2022 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: The German Wife by Kelly Rimmer

Title: The German Wife Author: Kelly Rimmer Published: April 27th 2022 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 464 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4.5 stars Inspired by real events, the New York Times bestselling author of The Warsaw Orphan returns with an unputdownable novel of a community torn apart when a former Nazi family moves into town to work on NASA’s space program Berlin, 1934. Sofie Rhodes is the… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The German Wife by Kelly Rimmer

Advertisement

2022 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Little Wartime Library by Kate Thompson

Title: The Little Wartime Library Author: Kate Thompson Published: February 22nd 2022 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 496 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4.5 stars A gripping and heart-wrenching novel set in London in World War Two, following the two women who run a secret underground library London, 1944. Clara Button is no ordinary librarian. While the world remains at war, in East… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Little Wartime Library by Kate Thompson

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · dual time frame · France · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Riviera House by Natasha Lester

Title: The Riviera House Author: Natasha Lester Published: September 1st 2021 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 464 Genres: Fiction, Historical/Contemporary RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars From the New York Times bestselling author comes this extraordinary masterpiece of historical fiction that will have you wiping tears from your face. Paris, 1939When Nazis occupy the city, Eliane Dufort is heartbroken – her lover flees for England and her family to… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Riviera House by Natasha Lester

2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

Title: The Paris Library Author: Janet Skeslien Charles Published: February 9th 2021 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 336 Genres: Fiction, Historical, World War II RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3 stars The instant New York Times bestseller, inspired by the true story of the librarians at the American Library in Paris who risked their lives during the Nazis’ war on words: a story of courage, defiance and betrayal… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: Sisters of the Resistance by Christine Wells

Title: Sisters of the Resistance Author: Christine Wells Published: July 7th 2021 Publisher: HarperCollins – US Pages: 416 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars Two sisters join the Paris Resistance in this page-turning new novel inspired by the real-life bravery of Catherine Dior, sister of the fashion designer and a heroine of World War II France—perfect for fans of Kate Quinn… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Sisters of the Resistance by Christine Wells

2021 Reviews · biography · new release · non-fiction · true stories · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Keeper of Miracles by Phillip Maisel

Title: The Keeper of Miracles Author: Phillip Maisel Published: July 27th 2021 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 224 Genres:  Second World War, Humanities, The HolocaustBiography & True Stories, Autobiography: historical, political & military RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars The memoir of a Holocaust survivor keeping alive the stories of his generation. For more than 30 years, Phillip Maisel has worked selflessly to record the harrowing… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Keeper of Miracles by Phillip Maisel

2021 Reviews · Better Reading Preview · historical fiction · World War II

Better Reading Preview: Daughters of War by Dinah Jefferies

Title: Daughters of War Author: Dinah Jefferies Published: September 1st 2021 Publisher: Harper Collins Pages: 544 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $24.99 Rating: 4 stars The first book in the sweeping new historical series from the No.1 Sunday Times bestselling author. France, 1944. Deep in the river valley of the Dordogne, in an old stone cottage on the edge of a beautiful village, three… Continue reading Better Reading Preview: Daughters of War by Dinah Jefferies

2021 Reviews · historical fiction · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Clockmaker’s Wife by Daisy Wood

Title: The Clockmaker’s Wife Author: Daisy Wood Published: June 2nd 2021 Publisher: Avon GB – HarperCollins Books Australia Pages: 400 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars The world is at war. And time is running out… London, 1940. Britain is gripped by the terror of the Blitz, forcing Nell Spelman to flee the capital with her young daughter – leaving behind her husband, Arthur, the… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Clockmaker’s Wife by Daisy Wood

2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Woman with the Blue Star by Pam Jenoff

Title: The Woman with the Blue Star Author: Pam Jenoff Published: May 5th 2021 Publisher: HQ Fiction – US Pages: 304 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars From the New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris comes a riveting tale of unfathomable sacrifice and unlikely friendship during World War II. 1942. Sadie Gault is eighteen and living with her parents amid the… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Woman with the Blue Star by Pam Jenoff

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: Secrets My Father Kept by Rachel Givney

Title: Secrets My Father Kept Author: Rachel Givney Published: June 1st 2021 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 432 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars Set in Poland on the eve of the Second World War, Secrets My Father Kept is the gripping story of a young woman determined to uncover the truth behind her mother’s disappearance and the dark secret from her father’s… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Secrets My Father Kept by Rachel Givney