2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · romance · rural fiction · small town

Book Review: The Vet From Snowy River by Stella Quinn

Title: The Vet from Snowy River

Author: Stella Quinn

Published: June 6th 2021

Publisher: HQ Fiction – AU

Pages: 416

Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Romance, Small Town

RRP: $29.99

Rating: 4.5 stars

A hot vet. A rebellious teenager. And meddling but well-meaning townsfolk. Vera gets more than she bargains for when she runs off to a new life in the country … A fresh and funny rural romance, perfect for readers of Alissa Callen and Rachael Johns.

Vera De Rossi no longer believes in love …

And thanks to her ex-boyfriend­ she’s also broke, jobless, and staring down the barrel of a court case that could land her in prison. Turning to her talent for baking, Vera opens a cafe in Hanrahan, a cosy tourist town in the foothills of the Snowy Mountains.

Josh Cody, once Hanrahan’s golden boy, escaped sixteen years ago with gossip hard on his heels and a pregnant girlfriend in tow. Now he’s back: a qualified veterinarian – and a single dad with a lot to prove. A new start and a grumpy teenage daughter … it’s a lot to juggle, and there’s no room in his life for further complications. But that’s before he walks into The Billy Button Cafe and meets its prickly owner …

Reeling from the past, Vera has no intention of being sidetracked by the hot vet with a killer smile. But fate has a way of tripping up our best intentions and between a stray cat and a busybody with a heart of gold, this is a town – a family – unlike any other. And, whether Vera wants it or not, is there anything a family won’t do to help one of its own?

Review:

Stella Quinn’s 2021 release The Vet from Snowy River pairs a talented baker with a charming local vet. In this tale of reinvention, atonement, life repair, homecoming, healing, faith and love, readers will be swept away by this Australian small town drama.

Vera De Rossi’s life takes a turn for the worst when she finds that she is single, broke, in trouble with law and without any job prospects. In an effort to turn her life around Vera decides to use her passion for baking in a new job venture. Vera’s new life in a close-knit town in the Snowy Mountains region now revolves around a café. Vera has high hopes that this new business initiative will take off. When Vera crosses paths with the town’s resident vet, her life is changed. We soon learn that the vet in question, Josh Cody, was once the toast of the town but now he returns with a teenage daughter and a qualification as a vet. Josh isn’t looking for love at all, but feisty Vera might just change his mind, especially if the whole town is behind them!

Following my five-star reading experience of Stella Quinn’s brand-new release A Town Like Clarence, I literally snatched The Vet from Snowy River from my groaning shelves to read immediately after A Town Like Clarence. To say I developed a connection to Stella Quinn’s writing is an understatement. This Queensland based author seemed to put a fresh spin on a genre I adore, Australian rural romance.

It was interesting see that Stella Quinn placed a thorny female lead against a former golden boy, this was a cracking love scenario. Both leads have brilliant back stories and a fantastic load of personal baggage to work through. I enjoyed unpacking their respective histories. In terms of the leads themselves, Josh has a perfect good guy veneer that was slightly damaged by a discretion in his earlier years. Despite this recklessness, Josh is still a man who takes full responsibility for his affairs and he is incredibly caring of all those around him, especially his animal brood. When Vera enters the equation sparks seem to fly everywhere! Vera is a little harder to get to know. I did find her a bit distanced but this personality trait is closely linked to Vera’s backstory. The townsfolk of the local community base are a really colourful lot and they seem to carry this book in the right direction. There is a strong community bonding theme than runs through in The Vet from Snowy River. It is great to see the author draw on this aspect of togetherness in her depiction of the local town in this novel.

The Vet from Snowy River contains a generous serving of storyline advances. From redemption, acceptance, the past, personal damage, difficult choices, responsibility, heartbreak, trust and starting afresh, Stella Quinn covers a lot of ground. With many realistic and credible situations, along with some engaging small talk between the cast, The Vet from Snowy River offers plenty of regalement.  I was hanging out for the final union of these two deserving souls and I left the pages of this book feeling quite marvellous. Thank you, Stella Quinn!

The Vet From Snowy River by Stella Quinn was published on 6th June 2021 by HQ Fiction – AU. Details on how to purchase the book can be found here.

To learn more about the author of The Vet from Snowy River, Stella Quinn, visit here.

*I wish to thank Harlequin Australia for providing me with a free copy of this book for review purposes.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s