#20BacklistIn2020 · 2020 Reviews · historical fiction · World War II

#20BACKLISTIN2020 Backlist Book Challenge: The Lost Girls of Paris by Pam Jenoff

In a desperate bid to reduce the books that are collecting dust on my TBR shelves, I have decided to collaborate with another avid reader and fellow book reviewer, Nicole from Certified Book Addicts. The #20BACKLISTIN2020 challenge is a self paced challenge hosted by Jaylamm.Reads, Reading and Sunshine, and Cassidys.Bookshelf. The overall goal of this challenge is to read… Continue reading #20BACKLISTIN2020 Backlist Book Challenge: The Lost Girls of Paris by Pam Jenoff

2020 Reviews · dual time frame · historical fiction · new release · United States

New Release Book Review: Big Lies in a Small Town by Diane Chamberlain

Title: Big Lies in a Small Town Author: Diane Chamberlain Published: January 14th 2020 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 400 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars North Carolina, 2018: Morgan Christopher’s life has been derailed. Taking the fall for a crime she did not commit, she finds herself serving a three-year stint in the North Carolina Women’s Correctional Center. Her… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Big Lies in a Small Town by Diane Chamberlain

2020 Reviews · crime · historical fiction · India · mystery · new release

New Release Book Review: A Murder at Malabar Hill by Sujata Massey

Title: A Murder at Malabar Hill Author: Sujata Massey Published: January 7th 2020 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 416 Genres:  Fiction, Historical, Crime, Mystery RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3.5 stars Introducing Miss Perveen Mistry, the star of an outstanding new crime series. This courageous, likeable and determined young lawyer-turned-sleuth will appeal to readers of Phryne Fisher and Precious Ramotswe in a stunning… Continue reading New Release Book Review: A Murder at Malabar Hill by Sujata Massey

#aww2020 · 2020 Reviews · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Paris Model by Alexandra Joel & GIVEAWAY!

Title: The Paris Model Author: Alexandra Joel Published: January 20th 2020 Publisher: Harper Collins Books Australia Pages: 352 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4.5 stars Sometimes you have to lose everything to find yourself … A stunning novel of love, betrayal and family secrets for all fans of Fiona McIntosh and Natasha Lester. After a shocking discovery, Grace Woods leaves her… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Paris Model by Alexandra Joel & GIVEAWAY!

2020 Reviews · Book club · historical fiction · World War II

Book Club Book Thoughts on: Cilka’s Journey by Heather Morris

Title: Cilka’s Journey Author: Heather Morris Published: October 1st 2019 Publisher: Echo Publishing Pages: 488 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Her beauty saved her life – and condemned her. In 1942 Cilka is just sixteen years old when she is taken to Auschwitz-Birkenau Concentration Camp. The Commandant at Birkenau, Schwarzhuber, notices her long beautiful hair, and forces her separation from… Continue reading Book Club Book Thoughts on: Cilka’s Journey by Heather Morris

2020 Reviews · fantasy · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The World That We Knew by Alice Hoffman

Title: The World That We Knew Author: Alice Hoffman Published: October 1st 2019 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia Pages: 384 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3 stars In Berlin, at the time when the world changed, Hanni Kohn knows she must send her twelve-year-old daughter away to save her from the Nazi regime. She finds her way to a… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The World That We Knew by Alice Hoffman

2020 Pop Sugar Reading Challenge · 2020 Reviews · Germany · historical fiction

POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020: The German House by Annette Hess

Today I am marking off my second checkpoint category for the POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020 with: Set against the Frankfurt Auschwitz Trials of 1963, Annette Hess’s international bestseller is a harrowing yet ultimately uplifting coming-of-age story about a young female translator-caught between societal and familial expectations and her unique ability to speak truth to power-as… Continue reading POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020: The German House by Annette Hess