#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: Those Hamilton Sisters by Averil Kenny

Title: Those Hamilton Sisters Author: Averil Kenny Published: March 30th 2021 Publisher: Echo Publishing Pages: 464 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars An irresistible tale of secrets, love and redemption, for fans of Fiona McIntosh and Di Morrissey Will their mother’s scandalous past decide their future? The train which snaked into Noah Vale that verdant, midwinter afternoon brought with it fire, sending an… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Those Hamilton Sisters by Averil Kenny

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Codebreakers by Alli Sinclair

Title: The Codebreakers Author: Alli Sinclair Published: March 3rd 2021 Publisher: Mira – AU Pages: 496 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars They will dedicate their lives to their country, but no one will ever know… A compelling story about tenacity and friendship, inspired by the real codebreaking women of Australia’s top-secret Central Bureau in WWII. For readers who love Judy… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Codebreakers by Alli Sinclair

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · crime · historical fiction · mystery · new release · short stories

New Release Book Review: The Lady with the Gun Asks the Questions by Kerry Greenwood

Title: The Lady with the Gun Asks the Questions Author: Kerry Greenwood Published: March 30th 2021 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 272 Genres: Fiction, Historical, Crime, Mystery RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3 stars The elegant Miss Phryne Fisher returns in this scintillating collection, which features four brand-new stories.The Honourable Phryne Fisher – she of the Lulu bob, Cupid’s bow lips, diamante garters and pearl-handled pistol… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Lady with the Gun Asks the Questions by Kerry Greenwood

2021 Reviews · historical fiction · World War II

Book Review: Liberation by Imogen Kealey

Title: Liberation Author: Imogen Kealey Published: March 31st 2020 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 384 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 2 stars The must-read thriller inspired by the true story of Nancy Wake, the most decorated servicewoman of the Second World War, soon to be a major blockbuster film. Inspired by the incredible true story of the most decorated servicewoman of the second… Continue reading Book Review: Liberation by Imogen Kealey

2021 Reviews · blog tour · historical fiction · new release

#Blog Tour – Sunflower Sisters by Martha Hall Kelly

Title: Sunflower Sisters Author: Martha Hall Kelly Published: March 30th 2021 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 528 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Inspired by true accounts, Sunflower Sisters provides a vivid look at the Civil War experience, from the barbaric and inhumane plantations, to a war-torn New York City to the horrors of the battlefield. From the author of the million-copy global bestseller Lilac Girls,… Continue reading #Blog Tour – Sunflower Sisters by Martha Hall Kelly

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · romance

Book Review: Keeper of the Light by Leanne Lovegrove

Title: Keeper of the Light Author: Leanne Lovegrove Published: September 27th 2020 Publisher: Boroughs Publishing Group Pages: 284 Genres:  Fiction, Historical Romance Rating: 4.5 stars SOME LOVES REALLY ARE FOREVER In 1952, Luca Moretti flees war-ravaged Italy and shipwrecks against the shores of Bruny Island, Tasmania. Esther Anderson is the lighthouse keeper’s daughter. Her life is simple growing up on the isolated… Continue reading Book Review: Keeper of the Light by Leanne Lovegrove

2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: While Paris Slept by Ruth Druart

Title: While Paris Slept Author: Ruth Druart Published: February 23rd 2021 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 336 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars Beautiful. Powerful. Unforgettable. A stunning portrait of the brutality of war and the tenacity of love. In the tradition of Virginia Baily’s Early One Morning and M. L. Stedman’s The Light Between Oceans. Santa Cruz 1953. Jean-Luc thought he had left it all behind. The… Continue reading New Release Book Review: While Paris Slept by Ruth Druart

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · Beauty and Lace review · contemporary fiction · dual time frame · historical fiction · new release

Beauty & Lace Book Review: Eye of a Rook by Josephine Taylor

Title: Eye of a Rook Author: Josephine Taylor Published: February 2nd 2021 Publisher: Fremantle Press Pages: 216 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary/Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating:  4 stars In 1860s London, Arthur sees his wife, Emily, suddenly struck down by a pain for which she can find no words, forced to endure harmful treatments and reliant on him for guidance. Meanwhile, in contemporary Perth, Alice,… Continue reading Beauty & Lace Book Review: Eye of a Rook by Josephine Taylor

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · crime · historical fiction · mystery · new release

New Release Book Review: The Imitator by Rebecca Starford

Title: The Imitator Author: Rebecca Starford Published: February 2nd 2021 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 352 Genres: Fiction, Historical, Crime, Mystery RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars A page-turning World War Two spy thriller, based on true events.’The Imitator gripped me to the end: I devoured it … What a rare treat to find a novel that offers both white-knuckled suspense and evocative, beautiful prose. I loved… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Imitator by Rebecca Starford

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Royal Correspondent by Alexandra Joel

Title: The Royal Correspondent Author: Alexandra Joel Published: February 3rd 2021 Publisher: Harper Collins – AU Pages: 400 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4.5 stars From the bestselling author of The Paris Model comes another breathtaking story of glamour, romance and espionage. Success would depend on taking a dangerous risk. When Blaise Hill, a feisty young journalist from one of Sydney’s toughest neighbourhoods, is… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Royal Correspondent by Alexandra Joel