2017 Reviews · Beauty and Lace review · historical fiction · romance

Beauty & Lace Book Review: Her Mother’s Secret by Natasha Lester

Title: Her Mother’s Secret Author: Natasha Lester Published: March 28 2017 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 368 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, Romance RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars 1918, England. Armistice Day should bring peace into Leonora’s life. Rather than secretly making cosmetics in her father’s chemist shop to sell to army nurses such as Joan, her adventurous Australian friend, Leo hopes to now display… Continue reading Beauty & Lace Book Review: Her Mother’s Secret by Natasha Lester

2017 Reviews · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa

Title: The German Girl Author: Armando Lucas Correa Published: December 1st 2016 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia Pages: 368 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars A stunningly ambitious and beautiful debut novel, perfect for fans of Sarah’s Key and All the Light We Cannot See, the story of a twelve-year-old girl’s harrowing experience fleeing Nazi-occupied Germany with her… Continue reading Book Review: The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa

2017 Reviews · Britain · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The Safest Place in London by Maggie Joel

Title: The Safest Place in London Author: Maggie Joel Published: September 1st 2016 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 352 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars On a frozen January evening in 1944, Nancy Levin, and her three-year-old daughter, Emily, flee their impoverished East London home as an air raid siren sounds. Not far away, 39- year-old Diana Meadows… Continue reading Book Review: The Safest Place in London by Maggie Joel

2017 Reviews · France · historical fiction · mystery · World War II

Book Review: Paris Time Capsule by Ella Carey

Title: Paris Time Capsule Author: Ella Carey Published: August 22 2016 Publisher: Harlequin Books Australia Pages: 288 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, Cultural – France, Mystery RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars New York–based photographer Cat Jordan is ready to begin a new life with her successful, button-down boyfriend. But when she learns that she’s inherited the estate of a… Continue reading Book Review: Paris Time Capsule by Ella Carey

2017 Reviews · historical fiction · Italy · translation · Uncategorized

Book Review: My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante

Title: My Brilliant Friend Author: Elena Ferrante Published:  26 March 2015 Publisher: Text Publishing Pages: 336 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, Cultural  –  Italty, Translation RRP: $22.99 Rating: 3 stars A modern masterpiece from one of Italy’s most acclaimed authors, My Brilliant Friend is a rich, intense, and generous-hearted story about two friends, Elena and Lila. Ferrante’s inimitable style lends itself perfectly to… Continue reading Book Review: My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante

2017 Reviews · historical fiction · retelling · romance · war · World War II

Book Review: The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth

Title: The Beast’s Garden Author: Kate Forsyth Published: August 3rd 2015 Publisher: Vintage Australia Pages: 512 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War, Romance, Retelling RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars A retelling of The Beauty and The Beast set in Nazi Germany The Grimm Brothers published a beautiful version of the Beauty & the Beast tale called ‘The Singing, Springing Lark’ in 1819. It combines… Continue reading Book Review: The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth

2016 Reviews · Australian · historical fiction

Book Review: Beyond the Orchard by Anna Romer

Title: Beyond the Orchard Author: Anna Romer Published: November 1st 2016 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Pages: 464 Genres: Fiction,  Australian, Historical, Romance RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars A haunting story of yearning, love and betrayal from the bestselling author of Thornwood House Lucy Briar has arrived home in turmoil after years overseas. She’s met her fiancé in London and has her life mapped out,… Continue reading Book Review: Beyond the Orchard by Anna Romer