#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · contemporary fiction · gothic · new release

New Release Book Review: Sargasso by Kathy George

Title: Sargasso Author: Kathy George Published: February 3rd 2021 Publisher: HQ Fiction – AU Pages: 400 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Gothic RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars An empty house, a lonely shore, an enigmatic, brooding man-child waiting for her return … a trip to the dark lands of Australian Gothic, for readers of Kate Morton and Hannah Richell. Last night I dreamt I… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Sargasso by Kathy George

2020 Reviews · gothic · historical fiction · new release

New Release Book Review: The Animals at Lockwood Manor by Jane Healey

Title: The Animals at Lockwood Manor Author: Jane Healey Published: March 10th 2020 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 336 Genres:  Fiction, Historical Rating: 4 stars RRP: $29.99 Some secrets are unspoken. Others are unspeakable . . . August 1939. Thirty-year-old Hetty Cartwright is tasked with the evacuation and safekeeping of the natural history museum’s collection of mammals. Once she and her exhibits… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Animals at Lockwood Manor by Jane Healey

#aww2019 · 2019 Reviews · contemporary fiction · gothic · new release

New Release Book Review: The House of Brides by Jane Cockram

Title: The House of Brides Author: Jane Cockram Published: October 21st 2019 Publisher: Mira – AU Pages: 384 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3.5 stars Miranda has had a rough few years. Her successful career as a social media influencer has come crashing down after the controversial flop of her fertility app. Humiliated, she moves reluctantly back home to her judgemental… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The House of Brides by Jane Cockram

#aww2018 · 2018 Reviews · Britain · contemporary fiction · crime · dual time frame · gothic · historical fiction · mystery · new release

New Release Book Review: The Clockmaker’s Daughter by Kate Morton

Title: The Clockmaker’s Daughter Author: Kate Morton Published: September 12th 2018 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 592 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary/Historical, Mystery RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars In the summer of 1862, a group of young artists led by the passionate and talented Edward Radcliffe descends upon Birchwood Manor on the banks of the Upper Thames. Their plan: to spend a secluded summer month in a… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Clockmaker’s Daughter by Kate Morton

#aww2018 · 2018 Reviews · contemporary fiction · gothic · mystery · new release · suspense

New Release Book Review: The Legacy of Beauregarde by Rosa Fedele

Title: The Legacy of Beauregarde Author: Rosa Fedele Published: July 10th 2018 Publisher: MoshPit Publishing Pages: 424 Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Noir, Suspense RRP: $39.99 Rating: 3.5 stars The Beauregarde women have lived in the shadow of The Seminary for four generations. And there is nothing conventional about Marcela, or her family. When the decadent and obsessive Gordana acquires the iconic Sydney property and invites a… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Legacy of Beauregarde by Rosa Fedele

2016 Reviews · contemporary fiction · France · gothic · mystery

Book Review: Le Chateau by Sarah Ridout

  Book blurb: What really happened at the chateau? When Charlotte regains consciousness after an accident, she finds herself living a stranger’s life. The previous five years are a blank, and her husband, Henri, and daughter, Ada, are strangers. Arriving at their family chateau in southern France, she hopes to regain her memories. Instead she… Continue reading Book Review: Le Chateau by Sarah Ridout