2019 Reviews · Britain · crime · Guest Review · mystery · new release · suspense · thriller

Guest Book Review: Dead at First Sight by Peter James

Title: Dead at First Sight Author: Peter James Published: May 14th 2019 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 400 Genres:  Fiction, Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars A man waits at a London airport for Ingrid Ostermann, the love of his life, to arrive. Across the Atlantic, a retired NYPD cop waits in a bar in Florida’s Key West for his first date… Continue reading Guest Book Review: Dead at First Sight by Peter James

2019 Reviews · Britain · contemporary fiction · dual time frame · Giveaway · historical fiction · new adult · romance

New Release Book Review & GIVEAWAY: The Butterfly Room by Lucinda Riley

Title: The Butterfly Room Author: Lucinda Riley Published: April 23rd 2019 Publisher: Pan Macmillan Pages: 624 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary/Historical, Romance RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars Posy Montague is approaching her seventieth birthday. Still living in her beautiful family home, Admiral House, set in the glorious Suffolk countryside where she spent her own idyllic childhood catching butterflies with her beloved father, and raised her own… Continue reading New Release Book Review & GIVEAWAY: The Butterfly Room by Lucinda Riley

2019 Reviews · Britain · historical fiction

Book Review: One Enchanted Evening by Anton Du Beke

Title: One Enchanted Evening Author: Anton Du Beke Published: November 28th 2018 Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre – Allen & Unwin Pages: 464 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3.5 stars Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, Mr Selfridge, The Halcyonand Belgravia. The master entertainer brings us his fabulous debut novel. Prepare to be swept off your feet… Inside the spectacular ballroom of the exclusive Buckingham Hotel… Continue reading Book Review: One Enchanted Evening by Anton Du Beke

2019 Reviews · Britain · Guest Review · historical fiction · Mrs R Review · Throwback Thursday

Guest Throwback Thursday Book Review: Three Sisters, Three Queens by Philippa Gregory

Welcome to a weekly post, Throwback Thursday. This weekly book review post is a way to share some old favourites, books that were published over a year ago and most importantly those books that have been languishing on the to be read pile for far too long! “There is only one bond that I trust:… Continue reading Guest Throwback Thursday Book Review: Three Sisters, Three Queens by Philippa Gregory

2018 Reviews · Britain · chick lit · contemporary fiction · new release · romance

New Release Book Review: One Day in December by Josie Silver

Title: One Day in December Author: Josie Silver Published: October 29th 2018 Publisher: Viking – Penguin Books Australia Pages: 416 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Romance RRP: $19.99 Rating: 4 stars Laurie is pretty sure love at first sight doesn’t exist. After all, life isn’t a scene from the movies, is it? But then, through a misted-up bus window one snowy December day, she sees… Continue reading New Release Book Review: One Day in December by Josie Silver

2018 Reviews · Britain · chick lit · contemporary fiction · Guest Review · Mrs R Review · romance

Guest Book Review: Christmas Cakes and Mistletoe Nights by Carole Matthews

Title: Christmas Cakes and Mistletoe Nights Author: Carole Matthews Published: October 9th 2018 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 400 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Seasonal, Romance RRP: $19.99 Rating: 3 stars Fay and Danny are madly in love and it’s all Fay’s ever dreamed of. But she left everything – including the delightful cake shop she used to run – to be with Danny on his cosy canal… Continue reading Guest Book Review: Christmas Cakes and Mistletoe Nights by Carole Matthews

2018 Reviews · Britain · contemporary fiction · mystery · new release

New Release Book Review: The Au Pair by Emma Rous

Title: The Au Pair Author: Emma Rous Published: December 11th 2018 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 410 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars A tautly plotted mystery of dark family secrets, perfect for fans of Kate Morton. Seraphine Mayes and her brother Danny are known as the summer-born Summerbournes: the first set of summer twins to be born at Summerbourne House. But on… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Au Pair by Emma Rous