2017 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · thriller

Book Review: I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh

Title: I Let You Go Author:  Clare Mackintosh Published: May 12th 2015 Publisher: Little Brown Group via Hachette Australia Pages: 384 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Thriller, Mystery, Crime RRP: $19.99 Rating: 5 stars In a split second, Jenna Gray’s world descends into a nightmare. Her only hope of moving on is to walk away from everything she knows to start afresh. Desperate… Continue reading Book Review: I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh

2017 Reviews · blog tour · Britain · crime · historical fiction · mystery · war · World War II

Blog Tour: Winter Downs by Jan Edwards

Good Morning! It is my pleasure to welcome you to my stop on the Winter Downs blog tour, which kicked off Friday June 2nd and followed an exciting launch party yesterday. A little more about the book… In January of 1940 a small rural community on the Sussex Downs, already preparing for invasion from across… Continue reading Blog Tour: Winter Downs by Jan Edwards

2017 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · supernatural

Book Review: Where She Went by B.E. Jones

Title: Where She Went Author: B.E. Jones Published: February 28th 2017 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 304 Genres:  Fiction, Crime, Mystery RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars TV journalist Melanie Black wakes up one morning next to a man she doesn’t recognise. It’s not the first time – but he ignores her even though she’s in his bed. Yet when his wife… Continue reading Book Review: Where She Went by B.E. Jones

2017 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · psychological · thriller

Book Review: Baby Doll by Hollie Overton

Title: Baby Doll Author: Hollie Overton Published: February 27th 2017 Publisher: Arrow Pages: Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Thriller, Crime RRP: $19.99 Rating: 5 stars Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt… Continue reading Book Review: Baby Doll by Hollie Overton

2016 Reviews · crime · mystery

Book Review: Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

Title: Magpie Murders  Author: Anthony Horowitz Published: October 11th 2016 Publisher: Orion Publishing Co Pages: 464 Genres: Fiction, Crime, Mystery RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3.5 stars From the New York Times bestselling author of Moriarty and Trigger Mortis, this fiendishly brilliant, riveting thriller weaves a classic whodunit worthy of Agatha Christie into a chilling, ingeniously original modern-day mystery. When editor Susan Ryeland is… Continue reading Book Review: Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

2017 Reviews · Australian · crime

Book Review: Old Scores by David Whish-Wilson

Title: Old Scores (Frank Swann #3) Author: David Whish-Wilson Published: October 31st 2016 Publisher: Fremantle Press Pages: 236 Genres: Fiction, Crime RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3. 5 stars It’s the early 1980s: the heady days of excess, dirty secrets and personal favours. Former detective Frank Swann is still in disgrace, working as a low-rent PI. But when he’s offered a security job by… Continue reading Book Review: Old Scores by David Whish-Wilson

2017 Reviews · Britain · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · psychological · suspense · thriller

Book Review: Try Not To Breathe by Holly Seddon

Title: Try Not to Breathe Author: Holly Seddon Published: January 1st 2016 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 384 Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Crime RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars For fans of Lianne Moriarty, Paula Hawkins, and Tana French, an arresting debut novel of psychological suspense: a young journalist struggles to keep the demons of her alcoholism at bay as she… Continue reading Book Review: Try Not To Breathe by Holly Seddon