2019 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · thriller

Book Review: Pretty Guilty Women by Gina Lamanna

Title: Pretty Guilty Women Author: Gina LaManna Published: September 24th 2019 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 304 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3 stars Why would four women confess to the same murder? Only they know the answer – and they’re not telling. A sharp, twisty and utterly addictive thriller, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Liv Constantine. You… Continue reading Book Review: Pretty Guilty Women by Gina Lamanna

2020 Pop Sugar Reading Challenge · 2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release

POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020: Ellie and the Harpmaker by Hazel Prior

Today I am marking off my ninth #9 checkpoint category for the POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020 with: Meet Ellie. She’s perfectly happy living her quiet life with her husband, Clive. Happy to wander the Exmoor countryside and write the occasional poem that nobody will read; happy to dream of all the things she hasn’t yet… Continue reading POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020: Ellie and the Harpmaker by Hazel Prior

#aww2020 · 2020 Pop Sugar Reading Challenge · 2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction

POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020: The Weekend by Charlotte Wood

Today I am marking off my eighth #8 checkpoint category for the POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020 with: The brilliant new novel from Charlotte Wood, acclaimed author of The Natural Way of Things. Shortlisted for the 2020 Stella Prize People went on about death bringing friends together, but it wasn’t true. The graveyard, the stony dirt –… Continue reading POPSUGAR READING CHALLENGE 2020: The Weekend by Charlotte Wood

2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction

Book Review: Akin by Emma Donoghue

Title: Akin Author: Emma Donoghue Published: September 24th 2019 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 352 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary Rating: 3.5 stars RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3.5 stars Noah Selvaggio is a retired chemistry professor and widower living on the Upper West Side, but born in the South of France. He is days away from his long-awaited first trip back to Nice, but he receives… Continue reading Book Review: Akin by Emma Donoghue

2020 Reviews · book bingo

#Book Bingo 2020 Round 3: ‘Family, Friendship and Love’- The Shelley Bay Ladies Swimming Circle by Sophie Green

Book Bingo 2020 is a collaboration challenge I am completing for the third year with my favourite bloggers, Theresa Smith Writes and The Book Muse. On the second Saturday of each month, beginning on Saturday 11th January 2020, Theresa, Ashleigh and I will complete a book review post, outlining our respective bingo card entries. The Book Bingo 2020 card… Continue reading #Book Bingo 2020 Round 3: ‘Family, Friendship and Love’- The Shelley Bay Ladies Swimming Circle by Sophie Green

2020 Reviews · Better Reading Preview · contemporary fiction · new release · suspense · thriller

Better Reading Preview: The Gilded Cage by Camilla Lackberg

Title: The Gilded Cage Author: Camilla Lackberg Published: March 23rd 2020 Publisher: Harper Collins Pages: 352 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3 stars All that glitters… People would kill to have Faye Adelheim’s life. She lives in an ultra-swanky apartment in the most exclusive area of Stockholm, she has a gorgeous husband who gives her everything… Continue reading Better Reading Preview: The Gilded Cage by Camilla Lackberg

#20BacklistIn2020 · #aww2020 · 2020 Reviews · Australian · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery

#20BACKLISTIN2020 Backlist Book Challenge: Second Sight by Aoife Clifford

In a desperate bid to reduce the books that are collecting dust on my TBR shelves, I have decided to collaborate with another avid reader and fellow book reviewer, Nicole from Certified Book Addicts. The #20BACKLISTIN2020 challenge is a self paced challenge hosted by Jaylamm.Reads, Reading and Sunshine, and Cassidys.Bookshelf. The overall goal of this challenge is to read… Continue reading #20BACKLISTIN2020 Backlist Book Challenge: Second Sight by Aoife Clifford