2020 Reviews · historical fiction

Book Review: The Mercies by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Title: The Mercies Author: Kiran Millwood Hargrave Published: January 28th 2020 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 256 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars On Christmas Eve, 1617, the sea around the remote Norwegian island of Vardø is thrown into a reckless storm. As Maren Magnusdatter watches, forty fishermen, including her father and brother, are lost to the waves, the menfolk of Vardø wiped… Continue reading Book Review: The Mercies by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

#20BacklistIn2020 · 2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction

#20BACKLISTIN2020 Backlist Book Challenge: Between Sisters by Kristin Hannah

In a desperate bid to reduce the books that are collecting dust on my TBR shelves, I have decided to collaborate with another avid reader and fellow book reviewer, Nicole from Certified Book Addicts. The #20BACKLISTIN2020 challenge is a self paced challenge hosted by Jaylamm.Reads, Reading and Sunshine, and Cassidys.Bookshelf. The overall goal of this challenge is to read… Continue reading #20BACKLISTIN2020 Backlist Book Challenge: Between Sisters by Kristin Hannah

#aww2020 · 2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: I Give My Marriage a Year by Holly Wainwright

Title: I Give My Marriage a Year Author: Holly Wainwright Published: August 25th 2020 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 432 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4.5 stars Lou and Josh have been together for 14 years. They share two kids, a mortgage, careers and plenty of history. Now, after a particularly fraught Christmas, Lou is ready to ask herself: is this marriage worth hanging… Continue reading New Release Book Review: I Give My Marriage a Year by Holly Wainwright

2020 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · romance

New Release Book Review: Royal by Danielle Steel

Title: Royal Author: Danielle Steel Published: August 25th 2020 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 288 Genres:  Fiction, Historical, Romance RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3 stars In this spellbinding tale from Danielle Steel, a princess is sent away to safety during World War II, where she falls in love, and is lost forever. As the war rages on in the summer of 1943, causing massive destruction and… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Royal by Danielle Steel

2020 Pop Sugar Reading Challenge · 2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · domestic · suspense · thriller

POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020: The Other Woman by Sandie Jones

Today I am marking off my twenty ninth #29th checkpoint category for the POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020 with: The Other Woman by debut author Sandie Jones, is a gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Michelle Frances’s The Girlfriend and B A Paris’s Behind Closed Doors. There’s nothing that this mother wouldn’t do for her son . . .… Continue reading POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020: The Other Woman by Sandie Jones

2020 Reviews · biography · history · military · new release · non-fiction · Political · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Happiest Man on Earth by Eddie Jaku

Title: The Happiest Man on Earth Author: Eddie Jaku Published: July 27th 2020 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 208 Genres:  Biography & True Stories, Autobiography, Second World War, Holocaust, Historical, Political & Military RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4.5 stars Life can be beautiful if you make it beautiful. It is up to you. Eddie Jaku always considered himself a German first,… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Happiest Man on Earth by Eddie Jaku

2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: Confessions of a Forty Something by Alexandra Potter

Title: Confessions of a Forty Something Author: Alexandra Potter Published: April 28th 2020 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 512 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Romance RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars Nell Stevens’ life is a mess. When her business goes bust and her relationship with it, Nell’s happy ever after in California falls apart and she moves back to London to start over. But a… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Confessions of a Forty Something by Alexandra Potter

2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · mystery · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Half Sister by Sandie Jones

Title: The Half Sister Author: Sandie Jones Published: May 26th 2020 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 400 Genres:  Fiction, Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars The Half Sister is the compelling, twisty novel from Sandie Jones, the author of The Other Woman, perfect for fans of Sally Hepworth’s The Mother-in-Law and Michelle Frances’ The Daughter. Her arrival will ruin everything Kate and Lauren. Sisters… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Half Sister by Sandie Jones

2020 Reviews · Britain · contemporary fiction · crime · Guest Review · mystery · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: Find Them Dead by Peter James

Title: Find Them Dead Author: Peter James Published: May 12th 2020 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 320 Genres:  Fiction, Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars Roy Grace, creation of the award-winning author Peter James, unearths a powerful criminal network in Find Them Dead. A Brighton gangster is on trial for conspiracy to murder, following the death of a rival crime family… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Find Them Dead by Peter James

2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: Saint X by Alexis Schaitkin

Title: Saint X Author: Alexis Schaitkin Published: February 25th 2020 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 320 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3.5 stars Recommended by Entertainment Weekly, included in Good Morning America’s 20 Books We’re Excited for in 2020 & named as one of Vogue’s Best Books to Read This Winter, Bustle’s Most Anticipated Books of February 2020,… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Saint X by Alexis Schaitkin