#aww2021 · 2021 Reviews · Better Reading Preview · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · new release

Better Reading Preview: Fromage by Sally Scott

Title: Fromage

Author: Sally Scott

Published: October 1st 2021

Publisher: Fremantle Press

Pages: 224

Genres: Fiction, Crime, Mystery

RRP: $32.99

Rating: 3.5 stars

Journalist Alex Grant is enjoying the last days of her summer holiday in Croatia when she is accosted by an old school friend, Marie Puharich, and her odious brother, Brian, both there to attend the funeral of their fearsome grandfather’s two loyal retainers. The only upside of the whole sorry business is meeting Marco, the family’s resident adonis. An incorrigible foodie, Alex is unable to resist Brian’s invitation to visit the family creamery in Australia’s south-west to snoop around for stories and eat her body weight in brie. But trouble has a way of finding Alex, not least because her curiosity is the size of a giant gouda wheel. What begins as a country jaunt in search of a juicy story will end in death, disaster and the destruction of multiple pairs of shoes.

Review:

The first novel in the Alex Grant series, Fromage is a snazzy whodunnit tale, perfect for fans of Kerry Greenwood. Featuring a brazen amateur sleuth who also works as a food journalist, Fromage follows the colourful antics of this keen-eyed reporter as she delves headfirst into an unexpected mystery case. Murder, drugs deals, danger, mayhem, speculation, confusion, intent, mystery, underhanded antics, culinary delights and travel forms the basis of this debut novel. With lots of pizzazz, a side serving of fun and plenty of good food references, Fromage offers something a little different in the cozy crime department. Featuring a great ensemble cast and a likeable lead, Fromage offers the reader plenty of entertainment. I enjoyed following Alex on her unexpected but raring adventure to get to the bottom of a perplexing mystery case. With the additional appeal of some Croatian travel sequences, plus plenty of well-known West Australian based location references and some 1990s nostalgia, Fromage is a palatable crime tale.

Fromage by Sally Scott is published on 1st October 2021 by Fremantle Press. Details on how to purchase the book can be found here.

*Thanks is extended to Better Reading/Fremantle Press for providing a free copy of this book for review purposes.

Fromage is book #87 of the 2021 Australian Women Writers Challenge

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s