2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · suspense · thriller

Book Review: Hostage by Clare Mackintosh

Title: Hostage Author: Clare Mackintosh Published: June 29th 2021 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 400 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4.5 stars Bestselling author and international sensation, Clare Mackintosh, brings her showstopping quality to this modern take on the classic locked-room thriller ‘A NAIL-BITER OF A THRILLER’ SHARI LAPENA‘HYPNOTICALLY GOOD’ LEE CHILD‘FEELS LIKE A BLOCKBUSTER MOVIE’ LISA JEWELL You can save hundreds of lives.Or the… Continue reading Book Review: Hostage by Clare Mackintosh

2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · suspense · thriller

Book Review: The Last Guests by J.P. Pomare

Title: The Last Guests Author: J.P. Pomare Published: July 28th 2021 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 336 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Thriller, Suspense RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars Ever have the feeling you’re being watched? A smart, unsettling, unputdownable literary thriller from the award-winning, critically acclaimed writerLina and Cain are doing their best to stay afloat. Money has been tight since Cain returned from active duty, and… Continue reading Book Review: The Last Guests by J.P. Pomare

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · dual time frame · France · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Riviera House by Natasha Lester

Title: The Riviera House Author: Natasha Lester Published: September 1st 2021 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 464 Genres: Fiction, Historical/Contemporary RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars From the New York Times bestselling author comes this extraordinary masterpiece of historical fiction that will have you wiping tears from your face. Paris, 1939When Nazis occupy the city, Eliane Dufort is heartbroken – her lover flees for England and her family to… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Riviera House by Natasha Lester

2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · romance

New Release Book Review: The Wish by Nicholas Sparks

Title: The Wish Author: Nicholas Sparks Published: September 28th 2021 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 400 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Romance RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4.5 stars The New York Times number one bestselling author Nicholas Sparks is back with his most moving and uplifting love story yet – what are you wishing for this Christmas? If you had one wish… Maggie hasn’t told this story in years.… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Wish by Nicholas Sparks

2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

Title: The Paris Library Author: Janet Skeslien Charles Published: February 9th 2021 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 336 Genres: Fiction, Historical, World War II RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3 stars The instant New York Times bestseller, inspired by the true story of the librarians at the American Library in Paris who risked their lives during the Nazis’ war on words: a story of courage, defiance and betrayal… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Tea Ladies of St Jude’s Hospital by Joanna Nell

Title: The Tea Ladies of St Jude’s Hospital Author: Joanna Nell Published: September 29th 2021 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 384 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars The heartwarming and hilarious new novel by the author of cherished bestsellers, The Single Ladies of Jacaranda Retirement Village and The Great Escape from Woodlands Nursing Home The Marjorie Marshall Memorial Cafeteria has been serving refreshments and raising… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Tea Ladies of St Jude’s Hospital by Joanna Nell

2021 Reviews · crime · mystery · suspense · thriller

Book Review: The Confession by Jo Spain

Title: The Confession Author: Jo Spain Published: August 14th 2018 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 416 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $19.99 Rating: 4 stars Late one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. The man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry as a horror-struck Julie watches, frozen by fear.… Continue reading Book Review: The Confession by Jo Spain

contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · suspense · thriller

Book Review: Dirty Little Secrets by Jo Spain

Title: Dirty Little Secrets Author: Jo Spain Published: February 12th 2019 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 400 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars The second psychological thriller from No.1 bestselling author Jo Spain. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Lucy Foley. FROM THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE CONFESSION Six neighbours, six secrets, six reasons to want… Continue reading Book Review: Dirty Little Secrets by Jo Spain

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: Thursdays at Orange Blossom House by Sophie Green

Title: Thursdays at Orange Blossom House Author: Sophie Green Published: July 28th 2021 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 416 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars From the author of beloved Top Ten bestsellers The Inaugural Meeting of the Fairvale Ladies Book Club and The Shelly Bay Ladies Swimming Circle comes a delightful new novel about friendship, love and finding yourself. Far North Queensland, 1993: At 74,… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Thursdays at Orange Blossom House by Sophie Green

2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: When You Are Mine by Michael Robotham

Title: When You Are Mine Author: Michael Robotham Published: June 30th 2021 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 416 Genres: Fiction, Crime, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars For as long as we both shall live? A pulse-racing standalone thriller by the #1 bestselling author of The Secrets She Keeps, now a major TV seriesPhilomena McCarthy has defied the odds and become a promising young officer with the… Continue reading New Release Book Review: When You Are Mine by Michael Robotham