2017 Reviews · dual time frame · historical fiction · Scotland · World War II

Release Day Book Review: The Good Sister by Maggie Christensen

Title: The Good Sister Author:  Maggie Christensen Published: November 23rd 2017 Publisher: Cala Publishing Pages: 264 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP:  Rating: 4.5 stars Two Isobels. A lifetime of regret. A love that spans the years In 1938, as the world hurtled towards war, twenty-year-old Isobel MacDonald fell madly in love. But fate and her own actions conspired to deny her the… Continue reading Release Day Book Review: The Good Sister by Maggie Christensen

2017 Reviews · blog tour · Britain · crime · historical fiction · mystery · war · World War II

Blog Tour: Winter Downs by Jan Edwards

Good Morning! It is my pleasure to welcome you to my stop on the Winter Downs blog tour, which kicked off Friday June 2nd and followed an exciting launch party yesterday. A little more about the book… In January of 1940 a small rural community on the Sussex Downs, already preparing for invasion from across… Continue reading Blog Tour: Winter Downs by Jan Edwards

2017 Reviews · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa

Title: The German Girl Author: Armando Lucas Correa Published: December 1st 2016 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia Pages: 368 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars A stunningly ambitious and beautiful debut novel, perfect for fans of Sarah’s Key and All the Light We Cannot See, the story of a twelve-year-old girl’s harrowing experience fleeing Nazi-occupied Germany with her… Continue reading Book Review: The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa

2017 Reviews · Britain · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The Safest Place in London by Maggie Joel

Title: The Safest Place in London Author: Maggie Joel Published: September 1st 2016 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 352 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars On a frozen January evening in 1944, Nancy Levin, and her three-year-old daughter, Emily, flee their impoverished East London home as an air raid siren sounds. Not far away, 39- year-old Diana Meadows… Continue reading Book Review: The Safest Place in London by Maggie Joel

2017 Reviews · France · historical fiction · mystery · World War II

Book Review: Paris Time Capsule by Ella Carey

Title: Paris Time Capsule Author: Ella Carey Published: August 22 2016 Publisher: Harlequin Books Australia Pages: 288 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, Cultural – France, Mystery RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars New York–based photographer Cat Jordan is ready to begin a new life with her successful, button-down boyfriend. But when she learns that she’s inherited the estate of a… Continue reading Book Review: Paris Time Capsule by Ella Carey

2017 Reviews · historical fiction · retelling · romance · war · World War II

Book Review: The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth

Title: The Beast’s Garden Author: Kate Forsyth Published: August 3rd 2015 Publisher: Vintage Australia Pages: 512 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War, Romance, Retelling RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars A retelling of The Beauty and The Beast set in Nazi Germany The Grimm Brothers published a beautiful version of the Beauty & the Beast tale called ‘The Singing, Springing Lark’ in 1819. It combines… Continue reading Book Review: The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth

2017 Reviews · Australian · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The Toymaker by Liam Pieper

Title: The Toymaker Author: Liam Pieper Published: June 27th 2016 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 272 Genres: Fiction, War, Historical, Australian RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars A person is defined by the secrets they keep . . . Adam Kulakov likes his life. He’s on the right side of middle age; the toy company he owns brightens the lives of children around… Continue reading Book Review: The Toymaker by Liam Pieper