2017 Reviews · historical fiction

Book Review: The Girl From Munich by Tania Blanchard

Title: The Girl From Munich Author: Tania Blanchard Published: September 1st 2017 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Pages: 432 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars The haunting bestseller about love and loss in wartime Germany, inspired by a true story. Germany, 1943. The choices she makes will change her life forever. Growing up in Hitler’s Germany, Charlotte von Klein has big… Continue reading Book Review: The Girl From Munich by Tania Blanchard

#aww2018 · 2018 Reviews · children

Children’s Book Review: Danny Best: Me First! by Jen Storer

Title: Danny Best: Me First! Author: Jen Storer Published: January 22nd 2018 Publisher: Harper Collins Books Australia Pages: 304 Genres:  Fiction, Children’s RRP: $17.99 Rating: 4 stars For fans of WEIRDO, DIARY OF A WIMPY KID and FUNNY KID FOR PRESIDENT comes the third book in a hilarious series about a LEGEND named Danny Best. Best by name, Best by reputation … Danny Best… Continue reading Children’s Book Review: Danny Best: Me First! by Jen Storer

2017 Reviews · Australian · historical fiction · Throwback Thursday

Throwback Thursday Book Review: Heritage by Judy Nunn

Welcome to a weekly post, Throwback Thursday. This weekly book review post is a way to share some old favourites, books that were published over a year ago and most importantly those books that have been languishing on the to be read pile for far too long! It my pleasure to bring you this week’s… Continue reading Throwback Thursday Book Review: Heritage by Judy Nunn

2017 Reviews · Australian · fiction · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Sisters’ Song by Louise Allan

Title: The Sisters’ Song Author: Louise Allan Published: January 2nd 2018 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 368 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars As children, Ida loves looking after her younger sister, Nora, but when their beloved father dies in 1927, everything changes. The two girls move in with their grandmother who is particularly encouraging of Nora’s musical talent. In Nora, she sees… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Sisters’ Song by Louise Allan

2017 Reviews · Australian · contemporary fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: Stella and Margie by Glenna Thomson

Title: Stella and Margie Author: Glenna Thomson Published: January 2nd 2018 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 352 Genres:  Contemporary Fiction RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4.5 stars A beautiful novel about two women – a generation apart – thrown together by circumstance, who slowly come to love and understand one another. Stella and her mother-in-law Margie are two very different women. Stella is kind, compassionate… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Stella and Margie by Glenna Thomson

2017 Reviews · Australian · contemporary fiction · life lit · women's fiction

Book Review: Secrets Between Friends by Fiona Palmer

Title: Secrets Between Friends Author:  Fiona Palmer Published: September 12th 2017 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 368 Genres:  Fiction, Australian, Women’s Fiction/Life Lit RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars Friendship is a million little moments, but can it survive this one? Three friends embark on a luxury cruise to celebrate their ten-year reunion in this heartfelt story of how long-held secrets can catch up with even… Continue reading Book Review: Secrets Between Friends by Fiona Palmer