#aww2020 · 2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Bass Rock by Evie Wyld

Title: The Bass Rock Author: Evie Wyld Published: February 4th 2020 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 368 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3.5 stars The lives of three women weave together across four centuries in the dazzling new book from Evie Wyld, winner of the Miles Franklin Award. Surging out of the sea, the Bass Rock has for centuries watched… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Bass Rock by Evie Wyld

#aww2020 · 2020 Reviews · Australian · contemporary fiction · dual time frame · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Banksia Bay Beach Shack by Sandie Docker

Title: The Banksia Bay Beach Shack Author: Sandie Docker Published: March 17th 2020 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 384 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars The heartwarming new family saga from the bestselling author of The Kookaburra Creek Café. A year is a long time in the memory of a small town. Stories get twisted, truths become warped, history is… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Banksia Bay Beach Shack by Sandie Docker

2020 Reviews · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Girls with No Names by Serena Burdick

Title: The Girls with No Names Author: Serena Burdick Published: January 20th 2020 Publisher: HQ Fiction – US Pages: 352 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars The Girls with No Names pulls readers into the gilded age of New York City in the 1910s, when suffragettes marched in the street, unions fought for better work conditions – and… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Girls with No Names by Serena Burdick

#aww2020 · 2020 Reviews · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Girl in the Painting by Tea Cooper

Title: The Girl in the Painting Author: Tea Cooper Published: December 16th 2019 Publisher: HQ Fiction – AU Pages: 384 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars For readers of The True Story of Maddie Bright, The Woman in the Green Dress and The Birdman’s Wife comes this atmospheric and richly detailed Australian historical mystery from a bestselling Australian author. Maitland 1913 Miss… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Girl in the Painting by Tea Cooper

#aww2020 · 2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · dual time frame · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: Truths I Never Told You by Kelly Rimmer

Title: Truths I Never Told You Author: Kelly Rimmer Published: February 25th 2020 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 352 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars It begins with the discovery of a tattered letter in the attic … A heart-tugging story of family secrets by the Top 10 bestselling Australian author 1959: Grace is a young mother with four children… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Truths I Never Told You by Kelly Rimmer

#aww2020 · 2020 Reviews · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Daughter of Victory Lights by Kerri Turner

Title: The Daughter of Victory Lights Author: Kerri Turner Published: January 20th 2020 Publisher: HQ Fiction – AU Pages: 384 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars An enthralling story of one woman’s determined grab for freedom after WW2 from a talented new Australian voice. ‘PART CABARET, PART BURLESQUE, AND LIKE NOTHING YOU’VE EVER SEEN BEFORE! GENTLEMEN,… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Daughter of Victory Lights by Kerri Turner

2020 Reviews · historical fiction

Book Review: Spy by Danielle Steel

Title: Spy Author: Danielle Steel Published: November 11th 2019 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 288 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3 stars It is 1939 and although she doesn’t know it, it will be the last normal summer Alexandra Wickham will spend for more than thirty years. Alexandra is a young woman who sees her brothers fight and die for their country, and,… Continue reading Book Review: Spy by Danielle Steel