2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Paris Collaborator by A.W. Hammond

Title: The Paris Collaborator Author: A.W. Hammond Published: May 4th 2021 Publisher: Echo Publishing Pages: 320 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars He’ll do anything to save her … even work for the enemy. August, 1944. In German-occupied Paris, former schoolteacher Auguste Duchene has stumbled upon an unusual way to survive: he finds missing people. When he’s approached by the French Resistance… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Paris Collaborator by A.W. Hammond

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: Those Hamilton Sisters by Averil Kenny

Title: Those Hamilton Sisters Author: Averil Kenny Published: March 30th 2021 Publisher: Echo Publishing Pages: 464 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars An irresistible tale of secrets, love and redemption, for fans of Fiona McIntosh and Di Morrissey Will their mother’s scandalous past decide their future? The train which snaked into Noah Vale that verdant, midwinter afternoon brought with it fire, sending an… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Those Hamilton Sisters by Averil Kenny

2021 Reviews · non-fiction

Book Review: Stories of Hope by Heather Morris

Title: Stories of Hope Author: Heather Morris Published: September 29th 2020 Publisher: Echo Publishing Pages: 320 Genres: Non-Fiction RRP: $29.99 Heather Morris, author of the internationally bestselling novels The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Cilka’s Journey, grew up on a farm in rural New Zealand. On her way back across the paddocks from school, Heather would visit her great-grandfather and listen to his experiences of war –… Continue reading Book Review: Stories of Hope by Heather Morris

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Mistake by Katie McMahon

Title: The Mistake Author: Katie McMahon Published: March 2nd 2021 Publisher: Echo Publishing Pages: 400 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars I couldn’t believe that Bec would, after all these years, bring the whole thing up so … casually. Bec and Kate are sisters, but they couldn’t be less alike. Bec lives the domestic dream with her surgeon husband Stuart and three… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Mistake by Katie McMahon

#aww2020 · 2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Drop-Off by Fiona Harris and Mike McLeish

Title: The Drop-Off Author: Fiona Harris and Mike McLeish Published: April 28th 2020 Publisher: Echo Publishing Pages: 324 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars Lizzie, Megan and Sam became accidental friends over good coffee, banter and wrong-world jokes at school drop off. Lizzie is a part-time midwife with four kids and a secret past. Sam is an ex-chef and… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Drop-Off by Fiona Harris and Mike McLeish

#aww2020 · 2020 Pop Sugar Reading Challenge · 2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · thriller

POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020: Painting in the Shadows by Katherine Kovacic

Today I am marking off my seventeenth #17 checkpoint category for the POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020 with: Art dealer Alex Clayton and conservator John Porter are thrilled to be previewing the Melbourne International Museum of Art’s (MIMA) newest exhibition, until they witness a museum worker collapse and badly damage a reportedly cursed painting. Belief in… Continue reading POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020: Painting in the Shadows by Katherine Kovacic

#aww2020 · 2020 Reviews · Australian · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · new release · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Shifting Landscape by Katherine Kovacic

Title: The Shifting Landscape Author: Katherine Kovacic Published: March 31st 2020 Publisher: Echo Publishing Pages: 304 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery, Thriller RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars Art dealer Alex Clayton travels to Victoria’s Western District to value the McMillan family’s collection. At their historic sheep station, she finds an important and previously unknown colonial painting – and a family fraught with… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Shifting Landscape by Katherine Kovacic

#aww2020 · 2020 Pop Sugar Reading Challenge · 2020 Reviews · Speculative fiction

POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020: Euphoria Kids by Alison Evans

Today I am marking off my tenth #10 checkpoint category for the POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020 with: Ever since the witch cursed Babs, she turns invisible sometimes. She has her mum and her dog, but teachers and classmates barely notice her. Then, one day, Iris can see her. And Iris likes what they see. Babs… Continue reading POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020: Euphoria Kids by Alison Evans

#aww2020 · 2020 Reviews · book bingo · crime

#Book Bingo 2020 Round 2: ‘Themes of Crime and Justice’- The Great Divide by L.J.M. Owen

Book Bingo 2020 is a collaboration challenge I am completing for the third year with my favourite bloggers, Theresa Smith Writes and The Book Muse. On the second Saturday of each month, beginning on Saturday 11th January 2020, Theresa, Ashleigh and I will complete a book review post, outlining our respective bingo card entries. The Book Bingo 2020 card… Continue reading #Book Bingo 2020 Round 2: ‘Themes of Crime and Justice’- The Great Divide by L.J.M. Owen

2020 Reviews · Book club · historical fiction · World War II

Book Club Book Thoughts on: Cilka’s Journey by Heather Morris

Title: Cilka’s Journey Author: Heather Morris Published: October 1st 2019 Publisher: Echo Publishing Pages: 488 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Her beauty saved her life – and condemned her. In 1942 Cilka is just sixteen years old when she is taken to Auschwitz-Birkenau Concentration Camp. The Commandant at Birkenau, Schwarzhuber, notices her long beautiful hair, and forces her separation from… Continue reading Book Club Book Thoughts on: Cilka’s Journey by Heather Morris