#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · romance

New Release Book Review: Our Own Private Fig Tree by Rania Battany

Title: Our Own Private Fig Tree Author: Rania Battany Published: October 14th 2021 Publisher: Independent Pages: 302 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Romance Rating: 4.5 stars 1988: In a multicultural pocket of inner-city Melbourne, sixteen-year-old Caleb falls in love with Samira, his Lebanese neighbour. Both understand the rules that determine they’re not allowed to date, but neither stays away. As they hide in the branches… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Our Own Private Fig Tree by Rania Battany

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · cover reveal · dual time frame · historical fiction · new release · romance

New Release Book Review: The Buchanan Girls by Emily Madden

Title: The Buchanan Girls Author: Emily Madden Published: September 1st 2021 Publisher: Mira – AU Pages: 448 Genres:  Fiction, Historical, Romance RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars A sweeping family saga about betrayal, forgiveness and the cost of love. Sydney, 1941: Olive and Ivy may be identical twins, but they couldn’t be more different. While Olive is focused on marrying a man appropriate to… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Buchanan Girls by Emily Madden

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · new release

New Release Book Review: You Had It Coming by B.M. Carroll

Title: You Had It Coming Author: B.M. Carroll Published: May 13th 2021 Publisher: Viper Pages: 320 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars WOULD YOU SAVE THE MANWHO DESTROYED YOUR LIFE? When paramedic Megan Lowe is called to the scene of an attempted murder, all she can do is try to save the victim. But as the man is lifted… Continue reading New Release Book Review: You Had It Coming by B.M. Carroll

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Shadow House by Anna Downes

Title: The Shadow House Author: Anna Downes Published: September 28th 2021 Publisher: Affirm Press Pages: 384 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars When single mother Alex flees her abusive relationship and moves with her teenage son and baby girl to a rural ecovillage, she thinks she’s made the best decision of her life. Pine Ridge is idyllic: the off-grid lifestyle and… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Shadow House by Anna Downes

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · mystery · new release

New Release Book Review: The Cuckoo’s Cry by Caroline Overington

Title: The Cuckoo’s Cry Author: Caroline Overington Published: September 29th 2021 Publisher: Harper Collins – AU Pages: 224 Genres:  Fiction, Mystery RRP: $19.99 Rating: 4 stars A compulsively gripping lockdown thriller by the bestselling author of The One Who Got Away On the eve of the global lockdown, Don Barlow opens the door of his old beachside cottage to find a pretty girl with… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Cuckoo’s Cry by Caroline Overington

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: Sisters of the Resistance by Christine Wells

Title: Sisters of the Resistance Author: Christine Wells Published: July 7th 2021 Publisher: HarperCollins – US Pages: 416 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars Two sisters join the Paris Resistance in this page-turning new novel inspired by the real-life bravery of Catherine Dior, sister of the fashion designer and a heroine of World War II France—perfect for fans of Kate Quinn… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Sisters of the Resistance by Christine Wells

2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · romance

New Release Book Review: The Butler by Danielle Steel

Title: The Butler Author: Danielle Steel Published: September 28th 2021 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 272 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Romance RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3 stars Joachim von Hartmann is born into a wealthy Argentine banking family and spends his early years in Buenos Aires. Blonde-haired and blue-eyed, he has inherited the looks of his German ancestors, while his twin brother Javier could not be more… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Butler by Danielle Steel

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · Better Reading Preview · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · new release

Better Reading Preview: Fromage by Sally Scott

Title: Fromage Author: Sally Scott Published: October 1st 2021 Publisher: Fremantle Press Pages: 224 Genres: Fiction, Crime, Mystery RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3.5 stars Journalist Alex Grant is enjoying the last days of her summer holiday in Croatia when she is accosted by an old school friend, Marie Puharich, and her odious brother, Brian, both there to attend the funeral of their fearsome grandfather’s… Continue reading Better Reading Preview: Fromage by Sally Scott

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · romance

New Release Book Review: The Five Year Plan by Jodi Gibson

Title: The Five Year Plan Author: Jodi Gibson Published: September 7th 2021 Publisher: Brio Books Pages: 296 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Romance, Women’s Fiction RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3.5 stars At 33, DEMI Moretti’s five-year plan is on track. She’s moved in with her boyfriend Wil, and is waiting patiently for her father to retire so she can take over the running of the family café. But… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Five Year Plan by Jodi Gibson

2021 Reviews · biography · new release · non-fiction · true stories · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Keeper of Miracles by Phillip Maisel

Title: The Keeper of Miracles Author: Phillip Maisel Published: July 27th 2021 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 224 Genres:  Second World War, Humanities, The HolocaustBiography & True Stories, Autobiography: historical, political & military RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars The memoir of a Holocaust survivor keeping alive the stories of his generation. For more than 30 years, Phillip Maisel has worked selflessly to record the harrowing… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Keeper of Miracles by Phillip Maisel