2017 Reviews · Australian · contemporary fiction · small town

Book Review: Blueberry by Glenna Thomson

Title: Blueberry Author: Glenna Thomson Published: January 3rd 2017 Publisher: Penguin Books Australia Pages: 320 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Australian RRP: $32.99 Rating: 5 stars Greer O’Reilly needs to start over. Her professional success belies private sadness and domestic overload. She’s torn between her career and motherhood. Her partner of twelve years has left her. And up ahead is her new home… Continue reading Book Review: Blueberry by Glenna Thomson

2017 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · psychological · thriller

Book Review: Baby Doll by Hollie Overton

Title: Baby Doll Author: Hollie Overton Published: February 27th 2017 Publisher: Arrow Pages: Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Thriller, Crime RRP: $19.99 Rating: 5 stars Held captive for eight years, Lily has grown from a teenager to an adult in a small basement prison. Her daughter Sky has been a captive her whole life. But one day their captor leaves the deadbolt… Continue reading Book Review: Baby Doll by Hollie Overton

2017 Reviews · Australian · contemporary fiction

Book Review: The Hypnotist’s Love Story by Liane Moriarty

Title: The Hypnotist’s Love Story Author: Liane Moriarty Published: October 1st 2011 Publisher: Pan MacMillan Australia Pages: 480 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Australian RRP: $14.99 Rating: 4.5 stars Ellen O’Farrell is a professional hypnotherapist who works out of the eccentric beachfront home she inherited from her grandparents. It’s a nice life, except for her tumultuous relationship history. She’s stoic about… Continue reading Book Review: The Hypnotist’s Love Story by Liane Moriarty

2017 Reviews · Australian · contemporary fiction · romance · rural ficition

Book Review: Country Roads by Nicole Hurley-Moore

Title: Country Roads Author: Nicole Hurley-Moore Published: January 25 2017 Publisher: Allen & Unwin Pages: 312 Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Rural Fiction, Australian, Romance RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars The compelling story of a grief-stricken man reeling from tragedy and a hard-working female farmer dealing with betrayal who may just find love and healing with each other. Rebecca Duprey is working day… Continue reading Book Review: Country Roads by Nicole Hurley-Moore

2017 Reviews · Australian · dual time frame · romance

Book Review: The Stationmaster’s Cottage by Phillipa Nefri Clark

Title: The Stationmaster’s Cottage Author: Phillipa Nefri Clark Published: February 14 2017 Publisher: Self published Pages: 338 Genres:  Fiction, Dual Time Frame, Romance RRP: Rating: 4 stars A place where love is eternal and time is no barrier — The Stationmaster’s Cottage Christie Ryan believes her extraordinary life has everything she could ever hope for. She travels the globe as a… Continue reading Book Review: The Stationmaster’s Cottage by Phillipa Nefri Clark

2017 Reviews · Beauty and Lace review · historical fiction · romance

Beauty & Lace Book Review: Her Mother’s Secret by Natasha Lester

Title: Her Mother’s Secret Author: Natasha Lester Published: March 28 2017 Publisher: Hachette Australia Pages: 368 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, Romance RRP: $29.99 Rating: 5 stars 1918, England. Armistice Day should bring peace into Leonora’s life. Rather than secretly making cosmetics in her father’s chemist shop to sell to army nurses such as Joan, her adventurous Australian friend, Leo hopes to now display… Continue reading Beauty & Lace Book Review: Her Mother’s Secret by Natasha Lester

2017 Reviews · historical fiction · war · World War II

Book Review: The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa

Title: The German Girl Author: Armando Lucas Correa Published: December 1st 2016 Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia Pages: 368 Genres:  Fiction,  Historical, War RRP: $29.99 Rating: 4 stars A stunningly ambitious and beautiful debut novel, perfect for fans of Sarah’s Key and All the Light We Cannot See, the story of a twelve-year-old girl’s harrowing experience fleeing Nazi-occupied Germany with her… Continue reading Book Review: The German Girl by Armando Lucas Correa