2020 Reviews · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Girls with No Names by Serena Burdick

Title: The Girls with No Names Author: Serena Burdick Published: January 20th 2020 Publisher: HQ Fiction – US Pages: 352 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars The Girls with No Names pulls readers into the gilded age of New York City in the 1910s, when suffragettes marched in the street, unions fought for better work conditions – and… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Girls with No Names by Serena Burdick

#aww2020 · 2020 Reviews · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Girl in the Painting by Tea Cooper

Title: The Girl in the Painting Author: Tea Cooper Published: December 16th 2019 Publisher: HQ Fiction – AU Pages: 384 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars For readers of The True Story of Maddie Bright, The Woman in the Green Dress and The Birdman’s Wife comes this atmospheric and richly detailed Australian historical mystery from a bestselling Australian author. Maitland 1913 Miss… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Girl in the Painting by Tea Cooper

#aww2020 · 2020 Reviews · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Daughter of Victory Lights by Kerri Turner

Title: The Daughter of Victory Lights Author: Kerri Turner Published: January 20th 2020 Publisher: HQ Fiction – AU Pages: 384 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars An enthralling story of one woman’s determined grab for freedom after WW2 from a talented new Australian voice. ‘PART CABARET, PART BURLESQUE, AND LIKE NOTHING YOU’VE EVER SEEN BEFORE! GENTLEMEN,… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Daughter of Victory Lights by Kerri Turner

#20BacklistIn2020 · 2020 Reviews · historical fiction · World War II

#20BACKLISTIN2020 Backlist Book Challenge: The Lost Girls of Paris by Pam Jenoff

In a desperate bid to reduce the books that are collecting dust on my TBR shelves, I have decided to collaborate with another avid reader and fellow book reviewer, Nicole from Certified Book Addicts. The #20BACKLISTIN2020 challenge is a self paced challenge hosted by Jaylamm.Reads, Reading and Sunshine, and Cassidys.Bookshelf. The overall goal of this challenge is to read… Continue reading #20BACKLISTIN2020 Backlist Book Challenge: The Lost Girls of Paris by Pam Jenoff

#20BacklistIn2020 · 2020 Reviews · Backlist Book Challenge 2020 · historical fiction

#20BACKLISTIN2020 Backlist Book Challenge: Home Front Girls by Suzanne Hayes & Loretta Nyhan

In a desperate bid to reduce the books that are collecting dust on my TBR shelves, I have decided to collaborate with another avid reader and fellow book reviewer, Nicole from Certified Book Addicts. The #20BacklistIn2020 challenge is a self paced challenge hosted by Jaylamm.Reads, Reading and Sunshine, and Cassidys.Bookshelf. The overall goal of this… Continue reading #20BACKLISTIN2020 Backlist Book Challenge: Home Front Girls by Suzanne Hayes & Loretta Nyhan

2019 Reviews · Britain · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Lost Ones by Anita Frank

Title: The Lost Ones Author: Anita Frank Published: October 21st 2019 Publisher: HQ Fiction – GB Pages: 434 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars England, 1917 Reeling from the death of her fiancé, Stella Marcham welcomes the opportunity to stay with her pregnant sister, Madeleine, at her imposing country mansion, Greyswick – but she arrives to discover a house of unease… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Lost Ones by Anita Frank

2019 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: Lies Lies Lies by Adele Parks

Title: Lies Lies Lies Author: Adele Parks Published: July 22nd 2019 Publisher: HQ Fiction  – GB Pages: 448 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars After years together, the arrival of longed-for daughter Millie sealed everything in place. A happy little family of three. And so what if Simon drinks a bit too much sometimes – Daisy’s used to it,… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Lies Lies Lies by Adele Parks

2019 Reviews · Book Broadcast · contemporary fiction · new release · suspense · thriller

Book Broadcast: Elevator Pitch by Linwood Barclay

Book Broadcast is a post I have created to help ease the load of the books I have for review. It is a great way to spread the word, providing recognition to an author or publisher for sending me a book to review. I hope you can discover some new titles to read through this… Continue reading Book Broadcast: Elevator Pitch by Linwood Barclay

2019 Reviews · Britain · chick lit · contemporary fiction · new release · romance

New Release Book Review: What Happens Now? by Sophia Money-Coutts

Title: What Happens Now? Author: Sophia Money-Coutts Published: August 8th 2019 Publisher: HQ Fiction – GB Pages: 384 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Romance RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3 stars After eight years together, Lil Bailey thought she’d already found ‘the one’ – that is, until he dumped her for a blonde twenty-something colleague. So she does what any self-respecting singleton would do: swipes right, puts… Continue reading New Release Book Review: What Happens Now? by Sophia Money-Coutts