2017 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · supernatural

Book Review: Where She Went by B.E. Jones

Title: Where She Went Author: B.E. Jones Published: February 28th 2017 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 304 Genres:  Fiction, Crime, Mystery RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars TV journalist Melanie Black wakes up one morning next to a man she doesn’t recognise. It’s not the first time – but he ignores her even though she’s in his bed. Yet when his wife… Continue reading Book Review: Where She Went by B.E. Jones

2017 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · psychological · thriller

Book Review: Baby Doll by Hollie Overton

Title: Baby Doll Author: Hollie Overton Published: February 27th 2017 Publisher: Arrow Pages: Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Thriller, Crime RRP: $19.99 Rating: 5 stars Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt… Continue reading Book Review: Baby Doll by Hollie Overton

2016 Reviews · crime · mystery

Book Review: Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

Title: Magpie Murders  Author: Anthony Horowitz Published: October 11th 2016 Publisher: Orion Publishing Co Pages: 464 Genres: Fiction, Crime, Mystery RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3.5 stars From the New York Times bestselling author of Moriarty and Trigger Mortis, this fiendishly brilliant, riveting thriller weaves a classic whodunit worthy of Agatha Christie into a chilling, ingeniously original modern-day mystery. When editor Susan Ryeland is… Continue reading Book Review: Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz

2017 Reviews · Australian · crime

Book Review: Old Scores by David Whish-Wilson

Title: Old Scores (Frank Swann #3) Author: David Whish-Wilson Published: October 31st 2016 Publisher: Fremantle Press Pages: 236 Genres: Fiction, Crime RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3. 5 stars It’s the early 1980s: the heady days of excess, dirty secrets and personal favours. Former detective Frank Swann is still in disgrace, working as a low-rent PI. But when he’s offered a security job by… Continue reading Book Review: Old Scores by David Whish-Wilson

2017 Reviews · Britain · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · psychological · suspense · thriller

Book Review: Try Not To Breathe by Holly Seddon

Title: Try Not to Breathe Author: Holly Seddon Published: January 1st 2016 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 384 Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Crime RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars For fans of Lianne Moriarty, Paula Hawkins, and Tana French, an arresting debut novel of psychological suspense: a young journalist struggles to keep the demons of her alcoholism at bay as she… Continue reading Book Review: Try Not To Breathe by Holly Seddon

2017 Reviews · Bookstr · contemporary fiction · crime · suspense · thriller · United States

Book Review: The River at Night by Erica Ferencik

Title: The River at Night Author: Erica Ferencik Published: January 3rd 2017 Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing Plc Pages: 304 Genres: Fiction, Crime, Thriller RRP: $24.99 Rating: 4 stars A high stakes drama set against the harsh beauty of the Maine wilderness, charting the journey of four friends as they fight to survive the aftermath of a white water rafting accident, The River at Night… Continue reading Book Review: The River at Night by Erica Ferencik

2017 Reviews · Britain · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · psychological

Book Review: The Silence Between Breaths by Cath Staincliffe

Title: The Silence Between Breaths Author: Cath Staincliffe Published: September 27th 2016 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 272 Genres: Fiction, Crime, Mystery RRP: $22.99 Rating: 3.5 stars Eight people, one deadly secret. Passengers boarding the 10:35 train from Manchester, Piccadilly to London, Euston are bound for work, assignations, reunions, holidays or new starts, with no idea that their journey is about to be brutally… Continue reading Book Review: The Silence Between Breaths by Cath Staincliffe