2017 Reviews · contemporary fiction · mystery · psychological · thriller · war

Book Review: My Sister’s Bones by Nuala Ellwood

Title: My Sister’s Bones Author: Nuala Ellwood Published: January 30th 2017 Publisher: Penguin Books Pages: 400 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Psychological, Mystery, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3.5 stars ARE YOU BRAVE ENOUGH TO GO BACK? Kate Rafter is a successful war reporter. She’s the strong one. The one who escaped Herne Bay and the memories it holds. Her sister Sally didn’t. Instead, she… Continue reading Book Review: My Sister’s Bones by Nuala Ellwood

Australian · Britain · war · World War I

A collection of Anzac Day recommended reads

To commemorate today’s Anzac day celebrations, thought I would share a handful of World War I, Gallipoli based stories that I have recently read. I have included a mixture of non fiction and fiction books, from both Australian and British authors. Each of these books moved me in their own right, some were inspired by… Continue reading A collection of Anzac Day recommended reads

2017 Reviews · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa

Title: The German Girl Author: Armando Lucas Correa Published: December 1st 2016 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia Pages: 368 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars A stunningly ambitious and beautiful debut novel, perfect for fans of Sarah’s Key and All the Light We Cannot See, the story of a twelve-year-old girl’s harrowing experience fleeing Nazi-occupied Germany with her… Continue reading Book Review: The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa

2017 Reviews · Britain · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The Safest Place in London by Maggie Joel

Title: The Safest Place in London Author: Maggie Joel Published: September 1st 2016 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 352 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars On a frozen January evening in 1944, Nancy Levin, and her three-year-old daughter, Emily, flee their impoverished East London home as an air raid siren sounds. Not far away, 39- year-old Diana Meadows… Continue reading Book Review: The Safest Place in London by Maggie Joel

2017 Reviews · historical fiction · retelling · romance · war · World War II

Book Review: The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth

Title: The Beast’s Garden Author: Kate Forsyth Published: August 3rd 2015 Publisher: Vintage Australia Pages: 512 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War, Romance, Retelling RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars A retelling of The Beauty and The Beast set in Nazi Germany The Grimm Brothers published a beautiful version of the Beauty & the Beast tale called ‘The Singing, Springing Lark’ in 1819. It combines… Continue reading Book Review: The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth

2017 Reviews · Australian · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The Toymaker by Liam Pieper

Title: The Toymaker Author: Liam Pieper Published: June 27th 2016 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 272 Genres: Fiction, War, Historical, Australian RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars A person is defined by the secrets they keep . . . Adam Kulakov likes his life. He’s on the right side of middle age; the toy company he owns brightens the lives of children around… Continue reading Book Review: The Toymaker by Liam Pieper

2016 Reviews · Australian · historical fiction · saga · war

Book Review: The Turning Tide by C.M. Lance

Title: The Turning Tide Author: C.M. Lance Published: August 1st 2014 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 344 Genres: Fiction, War, Historical, Australian RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars A novel of secrets, mateship and betrayal, set against a dramatic backdrop of wartime Australia – a sweeping saga that will be enjoyed by readers who crave action and adventure with a little bit… Continue reading Book Review: The Turning Tide by C.M. Lance