2017 Reviews · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa

Title: The German Girl Author: Armando Lucas Correa Published: December 1st 2016 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia Pages: 368 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars A stunningly ambitious and beautiful debut novel, perfect for fans of Sarah’s Key and All the Light We Cannot See, the story of a twelve-year-old girl’s harrowing experience fleeing Nazi-occupied Germany with her… Continue reading Book Review: The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa

2017 Reviews · Britain · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The Safest Place in London by Maggie Joel

Title: The Safest Place in London Author: Maggie Joel Published: September 1st 2016 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 352 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars On a frozen January evening in 1944, Nancy Levin, and her three-year-old daughter, Emily, flee their impoverished East London home as an air raid siren sounds. Not far away, 39- year-old Diana Meadows… Continue reading Book Review: The Safest Place in London by Maggie Joel

2017 Reviews · historical fiction · retelling · romance · war · World War II

Book Review: The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth

Title: The Beast’s Garden Author: Kate Forsyth Published: August 3rd 2015 Publisher: Vintage Australia Pages: 512 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War, Romance, Retelling RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars A retelling of The Beauty and The Beast set in Nazi Germany The Grimm Brothers published a beautiful version of the Beauty & the Beast tale called ‘The Singing, Springing Lark’ in 1819. It combines… Continue reading Book Review: The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth

2017 Reviews · Australian · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The Toymaker by Liam Pieper

Title: The Toymaker Author: Liam Pieper Published: June 27th 2016 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 272 Genres: Fiction, War, Historical, Australian RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars A person is defined by the secrets they keep . . . Adam Kulakov likes his life. He’s on the right side of middle age; the toy company he owns brightens the lives of children around… Continue reading Book Review: The Toymaker by Liam Pieper

2016 Reviews · Australian · historical fiction · saga · war

Book Review: The Turning Tide by C.M. Lance

Title: The Turning Tide Author: C.M. Lance Published: August 1st 2014 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 344 Genres: Fiction, War, Historical, Australian RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars A novel of secrets, mateship and betrayal, set against a dramatic backdrop of wartime Australia – a sweeping saga that will be enjoyed by readers who crave action and adventure with a little bit… Continue reading Book Review: The Turning Tide by C.M. Lance

2016 Reviews · Australian · contemporary fiction · romance · rural ficition · small town · war

Book Review: The Family Secret by Fiona Palmer

Title: The Family Secret Author: Fiona Palmer Published: October 3rd 2016 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 384 Genres: Fiction, Romance, Australian RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4.5 stars Kim Richards is a creative woman of the land, a rural ambassador who is renowned for her contribution to her community. But deep down, she is lonely. She’s already watched the man she loves… Continue reading Book Review: The Family Secret by Fiona Palmer

2016 Reviews · historical fiction · war

Book Review: Barbed Wire and Cherry Blossoms by Anita Heiss

Title: Barbed Wire and Cherry Blossoms Author: Anita Heiss Published: August 1st 2016 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia Pages:  Genres: Fiction, Historical, Australian RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars 5 August, 1944: Over 1000 Japanese soldiers attempt to break out of the No. 12 Prisoner of War compound on the fringes of Cowra. In the carnage, hundreds are killed, many are… Continue reading Book Review: Barbed Wire and Cherry Blossoms by Anita Heiss