2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Maid by Nita Prose

Title: The Maid Author: Nita Prose Published: January 20th 2022 Publisher: HarperCollins – GB Pages: 352 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars I am your maid.I know about your secrets. Your dirty laundry.But what do you know about me? Molly the maid is all alone in the world. A nobody. She’s used to being invisible in her job at the Regency… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Maid by Nita Prose

2022 Reviews · Book Stack · contemporary fiction · detective · mystery · new release

New Release Book Review: Murder Most Fancy by Kelly McCourt

Title: Murder Most Fancy Author: Kellie McCourt Published: January 5th 2022 Publisher: HQ Fiction – AU Pages: 464 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Mystery, Detective RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3.5 stars She’s not responsible for the corpse this time. Okay, maybe just a little bit. Our favourite socialite and felon are back in a madcap new sleuthing adventure … for readers of Janet Evanovich and Kerry… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Murder Most Fancy by Kelly McCourt

2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: Treasure and Dirt by Chris Hammer

Title: Treasure and Dirt Author: Chris Hammer Published: September 28th 2021 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 512 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars An unputdownable standalone thriller from the bestselling author of Scrublands. In the desolate outback town of Finnigans Gap, police struggle to maintain law and order. Thieves pillage opal mines, religious fanatics recruit vulnerable young people and billionaires… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Treasure and Dirt by Chris Hammer

2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: Fancy Meeting You Here by Ali Berg and Michelle Kalus

Title: Fancy Meeting You Here Author: Ali Berg and Michelle Kalus Published: November 30th 2021 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 328 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3 stars Sometimes the man of your dreams is standing right in front of you… only ten years in the past. A charming and unconventional love story about trying to rewrite history. Evie Berry is a… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Fancy Meeting You Here by Ali Berg and Michelle Kalus

2021 Reviews · Germany · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Girl Behind the Wall by Mandy Robotham

Title: The Berlin Girl Author: Mandy Robotham Published: July 28th 2021 Publisher: Avon GB -HarperCollins Books Australia Pages: 416 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars A city divided.When the Berlin Wall goes up, Karin is on the wrong side of the city. Overnight, she’s trapped under Soviet rule in unforgiving East Berlin and separated from her twin sister, Jutta.Two sisters torn… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Girl Behind the Wall by Mandy Robotham

2021 Reviews · historical fiction · New Zealand · romance · Vietnam War

New Release Book Review: Loving Summer by Carole Brungar

Title: Loving Summer (Return to Nam #4) Author: Carole Brungar Published: September 2nd 2021 Publisher: Leanne Lovegrove Pages: 388 Genres:  Fiction, Historical Fiction, Romance Rating: 4.5 stars Scott and Summer’s unforgettable love story will bring joy to your heart and tears to your eyes. It’s Christmas in the killing fields of Vietnam, and when Corporal Scott Taylor calls his men together… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Loving Summer by Carole Brungar

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · dual time frame · France · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Riviera House by Natasha Lester

Title: The Riviera House Author: Natasha Lester Published: September 1st 2021 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 464 Genres: Fiction, Historical/Contemporary RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars From the New York Times bestselling author comes this extraordinary masterpiece of historical fiction that will have you wiping tears from your face. Paris, 1939When Nazis occupy the city, Eliane Dufort is heartbroken – her lover flees for England and her family to… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Riviera House by Natasha Lester

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: Happy Hour by Jacquie Byron

Title: Happy Hour Author: Jacquie Byron Published: August 31st 2021 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 352 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars Gin in one hand, paintbrush in the other, Franny Calderwood has turned her back on the world. Having lost her husband, Frank, she lives a life of decadent seclusion with her two dogs, Whisky and Soda and a stuffed cat. Then the Salernos move… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Happy Hour by Jacquie Byron

2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · Holiday · Ireland · new release · romance

New Release Book Review: Baby It’s Cold Outside by Emily Bell

Title: Baby It’s Cold Outside Author: Emily Bell Published: November 25th 2021 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 352 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Romance RRP: $19.99 Rating: 3 stars Ten years ago Norah and Andrew promised to meet on Christmas Eve if they’re still single. Now the time has come, but will Andrew be waiting there for her? Norah Jones is known for two things, sharing… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Baby It’s Cold Outside by Emily Bell

2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · Holiday · romance

New Release Book Review: Flora’s Travelling Christmas Shop by Rebecca Raisin

Title: Flora’s Travelling Christmas Shop Author: Rebecca Raisin Published: December 1st 2021 Publisher: HQ Fiction – GB Pages: 304 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Romance, Holiday RRP: $19.99 Rating: 4 stars ’Tis the season for mulled wine, mince pies, and magic under the mistletoe…Flora loves Christmas more than anything else in the world, so she’s gutted when her Scrooge-alike boss fires her from… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Flora’s Travelling Christmas Shop by Rebecca Raisin