2022 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Trivia Night by Ali Lowe

Title: The Trivia Night

Author: Ali Lowe

Published: February 22nd 2022

Publisher: Hachette Australia

Pages: 368

Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Thriller, Suspense

RRP: $32.99

Rating: 4 stars

The events at a school fundraiser night get quickly out of hand, and the fallout leads to devastating results for a group of four couples . . .

Question: How long does it take to tear someone’s life apart?
Answer: Sometimes just one night.

From the outside the parents of the kindergarten class at Darley Heights primary school seem to have it all. Living in the wealthy Sydney suburbs, it’s a community where everyone knows each other – and secrets don’t stay secret for long.

The big date in the calendar is the school’s annual fundraising trivia night, but when the evening gets raucously out of hand, talk turns to partner-swapping. Initially scandalised, it’s not long before a group of parents make a reckless one-night-only pact.

But in the harsh light of day, those involved must face the fallout of their behaviour. As they begin to navigate the shady aftermath of their wild night, the truth threatens to rip their perfect lives apart – and revenge turns fatal.

THE TRIVIA NIGHT is a gripping, domestic page-turner full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Sally Hepworth.

Review:

The Trivia Night is the introductory novel from journalist Ali Lowe. An addictive read that can be easily devoured in just one sitting, The Trivia Night is a great new addition to the popular domestic noir category. A juicy drama filled with plenty of innuendo, audacious actions, rumour, suspicion and slander The Trivia Night is one consuming debut title.

A novel that takes the reader into a wealthy school community, The Trivia Night exposes the lives of the parents of this affluent Sydney establishment. But not everything is as it seems, especially when the school’s big main event, a trivia night, is a whitewash. With gossip, scandal and love swaps involved, Darley Heights Primary School’s trivia night becomes one evening to remember. But when the dust settles, those who made reckless choices must face up to the consequences.

Domestic noir queens Liane Moriarty and Sally Hepworth have paved the way for new authors in this genre to contribute to this flourishing category of fiction. Ali Lowe is a fresh voice in the Australian domestic area and Lowe’s first novel The Trivia Night is a sensational addition to this ever growing division of contemporary fiction. Risqué, exciting and tense, The Trivia Night was a real potboiler that I completely consumed.

Structurally, The Trivia Night is a well-placed tale. Divided into three different forms of narration which is shared across the novel, Ali Lowe’s debut title makes for a solid read. Moving deftly between keynote characters Amanda, Alice and Zoe, with a handy contents page and table plan, The Trivia Night knows how to place the reader in the thick of the action. The movement between one respective narrator to the next puts a varied perspective on the suggestive events of this tale. It was great to be directly involved in the antics of this school community from the start to the finish and then walk away! I can’t imagine how this partner swapping scenario would play out in my own school community and I don’t think I want to! What a tangled mess this situation presents! It is clear that the author has a strong writing background. Ali Lowe’s twenty-year strong career in journalism is very much evident in The Trivia Night. For a first-time novelist, I found Lowe’s writing to be polished, well structured and very readable. The book features a pitch perfect pace, which comes with some explosive twists, unexpected turns and shocking movements. Seasoned domestic drama readers will find that The Trivia Night is on par with other well received novels in this crowded market. I found much to enjoy in The Trivia Night. I highly recommend it and I’ll be watching out for Ali Lowe’s next release!

The Trivia Night by Ali Lowe is published by Hachette Australia on February 22nd 2022. $32.99.

https://www.hachette.com.au/ali-lowe/the-trivia-night-the-shocking-must-read-novel-for-fans-of-liane-moriarty


*Thanks is extended to Hachette Australia for providing a free copy of this book for review purposes.


To learn more about the author of The Trivia Night, Ali Lowe, visit here.

2 thoughts on “New Release Book Review: The Trivia Night by Ali Lowe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s