2017 Reviews · Australian · historical fiction · romance

Book Review: Daughter of the Murray by Darry Fraser

Title: Daughter of the Murray Author: Darry Fraser Published: December 12th 2016 Publisher: Harlequin Books Australia Pages: 368 Genres:  Fiction, Historical, Romance, Australian RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3.5 stars 1890s, River Murray, Northern Victoria Georgina Calthorpe is unhappy living with her indifferent foster family the MacHenry’s in their crumbling house on the banks of the River Murray. Unlike the rest of the… Continue reading Book Review: Daughter of the Murray by Darry Fraser

2017 Reviews · dual time frame · historical fiction

Book Review: The House of Secrets by Sarra Manning

Title: The House of Secrets Author: Sarra Manning Published: January 10th 2017 Publisher: Hachette Australia for Little Brown Group Pages: 400 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars Every home has a story to tell . . . An ordinary house on an ordinary street, built in 1936 and never lived in. Its rooms might be empty, but this house… Continue reading Book Review: The House of Secrets by Sarra Manning

2017 Reviews · Australian · historical fiction · romance

Book Review: The Cedar Cutter by Tea Cooper

Title: The Cedar Cutter Author: Tea Cooper Published: August 1st 2016 Publisher: Harlequin Books (MIRA) Pages: 400 Genres:  Fiction, Historical, Australian, Romance RRP: $22.49 Rating: 4 stars From the bestselling author of The Horse Thief comes a historical story of love, intrigue and danger in the majestic cedar forests of the Hunter Valley.   Even if time heals all wounds, you still… Continue reading Book Review: The Cedar Cutter by Tea Cooper

2017 Reviews · Beauty and Lace review · historical fiction · romance

Beauty & Lace Book Review: Her Mother’s Secret by Natasha Lester

Title: Her Mother’s Secret Author: Natasha Lester Published: March 28 2017 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 368 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, Romance RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars 1918, England. Armistice Day should bring peace into Leonora’s life. Rather than secretly making cosmetics in her father’s chemist shop to sell to army nurses such as Joan, her adventurous Australian friend, Leo hopes to now display… Continue reading Beauty & Lace Book Review: Her Mother’s Secret by Natasha Lester

2017 Reviews · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa

Title: The German Girl Author: Armando Lucas Correa Published: December 1st 2016 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia Pages: 368 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars A stunningly ambitious and beautiful debut novel, perfect for fans of Sarah’s Key and All the Light We Cannot See, the story of a twelve-year-old girl’s harrowing experience fleeing Nazi-occupied Germany with her… Continue reading Book Review: The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa

2017 Reviews · Britain · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The Safest Place in London by Maggie Joel

Title: The Safest Place in London Author: Maggie Joel Published: September 1st 2016 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 352 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars On a frozen January evening in 1944, Nancy Levin, and her three-year-old daughter, Emily, flee their impoverished East London home as an air raid siren sounds. Not far away, 39- year-old Diana Meadows… Continue reading Book Review: The Safest Place in London by Maggie Joel

2017 Reviews · France · historical fiction · mystery · World War II

Book Review: Paris Time Capsule by Ella Carey

Title: Paris Time Capsule Author: Ella Carey Published: August 22 2016 Publisher: Harlequin Books Australia Pages: 288 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, Cultural – France, Mystery RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars New York–based photographer Cat Jordan is ready to begin a new life with her successful, button-down boyfriend. But when she learns that she’s inherited the estate of a… Continue reading Book Review: Paris Time Capsule by Ella Carey