2017 Reviews · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa

Title: The German Girl Author: Armando Lucas Correa Published: December 1st 2016 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia Pages: 368 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars A stunningly ambitious and beautiful debut novel, perfect for fans of Sarah’s Key and All the Light We Cannot See, the story of a twelve-year-old girl’s harrowing experience fleeing Nazi-occupied Germany with her… Continue reading Book Review: The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa

2017 Reviews · Britain · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The Safest Place in London by Maggie Joel

Title: The Safest Place in London Author: Maggie Joel Published: September 1st 2016 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 352 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars On a frozen January evening in 1944, Nancy Levin, and her three-year-old daughter, Emily, flee their impoverished East London home as an air raid siren sounds. Not far away, 39- year-old Diana Meadows… Continue reading Book Review: The Safest Place in London by Maggie Joel

2017 Reviews · France · historical fiction · mystery · World War II

Book Review: Paris Time Capsule by Ella Carey

Title: Paris Time Capsule Author: Ella Carey Published: August 22 2016 Publisher: Harlequin Books Australia Pages: 288 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, Cultural – France, Mystery RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars New York–based photographer Cat Jordan is ready to begin a new life with her successful, button-down boyfriend. But when she learns that she’s inherited the estate of a… Continue reading Book Review: Paris Time Capsule by Ella Carey

2017 Reviews · historical fiction · retelling · romance · war · World War II

Book Review: The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth

Title: The Beast’s Garden Author: Kate Forsyth Published: August 3rd 2015 Publisher: Vintage Australia Pages: 512 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War, Romance, Retelling RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars A retelling of The Beauty and The Beast set in Nazi Germany The Grimm Brothers published a beautiful version of the Beauty & the Beast tale called ‘The Singing, Springing Lark’ in 1819. It combines… Continue reading Book Review: The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth

2017 Reviews · Australian · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The Toymaker by Liam Pieper

Title: The Toymaker Author: Liam Pieper Published: June 27th 2016 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 272 Genres: Fiction, War, Historical, Australian RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars A person is defined by the secrets they keep . . . Adam Kulakov likes his life. He’s on the right side of middle age; the toy company he owns brightens the lives of children around… Continue reading Book Review: The Toymaker by Liam Pieper