2019 Reviews · historical fiction · World War I

Book Review: The Poppy Wife by Caroline Scott

Title: The Poppy Wife Author: Caroline Scott Published: November 1st 2019 Publisher: Simon & Schuster UK Pages: 512 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars Until she knows her husband’s fate, she cannot decide her own… An epic debut novel of forbidden love, loss, and the shattered hearts left behind in the wake of World War I 1921. Families are desperately… Continue reading Book Review: The Poppy Wife by Caroline Scott

2019 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · thriller

Book Review: Pretty Guilty Women by Gina Lamanna

Title: Pretty Guilty Women Author: Gina LaManna Published: September 24th 2019 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 304 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3 stars Why would four women confess to the same murder? Only they know the answer – and they’re not telling. A sharp, twisty and utterly addictive thriller, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Liv Constantine. You… Continue reading Book Review: Pretty Guilty Women by Gina Lamanna

2019 Reviews · contemporary fiction

Book Review: A Beggar’s Kingdom by Paullina Simons

Title: A Beggar’s Kingdom Author: Paullina Simons Published: July 22nd 2019 Publisher: Harper Collins AU Pages: 656 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4 stars Review: A Beggar’s Kingdom is the second novel in a groundbreaking three part series, penned by Paullina Simons. It is the story of a love like no other, devotion, survival, pain and heartbreak. It covers… Continue reading Book Review: A Beggar’s Kingdom by Paullina Simons

2019 Reviews · historical fiction

Book Review: The Secrets We Kept by Lara Prescott

Title: The Secrets We Kept Author: Lara Prescott Published: September 3rd 2019 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 480 Genres: Fiction, Historical RRP: $32.99 Rating: 4.5 stars 1956. A celebrated Russian author is writing a book, Doctor Zhivago, which could spark dissent in the Soviet Union. The Soviets, afraid of its subversive power, ban it. But in the rest of the world it’s… Continue reading Book Review: The Secrets We Kept by Lara Prescott

2019 Reviews · Australian · Book club · contemporary fiction · humour

Book Club Book Review: Being Black ‘n Chicken, and Chips by Matt Okine

Title: Being Black ‘n Chicken, and Chips Author: Matt Okine Published: September 24th 2019 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 288 Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Humour RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3 stars Mike Amon is a regular teenager. All he wants is to fit in. He wants to sit at the cool bench. He wants to be a star athlete. He wants his first kiss.… Continue reading Book Club Book Review: Being Black ‘n Chicken, and Chips by Matt Okine

2019 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Night Fire Michael Connelly

Title: The Night Fire Author: Michael Connelly Published: October 21st 2019 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 416 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Crime RRP: $32.99 Rating: 3 stars Harry Bosch and LAPD Detective Renée Ballard come together again on the murder case that obsessed Bosch’s mentor, the man who trained him – new from #1 New York Times bestselling author Michael Connelly. Back when Harry Bosch… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Night Fire Michael Connelly

2019 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · romance · women's fiction

New Release Book Review: A Wedding in December by Sarah Morgan

Title: A Wedding in December Author: Sarah Morgan Published: October 21st 2019 Publisher: Mira – AU Pages: 416 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Romance RRP: $19.99 Rating: 3 stars This funny, charming and heartwarming new Christmas novel is USA TODAY bestselling author Sarah Morgan at her festive best! In the snowy perfection of Aspen, the White family gathers for youngest daughter Rosie’s… Continue reading New Release Book Review: A Wedding in December by Sarah Morgan

2019 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Last Resort by Marissa Stapley

Title: The Last Resort Author: Marissa Stapley Published: December 3rd 2019 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 320 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Suspense, Thriller RRP: $29.99 Rating: 3.5 stars Harmony Resort promises hope for struggling marriages. Run by celebrity power couple Drs. Miles and Grace Markell, the ‘last resort’ offers a chance for partners to repair their relationships in a luxurious setting on… Continue reading New Release Book Review: The Last Resort by Marissa Stapley

#aww2019 · 2019 Reviews · Australian · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · new release · suspense

New Release Book Review: Starting From Now by Fleur McDonald

Title: Starting From Now Author: Fleur McDonald Published: November 5th 2019 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 352 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Suspense RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars When twenty-five-year-old journalist, Zara Ellison receives her mother’s ominous text message, Call me when you can, Zara knows it’s not good news. Two weeks later, Zara has left her much-loved city life to relocate to… Continue reading New Release Book Review: Starting From Now by Fleur McDonald