#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: Sisters of the Resistance by Christine Wells

Title: Sisters of the Resistance Author: Christine Wells Published: July 7th 2021 Publisher: HarperCollins – US Pages: 416 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars Two sisters join the Paris Resistance in this page-turning new novel inspired by the real-life bravery of Catherine Dior, sister of the fashion designer and a heroine of World War II France—perfect for fans of Kate Quinn… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Sisters of the Resistance by Christine Wells

A Tea break with Mrs B · Interview

A Tea Break with Mrs B: Christine Wells

It is a pleasure to welcome Christine Wells to my blog, Mrs B’s Book Reviews for A Tea Break with Mrs B, an author interview series. To help celebrate the release of Sisters of the Resistance we sat down for a chat. Thanks Christine! What is your drink of choice as we sit down for a chat about your… Continue reading A Tea Break with Mrs B: Christine Wells

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins

Title: The Wife Upstairs Author: Rachel Hawkins Published: January 6th 2021 Publisher: Harper Collins – GB Pages: 304 Genres:  Fiction, Thriller, Suspense RRP: $32.99 Rating: 2 stars A man who seems perfect…Eddie can give Jane everything she’s always wanted: stability, acceptance, and a picture-perfect life. A wife who just won’t stay buried…But what Jane doesn’t know is that Eddie is keeping a secret… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins

2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · new release

New Release Book Review: Girl A by Abigail Dean

Title: Girl A Author: Abigail Dean Published: January 20th 2021 Publisher: Harper Collins – GB Pages: 336 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars ‘Girl A,’ she said. ‘The girl who escaped. If anyone was going to make it, it was going to be you.’ Lex Gracie doesn’t want to think about her family. She doesn’t want to think about… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Girl A by Abigail Dean

2020 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Berlin Girl by Mandy Robotham

Title: The Berlin Girl Author: Mandy Robotham Published: December 2nd 2020 Publisher: Avon GB -HarperCollins Books Australia Pages: 400 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars The heart-wrenching new WWII story from the bestselling author of The German Midwife. Berlin, 1938: It’s the height of summer, and Germany is on the brink of war. When fledgling reporter Georgie Young is posted to… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Berlin Girl by Mandy Robotham

#20BacklistIn2020 · 2020 Reviews · historical fiction

#20BACKLISTIN2020 Backlist Book Challenge: The Cottingley Secret by Hazel Gaynor

In a desperate bid to reduce the books that are collecting dust on my TBR shelves, I have decided to collaborate with another avid reader and fellow book reviewer, Nicole from Certified Book Addicts. The #20BACKLISTIN2020 challenge is a self paced challenge hosted by Jaylamm.Reads, Reading and Sunshine, and Cassidys.Bookshelf. The overall goal of this challenge is to read… Continue reading #20BACKLISTIN2020 Backlist Book Challenge: The Cottingley Secret by Hazel Gaynor

2020 Reviews · historical fiction · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Bird in the Bamboo Cage by Hazel Gaynor

Title: The Bird in the Bamboo Cage Author: Hazel Gaynor Published: September 2nd 2020 Publisher: Harper Collins – GB Pages: 400 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars China, 1941. With Japan’s declaration of war on the Allies, Elspeth Kent’s future changes forever. When soldiers take control of the missionary school where she teaches, comfortable security is replaced by rationing, uncertainty and… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Bird in the Bamboo Cage by Hazel Gaynor

2020 Reviews · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Jacaranda House by Deborah Challinor

Title: The Jacaranda House Author: Deborah Challinor Published: August 5th 2020 Publisher: Harper Collins Books Australia Pages: 432 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3 stars Bestselling author Deborah Challinor returns with a spellbinding novel about a woman living in Sydney’s notorious King’s Cross in 1964. Polly Manaia is living in Sydney’s notorious Kings Cross, working as an exotic dancer.… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Jacaranda House by Deborah Challinor

#20BacklistIn2020 · 2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · mystery · suspense · thriller

#20BACKLISTIN2020 Backlist Book Challenge: The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley

In a desperate bid to reduce the books that are collecting dust on my TBR shelves, I have decided to collaborate with another avid reader and fellow book reviewer, Nicole from Certified Book Addicts. The #20BACKLISTIN2020 challenge is a self paced challenge hosted by Jaylamm.Reads, Reading and Sunshine, and Cassidys.Bookshelf. The overall goal of this challenge is to read… Continue reading #20BACKLISTIN2020 Backlist Book Challenge: The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley

2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · new release · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Silent Wife by Karin Slaughter

Title: The Silent Wife Author: Karin Slaughter Published: July 8th 2020 Publisher: Harper Collins Books Australia Pages: 496 Genres:  Fiction, Crime, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars From the No.1 bestselling author comes a gripping new crime thriller featuring WILL TRENT and SARA LINTON. ‘Simply one of the best thriller writers working today’ Gillian Flynn He watches. A woman runs… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Silent Wife by Karin Slaughter