2021 Reviews · historical fiction

Book Review: Bereft by Chris Womersley

Title: Bereft Author: Chris Womersley Published: March 8th 2011 Publisher: Scribe Pages: 272 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $24.99 Rating: 4 stars It is 1919. The Great War has ended, but the Spanish flu epidemic is raging across Australia. Schools are closed, state borders are guarded by armed men, and train travel is severely restricted. There are rumours it is the end of the… Continue reading Book Review: Bereft by Chris Womersley

2021 Reviews · crime · mystery · suspense · thriller

Book Review: The Confession by Jo Spain

Title: The Confession Author: Jo Spain Published: August 14th 2018 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 416 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $19.99 Rating: 4 stars Late one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. The man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry as a horror-struck Julie watches, frozen by fear.… Continue reading Book Review: The Confession by Jo Spain

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · literary · new release

Beauty & Lace Book Review: The Rabbits by Sophie Overett

Title: The Rabbits Author: Sophie Overett Published: July 2nd 2021 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 336 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Literary RRP: $32.99 Rating:  2 stars From the winner of the Penguin Literary Prize and the Kathleen Mitchell Award.A multigenerational family story with a dose of magical realism. It is about family secrets, art, very mild superpowers, loneliness and the strange connections we… Continue reading Beauty & Lace Book Review: The Rabbits by Sophie Overett

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · World War I

Book Review: Ice Letters by Susan Errington

Title: Ice Letters Author: Susan Errington Published: May 2nd 2016 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 320 Genres: Fiction, Historical, War RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3.5 stars A First World War novel of love, peace, violence and Antarctica Adelaide, 1916, and Dora Somerville grieves for her brother, Edgar, killed in France. In the course of an oppressively hot summer, she decides to abandon her pacifist… Continue reading Book Review: Ice Letters by Susan Errington

contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · suspense · thriller

Book Review: Dirty Little Secrets by Jo Spain

Title: Dirty Little Secrets Author: Jo Spain Published: February 12th 2019 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 400 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars The second psychological thriller from No.1 bestselling author Jo Spain. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Lucy Foley. FROM THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE CONFESSION Six neighbours, six secrets, six reasons to want… Continue reading Book Review: Dirty Little Secrets by Jo Spain

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · suspense · thriller

Book Review: Deadman’s Track by Sarah Barrie

Title: Deadman’s Track Author: Sarah Barrie Published: July 8th 2020 Publisher: HQ Fiction – AU Pages: 416 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars Alone in the wilderness, they are picked off one by one … Gripping, standalone romantic thriller from an author at the top of her game, for readers of The Dark Lake and The Dry. A tragic accident, a terrible crime,… Continue reading Book Review: Deadman’s Track by Sarah Barrie

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · dual time frame · historical fiction

Book Review: The Piano Woman by Rozzi Bazzani

Title: The Piano Woman Author: Rozzi Bazzani Published: February 11th 2021 Publisher: Arcadia Pages: 310 Genres:  Fiction, Historical/Contemporary RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars A young woman goes missing…On the threshold of World War II, a young woman from a titled family in the south of England disappears, seemingly without a trace.An unexpected inheritance…In 2016 on the outskirts of Melbourne Australia, Maddison Browne, a… Continue reading Book Review: The Piano Woman by Rozzi Bazzani

2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · suspense · thriller

Book Review: One by One by Ruth Ware

Title: One by One Author: Ruth Ware Published: September 15th 2020 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 384 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3.5 stars Snow is falling in the exclusive alpine ski resort of Saint Antoine, as the shareholders and directors of Snoop, the hottest new music app, gather for a make or break corporate retreat to decide… Continue reading Book Review: One by One by Ruth Ware

2021 Reviews · non-fiction

Book Review: Stories of Hope by Heather Morris

Title: Stories of Hope Author: Heather Morris Published: September 29th 2020 Publisher: Echo Publishing Pages: 320 Genres: Non-Fiction RRP: $29.99 Heather Morris, author of the internationally bestselling novels The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Cilka’s Journey, grew up on a farm in rural New Zealand. On her way back across the paddocks from school, Heather would visit her great-grandfather and listen to his experiences of war –… Continue reading Book Review: Stories of Hope by Heather Morris

2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · Ireland · mystery

Book Review: Holding by Graham Norton

Title: Holding Author: Graham Norton Published: October 6th 2016 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 320 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery RRP: $22.99 Rating: 4.5 stars The remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama; and yet its inhabitants are troubled. Sergeant PJ Collins hasn’t always been this overweight; mother of two Brid Riordan hasn’t always been an alcoholic; and elegant Evelyn Ross hasn’t… Continue reading Book Review: Holding by Graham Norton