2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · modern romance

Book Review: Every Summer After by Carley Fortune

Title: Every Summer After

Author: Carley Fortune

Published: May 10th 2022

Publisher: Hachette Australia

Pages: 320

Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Romance

RRP: $22.99

Rating: 4 stars

A sweeping, unforgettably beautiful love story about one summer holiday and two people hoping for a second chance

Five summers to fall in love. One moment to fall apart. A weekend to get it right. A magazine writer has to make a choice when she returns to the lake she grew up on, and to the man she thought she’d never have to live without, in this achingly nostalgic debut.

They say you can never go home again, and for Persephone Fraser that has felt too true for the last decade, ever since she made the biggest mistake of her life. Instead of glittering summers on the lakeshore of her childhood, she spends them in a stylish apartment in the city, going out with friends, and keeping everyone a safe distance from her heart. Until the day she gets a call that sends her racing back to Barry’s Bay and into the orbit of Sam Florek.

For five summers, through hazy afternoons on the water and warm summer nights working in his family restaurant and curling up together with books-medical textbooks for him and work-in-progress horror short stories for her-Percy and Sam had been inseparable. And slowly that friendship turned into something breathtakingly more, before it fell spectacularly apart.

When Percy returns to the lake to attend Sam’s mother’s funeral, their connection is as undeniable as it had always been. Percy must confront the decisions she’s made and the years she’s spent punishing herself for them, in order to determine, once and for all, whether their love might be bigger than the biggest mistakes of their past.

Told over the course of five years and one weekend, Every Summer After is a big, sweeping look at love and the people and choices that mark us forever.


Canadian debut author Carley Fortune presents Every Summer After, a second chance romance and love mystery tale. An emotional story of the past, memories, yearning, friendship, all-encompassing love, mistakes, forgiveness and living life to max, Every Summer After is a moving modern romance story.

Told over a series of summer meetings at an unforgettable location called Barry’s Bay, Every Summer After is the first novel from Carley Fortune. At the centre of this love story is Persephone Fraser. We learn that a decade earlier Percy made a terrible error of judgment, which has haunted her for years after. This mistake is linked to an incident at the lakeshore location of Barry’s Bay, a place where Percy shared many memories with her childhood love Sam. Now these hurtful memories remain buried in the past, as Percy forges a new life as a city slicker, far away from Barry‘s Bay. When Sam’s mother passes away, it allows these two once inseparable souls to reconnect.  But the past weighs heavily on both Percy and Sam, forcing them to confront some harsh truths. Will this former couple find a way to reunite, or will they continue to lead separate lives?

Bookstagram is a powerful tool. I love that it sends some awesome recommendations my way. Every Summer After was a book that I picked up based on a glowing review post I stumbled across on my Instagram feed. I’m really pleased that I devoted some time to Carley’ Fortune’s book. It proved to be a fantastic non review book read!

Carley Fortune puts her own stamp on the second chance romance category with her debut novel. A story filled with heartbreak, longing, angst, regret, tough decisions, emotion, forgiveness and acceptance, Carley Fortune has penned an emotive tale.  The overarching theme of friendship prevails in this fresh release, reminding us of how important this form of connection is as we mature in adults. The relationships in Every Summer After are authentic and full of feeling. Fortune captures the core emotions surrounding grief, loss, longing, misunderstanding and frustration. The dialogue is driven and engaging, matching the innermost thoughts of all the characters in this novel. Fortune takes Every Summer After into a strong character driven direction and it was easy to fall into the lives of the cast of this book.

The sense of place is ever present in Every Summer After. My senses were ignited thanks to Fortune’s situational prose. I could picture the gentle waters of Barry’s Bay perfectly, which is down to the author’s generous descriptions of this immersive location. I almost felt like another visitor to the area as the descriptions of this location were so vivid. There was definitely a strong sense of the past and nostalgia attached to this setting, which Fortune captures well in her novel. However, the romance aspect is what prevails in Every Summer After, evolving from a simple childhood connection through to a teen love story and eventually a full-blown adult relationship. Fortune is a perceptive author who manages to capture to the raw feelings and movements of her leads in a believable way. My heart broke, repaired and ripped apart again as the leads fought hard in the love stakes.

There are some tough decisions and situations faced by the players in Every Summer After. Carley Fortune reminds us that love always prevails, even in difficult circumstances. Every Summer After is a fantastic relationship story that will entice all modern romance readers.

Every Summer After by Carley Fortune is published by Hachette Australia on May 10th 2022. $22.99.


To learn more about the author of Every Summer After, Carley Fortune visit here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s