#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · cover reveal · dual time frame · historical fiction · new release · romance

New Release Book Review: The Buchanan Girls by Emily Madden

Title: The Buchanan Girls Author: Emily Madden Published: September 1st 2021 Publisher: Mira – AU Pages: 448 Genres:  Fiction, Historical, Romance RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars A sweeping family saga about betrayal, forgiveness and the cost of love. Sydney, 1941: Olive and Ivy may be identical twins, but they couldn’t be more different. While Olive is focused on marrying a man appropriate to… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Buchanan Girls by Emily Madden

2021 Reviews · historical fiction

Book Review: Bereft by Chris Womersley

Title: Bereft Author: Chris Womersley Published: March 8th 2011 Publisher: Scribe Pages: 272 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $24.99 Rating: 4 stars It is 1919. The Great War has ended, but the Spanish flu epidemic is raging across Australia. Schools are closed, state borders are guarded by armed men, and train travel is severely restricted. There are rumours it is the end of the… Continue reading Book Review: Bereft by Chris Womersley

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: Sisters of the Resistance by Christine Wells

Title: Sisters of the Resistance Author: Christine Wells Published: July 7th 2021 Publisher: HarperCollins – US Pages: 416 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars Two sisters join the Paris Resistance in this page-turning new novel inspired by the real-life bravery of Catherine Dior, sister of the fashion designer and a heroine of World War II France—perfect for fans of Kate Quinn… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Sisters of the Resistance by Christine Wells

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · historical fiction · World War I

Book Review: Ice Letters by Susan Errington

Title: Ice Letters Author: Susan Errington Published: May 2nd 2016 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 320 Genres: Fiction, Historical, War RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3.5 stars A First World War novel of love, peace, violence and Antarctica Adelaide, 1916, and Dora Somerville grieves for her brother, Edgar, killed in France. In the course of an oppressively hot summer, she decides to abandon her pacifist… Continue reading Book Review: Ice Letters by Susan Errington

2021 Reviews · Better Reading Preview · historical fiction · World War II

Better Reading Preview: Daughters of War by Dinah Jefferies

Title: Daughters of War Author: Dinah Jefferies Published: September 1st 2021 Publisher: Harper Collins Pages: 544 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $24.99 Rating: 4 stars The first book in the sweeping new historical series from the No.1 Sunday Times bestselling author. France, 1944. Deep in the river valley of the Dordogne, in an old stone cottage on the edge of a beautiful village, three… Continue reading Better Reading Preview: Daughters of War by Dinah Jefferies

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · Book Stack · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Last of the Apple Blossom by Mary-Lou Stephens

Title: The Last of the Apple Blossom Author: Mary-Lou Stephens Published: July 27th 2021 Publisher: HQ Fiction – AU Pages: 464 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4.5 stars The fire took everything – except two women’s fighting spirits. A sweeping, big-hearted Australian family saga for readers of Judy Nunn and Victoria Purman. 7 February, 1967. Walls of flame reduce much of Tasmania… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Last of the Apple Blossom by Mary-Lou Stephens

2021 Reviews · historical fiction · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Clockmaker’s Wife by Daisy Wood

Title: The Clockmaker’s Wife Author: Daisy Wood Published: June 2nd 2021 Publisher: Avon GB – HarperCollins Books Australia Pages: 400 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars The world is at war. And time is running out… London, 1940. Britain is gripped by the terror of the Blitz, forcing Nell Spelman to flee the capital with her young daughter – leaving behind her husband, Arthur, the… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Clockmaker’s Wife by Daisy Wood

2021 Reviews · historical fiction · new release · World War II

New Release Book Review: The Woman with the Blue Star by Pam Jenoff

Title: The Woman with the Blue Star Author: Pam Jenoff Published: May 5th 2021 Publisher: HQ Fiction – US Pages: 304 Genres:  Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars From the New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris comes a riveting tale of unfathomable sacrifice and unlikely friendship during World War II. 1942. Sadie Gault is eighteen and living with her parents amid the… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Woman with the Blue Star by Pam Jenoff

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · dual time frame · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Women’s Circle by Karyn Sepulveda

Title: The Women’s Circle Author: Karyn Sepulveda Published: July 7th 2021 Publisher: Ventura Press Pages: 304 Genres: Fiction RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars Sydney, present day. Anna is released into the world after six years in prison. The entirety of her possessions stuffed into a single plastic bag. The trauma of her past, a much heavier burden to carry. Feeling hopeless, isolated and deeply… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Women’s Circle by Karyn Sepulveda

#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · dual time frame · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The French Gift by Kirsty Manning

Title: The French Gift Author: Kirsty Manning Published: March 30th 2021 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 328 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars A forgotten manuscript threatens to unravel the past … Fresnes Prison, 1940: Margot Bisset, a former maid from the Riviera, finds herself in a prison cell with writer and French Resistance fighter, Josephine Murant. Together, they are transferred… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The French Gift by Kirsty Manning