#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · World War I

Book Review: Ice Letters by Susan Errington

Title: Ice Letters Author: Susan Errington Published: May 2nd 2016 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 320 Genres: Fiction, Historical, War RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3.5 stars A First World War novel of love, peace, violence and Antarctica Adelaide, 1916, and Dora Somerville grieves for her brother, Edgar, killed in France. In the course of an oppressively hot summer, she decides to abandon her pacifist… Continue reading Book Review: Ice Letters by Susan Errington

2021 Reviews · Better Reading Preview · historical fiction · World War II

Better Reading Preview: Daughters of War by Dinah Jefferies

Title: Daughters of War Author: Dinah Jefferies Published: September 1st 2021 Publisher: Harper Collins Pages: 544 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $24.99 Rating: 4 stars The first book in the sweeping new historical series from the No.1 Sunday Times bestselling author. France, 1944. Deep in the river valley of the Dordogne, in an old stone cottage on the edge of a beautiful village, three… Continue reading Better Reading Preview: Daughters of War by Dinah Jefferies

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · Book Stack · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Last of the Apple Blossom by Mary-Lou Stephens

Title: The Last of the Apple Blossom Author: Mary-Lou Stephens Published: July 27th 2021 Publisher: HQ Fiction – AU Pages: 464 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars The fire took everything – except two women’s fighting spirits. A sweeping, big-hearted Australian family saga for readers of Judy Nunn and Victoria Purman. 7 February, 1967. Walls of flame reduce much of Tasmania… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Last of the Apple Blossom by Mary-Lou Stephens

2021 Reviews · historical fiction · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Clockmaker’s Wife by Daisy Wood

Title: The Clockmaker’s Wife Author: Daisy Wood Published: June 2nd 2021 Publisher: Avon GB – HarperCollins Books Australia Pages: 400 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars The world is at war. And time is running out… London, 1940. Britain is gripped by the terror of the Blitz, forcing Nell Spelman to flee the capital with her young daughter – leaving behind her husband, Arthur, the… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Clockmaker’s Wife by Daisy Wood

2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Woman with the Blue Star by Pam Jenoff

Title: The Woman with the Blue Star Author: Pam Jenoff Published: May 5th 2021 Publisher: HQ Fiction – US Pages: 304 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars From the New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris comes a riveting tale of unfathomable sacrifice and unlikely friendship during World War II. 1942. Sadie Gault is eighteen and living with her parents amid the… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Woman with the Blue Star by Pam Jenoff

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · dual time frame · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Women’s Circle by Karyn Sepulveda

Title: The Women’s Circle Author: Karyn Sepulveda Published: July 7th 2021 Publisher: Ventura Press Pages: 304 Genres: Fiction RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars Sydney, present day. Anna is released into the world after six years in prison. The entirety of her possessions stuffed into a single plastic bag. The trauma of her past, a much heavier burden to carry. Feeling hopeless, isolated and deeply… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Women’s Circle by Karyn Sepulveda

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · dual time frame · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The French Gift by Kirsty Manning

Title: The French Gift Author: Kirsty Manning Published: March 30th 2021 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 328 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars A forgotten manuscript threatens to unravel the past … Fresnes Prison, 1940: Margot Bisset, a former maid from the Riviera, finds herself in a prison cell with writer and French Resistance fighter, Josephine Murant. Together, they are transferred… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The French Gift by Kirsty Manning

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: Secrets My Father Kept by Rachel Givney

Title: Secrets My Father Kept Author: Rachel Givney Published: June 1st 2021 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 432 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars Set in Poland on the eve of the Second World War, Secrets My Father Kept is the gripping story of a young woman determined to uncover the truth behind her mother’s disappearance and the dark secret from her father’s… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Secrets My Father Kept by Rachel Givney

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: Small Acts of Defiance by Michelle Wright

Title: Small Acts of Defiance Author: Michelle Wright Published: June 1st 2021 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 352 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars May, 1940: After a bitter tragedy, young Australian woman Lucie and her French mother Yvonne are forced to leave home and seek help from the only family they have left-Lucie’s uncle, Gerard. As the Second World War engulfs… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Small Acts of Defiance by Michelle Wright

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release

#Blog Tour – The Eighth Wonder by Tania Farrelly

Title: The Eighth Wonder Author: Tania Farrelly Published: July 2nd 2021 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 416 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars The Suffragette meets The Greatest Showman in this story ofpassion and courage, as a young feminist fights against the rules of society to find her place in the world. New York, 1897. The richest city in the world. Beautiful, young and… Continue reading #Blog Tour – The Eighth Wonder by Tania Farrelly