veneer, the cracks are… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Baby Teeth by Zoje Stage

#aww2018 · 2018 Reviews · Beauty and Lace review · crime · France · historical fiction · mystery

Beauty & Lace Book Review: April in Paris 1921 by Tessa Lunney

Title: April in Paris 1921 Author: Tessa Lunney Published: May 2st 2018 Publisher: Harper Collins Books Australia Pages: 320 Genres:  Fiction, Crime, Mystery, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 2.5 stars Meet the glamorous, witty and charming Kiki Button: socialite, private detective and spy. We all have secrets – it’s just that Kiki has more than most … For fans of Phryne Fisher and Julian Fellowes… Continue reading Beauty & Lace Book Review: April in Paris 1921 by Tessa Lunney

2018 Reviews · a-z author challenge 2018 · contemporary fiction · New Zealand

Book Review: See You in September by Charity Norman

Title: See You in September Author: Charity Norman Published: May 24th 2017 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 432 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars It was supposed to be a short trip-a break in New Zealand before her best friend’s wedding. But when Cassy waved goodbye to her parents, they never dreamed that it would be years before they’d see her again.… Continue reading Book Review: See You in September by Charity Norman