#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: Sisters of the Resistance by Christine Wells

Title: Sisters of the Resistance Author: Christine Wells Published: July 7th 2021 Publisher: HarperCollins – US Pages: 416 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars Two sisters join the Paris Resistance in this page-turning new novel inspired by the real-life bravery of Catherine Dior, sister of the fashion designer and a heroine of World War II France—perfect for fans of Kate Quinn… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Sisters of the Resistance by Christine Wells

2021 Reviews · biography · new release · non-fiction · true stories · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Keeper of Miracles by Phillip Maisel

Title: The Keeper of Miracles Author: Phillip Maisel Published: July 27th 2021 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 224 Genres:  Second World War, Humanities, The HolocaustBiography & True Stories, Autobiography: historical, political & military RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars The memoir of a Holocaust survivor keeping alive the stories of his generation. For more than 30 years, Phillip Maisel has worked selflessly to record the harrowing… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Keeper of Miracles by Phillip Maisel

2021 Reviews · Better Reading Preview · historical fiction · World War II

Better Reading Preview: Daughters of War by Dinah Jefferies

Title: Daughters of War Author: Dinah Jefferies Published: September 1st 2021 Publisher: Harper Collins Pages: 544 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $24.99 Rating: 4 stars The first book in the sweeping new historical series from the No.1 Sunday Times bestselling author. France, 1944. Deep in the river valley of the Dordogne, in an old stone cottage on the edge of a beautiful village, three… Continue reading Better Reading Preview: Daughters of War by Dinah Jefferies

2021 Reviews · historical fiction · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Clockmaker’s Wife by Daisy Wood

Title: The Clockmaker’s Wife Author: Daisy Wood Published: June 2nd 2021 Publisher: Avon GB – HarperCollins Books Australia Pages: 400 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars The world is at war. And time is running out… London, 1940. Britain is gripped by the terror of the Blitz, forcing Nell Spelman to flee the capital with her young daughter – leaving behind her husband, Arthur, the… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Clockmaker’s Wife by Daisy Wood

2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Woman with the Blue Star by Pam Jenoff

Title: The Woman with the Blue Star Author: Pam Jenoff Published: May 5th 2021 Publisher: HQ Fiction – US Pages: 304 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars From the New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris comes a riveting tale of unfathomable sacrifice and unlikely friendship during World War II. 1942. Sadie Gault is eighteen and living with her parents amid the… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Woman with the Blue Star by Pam Jenoff

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: Secrets My Father Kept by Rachel Givney

Title: Secrets My Father Kept Author: Rachel Givney Published: June 1st 2021 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 432 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars Set in Poland on the eve of the Second World War, Secrets My Father Kept is the gripping story of a young woman determined to uncover the truth behind her mother’s disappearance and the dark secret from her father’s… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Secrets My Father Kept by Rachel Givney

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: Small Acts of Defiance by Michelle Wright

Title: Small Acts of Defiance Author: Michelle Wright Published: June 1st 2021 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 352 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars May, 1940: After a bitter tragedy, young Australian woman Lucie and her French mother Yvonne are forced to leave home and seek help from the only family they have left-Lucie’s uncle, Gerard. As the Second World War engulfs… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Small Acts of Defiance by Michelle Wright

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Warsaw Orphan by Kelly Rimmer

Title: The Warsaw Orphan Author: Kelly Rimmer Published: April 31st 2021 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 416 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars Inspired by the real-life heroine who smuggled thousands of Jewish children to safety during WWII, the powerful new novel by the New York Times bestselling author In the spring of 1942, young Elzbieta Rabinek is aware of the swiftly growing discord just beyond… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Warsaw Orphan by Kelly Rimmer

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Last Reunion by Kayte Nunn

Title: The Last Reunion Author: Kayte Nunn Published: March 31st 2021 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 384 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4.5 stars Five women come together at a New Year’s Eve party after decades apart, in this thrilling story of desire, revenge and courage, based on a brave group of Australian and British WWII servicewomen Burma, 1945. Bea, Plum, Bubbles, Joy and… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Last Reunion by Kayte Nunn

2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Paris Collaborator by A.W. Hammond

Title: The Paris Collaborator Author: A.W. Hammond Published: May 4th 2021 Publisher: Echo Publishing Pages: 320 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars He’ll do anything to save her … even work for the enemy. August, 1944. In German-occupied Paris, former schoolteacher Auguste Duchene has stumbled upon an unusual way to survive: he finds missing people. When he’s approached by the French Resistance… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Paris Collaborator by A.W. Hammond