2017 Reviews · Australian · historical fiction · war · World War I

Book Review: Worth Fighting For by Mary-Anne O’Connor

Title: Worth Fighting For Author:  Mary-Anne O’Connor Published: September 19th 2016 Publisher: Harlequin Books Australia Pages: 427 Genres:  Fiction, Historical, Australian, War RRP: $22.49 Rating: 4 stars From Darwin to Pearl Harbour, Sydney to Papua New Guinea, a compelling story of courage, honour and a great love set against the epic backdrop of the Second World War Eighteen-year-old Junie Wallace is a… Continue reading Book Review: Worth Fighting For by Mary-Anne O’Connor

2017 Reviews · blog tour · Britain · crime · historical fiction · mystery · war · World War II

Blog Tour: Winter Downs by Jan Edwards

Good Morning! It is my pleasure to welcome you to my stop on the Winter Downs blog tour, which kicked off Friday June 2nd and followed an exciting launch party yesterday. A little more about the book… In January of 1940 a small rural community on the Sussex Downs, already preparing for invasion from across… Continue reading Blog Tour: Winter Downs by Jan Edwards

2017 Reviews · contemporary fiction · mystery · psychological · thriller · war

Book Review: My Sister’s Bones by Nuala Ellwood

Title: My Sister’s Bones Author: Nuala Ellwood Published: January 30th 2017 Publisher: Penguin Books Pages: 400 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Psychological, Mystery, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3.5 stars ARE YOU BRAVE ENOUGH TO GO BACK? Kate Rafter is a successful war reporter. She’s the strong one. The one who escaped Herne Bay and the memories it holds. Her sister Sally didn’t. Instead, she… Continue reading Book Review: My Sister’s Bones by Nuala Ellwood

Australian · Britain · war · World War I

A collection of Anzac Day recommended reads

To commemorate today’s Anzac day celebrations, thought I would share a handful of World War I, Gallipoli based stories that I have recently read. I have included a mixture of non fiction and fiction books, from both Australian and British authors. Each of these books moved me in their own right, some were inspired by… Continue reading A collection of Anzac Day recommended reads

2017 Reviews · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa

Title: The German Girl Author: Armando Lucas Correa Published: December 1st 2016 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia Pages: 368 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars A stunningly ambitious and beautiful debut novel, perfect for fans of Sarah’s Key and All the Light We Cannot See, the story of a twelve-year-old girl’s harrowing experience fleeing Nazi-occupied Germany with her… Continue reading Book Review: The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa

2017 Reviews · Britain · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The Safest Place in London by Maggie Joel

Title: The Safest Place in London Author: Maggie Joel Published: September 1st 2016 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 352 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars On a frozen January evening in 1944, Nancy Levin, and her three-year-old daughter, Emily, flee their impoverished East London home as an air raid siren sounds. Not far away, 39- year-old Diana Meadows… Continue reading Book Review: The Safest Place in London by Maggie Joel

2017 Reviews · historical fiction · retelling · romance · war · World War II

Book Review: The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth

Title: The Beast’s Garden Author: Kate Forsyth Published: August 3rd 2015 Publisher: Vintage Australia Pages: 512 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War, Romance, Retelling RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars A retelling of The Beauty and The Beast set in Nazi Germany The Grimm Brothers published a beautiful version of the Beauty & the Beast tale called ‘The Singing, Springing Lark’ in 1819. It combines… Continue reading Book Review: The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth