2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · romance · rural fiction · small town

New Release Book Review: The Vet’s Country Holiday by Lily Malone

Title: The Vet’s Country Holiday Author: Lily Malone Published: March 30th 2022 Publisher: Mira – AU Pages: 384 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Romance RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars One irrepressible city girl plus a by-the-numbers accountant = a tricky equation… For city vet Isabella Passmore, the opportunity to pet-sit in the country knocks at the perfect time. Bring on that fresh air! But… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Vet’s Country Holiday by Lily Malone

2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Whispering by Veronica Lando

Title: The Whispering Author: Veronica Lando Published: July 6th 2022 Publisher: Harper Collins – AU Pages: 368 Genres:  Fiction, Crime, Thriller, Suspense RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4.5 stars The whispering wild will take your child if you dare to look away … The stunning Aussie crime debut from the winner of the 2021 Banjo Prize for Fiction. Callum Haffenden swore he’d never return to… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Whispering by Veronica Lando

2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · romance

New Release Book Review: A Town Like Clarence by Stella Quinn

Title: A Town Like Clarence Author: Stella Quinn Published: July 6th 2022 Publisher: HQ Fiction – AU Pages: 448 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Romance RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars When Kirsty Fox goes on the run to escape a crash-and-burn at work, she finds a family she didn’t know she needed… A witty and warm rural romance perfect for readers of Rachael Johns and… Continue reading New Release Book Review: A Town Like Clarence by Stella Quinn

2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery

New Release Book Review: The Woman in the Library by Sulari Gentill

Title: The Woman in the Library Author: Sulari Gentill Published: June 1st 2022 Publisher: Ultimo Press Pages: 288 Genres: Fiction, Crime, Mystery RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars Hannah Tigone, bestselling Australian crime author, is crafting a new novel that begins in the Boston Public Library: four strangers; Winifred, Cain, Marigold and Whit are sitting at the same table when a bloodcurdling scream breaks the… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Woman in the Library by Sulari Gentill

2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Bay by Allie Reynolds

Title: The Bay Author: Allie Reynolds Published: June 15th 2022 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 416 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Thriller, Suspense RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars The Beach meets Point Break in the exhilarating new thriller, with a heart-stopping twist, by the bestselling author of Shiver There’s a darkness inside all of us and The Bay has a way of bringing it out. Everyone here has their… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Bay by Allie Reynolds

2022 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · war

New Release Book Review: The Secret World of Connie Starr By Robbi Neal

Title: The Secret World of Connie Starr Author: Robbi Neal Published: June 1st 2022 Publisher: HQ Fiction – AU Pages: 464 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars A stunning evocation of Australian life through the war to the 1950s, this novel is intimate and sweeping, immediate and dreamlike – a magical rendering of darkness and joy, and the beauty inherent… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Secret World of Connie Starr By Robbi Neal

2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · rural fiction · suspense

New Release Book Review: Rising Dust by Fleur McDonald

Title: Rising Dust Author:  Fleur McDonald Published: March 29th 2022 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 376 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Rural, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars Detective Dave Burrows returns in another breathtaking tale of rural suspense. After the family’s devastating tragedy, Detective Dave Burrows is crystal clear that his wife, Mel, is no longer interested in their marriage. Before Dave… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Rising Dust by Fleur McDonald

2022 Reviews · new release · romance · rural fiction

New Release Book Review: The Malle Girl by Jennifer Scoullar

Title: The Mallee Girl Author: Jennifer Scoullar Published: April 12th 2022 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 320 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Romance RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars A heart-warming new rural romance set in the Victorian High Country by the bestselling author of Brumby’s Run. Armed with nothing but some loose change and her beloved dog Duke, Mallee girl Pippa Black has finally found the courage… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Malle Girl by Jennifer Scoullar

2022 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War I

New Release Book Review: The Nurses’ War By Victoria Purman

Title: The Nurses’ War Author: Victoria Purman Published: March 30th 2022 Publisher: HQ Fiction – AU Pages: 608 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars There is more than one way to fight a war…An extraordinary story of grit, love and loss, based on the true history and real experiences of Australian nurses in World War 1. ‘Heart-achingly raw yet… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Nurses’ War By Victoria Purman

2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Mother by Jane Caro

Title: The Mother Author:  Jane Caro Published: March 1st 2022 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 368 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4.5 stars From the Walkley Award winning journalist, social commentator and author comes a gripping domestic thriller with a moral dilemma at its core. ‘A timely, tense and important story that takes you to the heart of a toxic relationship,… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Mother by Jane Caro