2018 Reviews · contemporary fiction · romance · young adult

Book Review: Say You’ll Remember Me by Katie McGarry

Title: Say You’ll Remember Me Author: Katie McGarry Published: January 22nd 2018 Publisher: Harlequin Books Australia Pages: 496 Genres:  Fiction, Young Adult, Romance RRP: $19.99 Rating: 3 stars They stood together against the world When Drix was convicted of a crime — one he didn’t commit — he thought his life was over. But opportunity came with the new Second Chance Program, the… Continue reading Book Review: Say You’ll Remember Me by Katie McGarry

2018 Reviews · Guest Review · historical fiction · Mrs R Review · Throwback Thursday

Throwback Thursday Book Review: The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict

Welcome to a weekly post, Throwback Thursday. This weekly book review post is a way to share some old favourites, books that were published over a year ago and most importantly those books that have been languishing on the to be read pile for far too long! Today’s Throwback Thursday book review comes from Guest… Continue reading Throwback Thursday Book Review: The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict

2018 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Queen of Bloody Everything by Joanna Nadin

Title: The Queen of Bloody Everything Author: Joanna Nadin Published: February 13th 2018 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 352 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3 stars Dido Sylvia Jones is six years and twenty seven days old when she moves from London squat to suburban Essex and promptly falls in love with Tom Trevelyan, the boy next door. It’s not just him Dido falls for,… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Queen of Bloody Everything by Joanna Nadin

#aww2018 · 2018 Reviews · children

Children’s Book Review: Danny Best: Me First! by Jen Storer

Title: Danny Best: Me First! Author: Jen Storer Published: January 22nd 2018 Publisher: Harper Collins Books Australia Pages: 304 Genres:  Fiction, Children’s RRP: $17.99 Rating: 4 stars For fans of WEIRDO, DIARY OF A WIMPY KID and FUNNY KID FOR PRESIDENT comes the third book in a hilarious series about a LEGEND named Danny Best. Best by name, Best by reputation … Danny Best… Continue reading Children’s Book Review: Danny Best: Me First! by Jen Storer

#aww2018 · 2018 Reviews · a-z author challenge 2018 · Australian · historical fiction · World War II

Book Review: We That Are Left by Lisa Bigelow

Title: We That Are Left Author: Lisa Bigelow Published: August 23rd 2017 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 400 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars A moving debut novel about love and war, and the terrifyingly thin line between happiness and tragedy, hope and despair. Melbourne, 1941. Headstrong young Mae meets and falls head over heels in love with Harry Parker, a dashing… Continue reading Book Review: We That Are Left by Lisa Bigelow

2018 Reviews · a-z author challenge 2018 · culture · fiction · historical fiction · literary · mystery

Book Review: Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood

Title: Alias Grace Author:  Margaret Atwood Published: September 1st 2007 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 560 Genres: Fiction, Crime, Historical, Mystery RRP: $19.99 Rating: 4 stars Sometimes I whisper it over to myself: Murderess. Murderess. It rustles, like a taffeta skirt along the floor.’ Grace Marks. Female fiend? Femme fatale? Or weak and unwilling victim? Around the true story of one of the most… Continue reading Book Review: Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood

2017 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · Guest Review · Mrs R Review · mystery · suspense · thriller

Guest Book Review: Friend Request by Laura Marshall

Title: Friend Request Author:  Laura Marshall Published: July 25th 2017 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 400 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars Maria wants to be friends. But Maria is dead . . . isn’t she? When Louise Williams receives a message from someone left long in the past, her heart nearly stops. Maria Weston wants to… Continue reading Guest Book Review: Friend Request by Laura Marshall