2020 Reviews · contemporary fiction · crime · mystery · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Other Mrs by Mary Kubica

Title: The Other Mrsthe other mrs small

Author: Mary Kubica

Published: February 24th 2020

Publisher: HQ Fiction – US

Pages: 352

Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Mystery, Suspense, Thriller

RRP: $29.99

Rating: 3.5 stars

Hypnotic and addictive and perfect for fans of YouThe Other Mrs. is the twisty new psychological thriller from Mary Kubica, the blockbuster bestselling author of The Good Girl.

Sadie and Will Foust have only just moved their family from bustling Chicago to small-town Maine when their neighbour, Morgan Baines, is found dead in her home. The murder rocks their tiny coastal island, but no one is more shaken than Sadie, who is terrified by the thought of a killer in her very own backyard.

But it’s not just Morgan’s death that has Sadie on edge. It’s their eerie old home, with its decrepit decor and creepy attic, which they inherited from Will’s sister after she died unexpectedly. It’s Will’s disturbed teenage niece Imogen, with her dark and threatening presence. And it’s the troubling past that continues to wear at the seams of their family.

As the eyes of suspicion turn toward the new family in town, Sadie is drawn deeper into the mystery of Morgan’s death. But Sadie must be careful, for the more she discovers about Mrs Baines, the more she begins to realise just how much she has to lose if the truth ever comes to light.

Review:

‘There is something off about this house. Something that nags me, makes me feel uneasy, though I don’t know what it is about the house that makes me feel this way.’

The back cover of The Other Mrs soon caught my eye when I selected Mary Kubica’s latest to read. The statement, ‘soon to be a Netflix film’ enticed me to make this novel a priority, despite so many review books fighting for my attention. As a fan of Netflix and an admirer Mary Kubica’s work, I was keen to see how this one would read and consequently play out on the screen. The Other Mrs proved to be another perplexing thriller from the bestselling author of The Good Girl.

The Other Mrs introduces the reader to married couple, Sadie and Will Foust. When the story begins, we learn that this couple have made the move from Chicago to a small town in Maine. A death soon after their arrival hits close to home and it has Sadie on tenterhooks. The creepy old abode the Fousts now call home exacerbates Sadie’s tension level. There is a sinister presence felt in this dwelling and Sadie can’t seem to settle in her new home. On top of Sadie’s increasing feelings of isolation and despair is the pressure this couple are placed under in caring for their troubled niece. This contributes to further cracks in this already strained marriage and it also puts added pressure on Sadie’s scattered state of mind. Sadie can’t put the recent murder of her neighbour behind her and she launches an investigation into this murder mystery. But uncovering the truth brings all sorts of trouble for Sadie, a woman who does not need further problems in her life.

The Other Mrs represents the sixth published novel by the New York Times bestselling author. I have read five of Kubicas’s books and each has been a thrilling ride. The Other Mrs is on par with Kubica’s previous books, presenting the reader with an astute crime mystery to unpack, along with a strong focus on the psychological.

Kubica utilises a shifting style of narration, which is divided between multiple narrators to unfurl this divisive tale. This literary device helps reel the reader in and it adds to the ambiguity level of this perplexing tale. As character introspection comes first in The Other Mrs, do expect to be pulled in different directions by these contrasted narrators.

The Other Mrs offers a focus on the domestic side of things, following a significant location shift and marital strains. The added complexity of a troubled teenage girl who is taken into the care by the couple of this tale, adds to the tension and family dynamics of this propulsive thriller. Kubica also delves into mental illness and psychological instability, which contributes to the lead becoming an unreliable narrator. The Other Mrs is a twisty, mind bending read, that will keep you on the edge of your toes.

The Maine based setting works to heighten the mood and tension level of the tale. Kubica does a good job of immersing her reader in this locale. Maine feels claustrophobic and  inescapable, which contributes to the downward spiral of the characters.  With good supporting dialogue, a consistent pace and an unrelenting mystery at the heart of this novel, readers should find The Other Mrs an absorbing story.

A restless, intriguing and nervy novel, The Other Mrs is a thriller that will have you building theories about the central mystery of the novel from the get-go. The Other Mrs is a good book to turn to if you are seeking a highly readable mystery novel.

The Other Mrs by Mary Kubica was published on 24th February 2020 by HQ Fiction – US. Details on how to purchase the book can be found here.

To learn more about the author of The Other Mrs, Mary Kubica, visit here.

*I wish to thank Harlequin Australia for providing me with a free copy of this book for review purposes.

4 thoughts on “New Release Book Review: The Other Mrs by Mary Kubica

  1. A wonderful review. I have her first two books on my shelf, I was hoping these were going to be 4 1/2 to 5 star reads. Oh well, I may think differently, though 3.5 stars is better than average LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Many thanks for your support as always Sue. I hope you enjoy the two books you have on your shelf of Mary’s. I have found her to be enjoyable but not brilliant, but it may be my reading mood of late, you may have noticed I’ve given a few 3.5 ratings. I think it may be me not being able to concentrate, not the book. Keen to hear what you think of this author anyway.

      Like

      1. Yes I have, I truly hope everything picks up for you and that you can concentrate soon and that every book you pick up will be brilliant. Sometimes life can be a real bummer but we must stay positive and know good things are always around the corner.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you Sue. While I am working extra days I think I need to adjust my reading schedule, easy reads for the weeknights and Friday night when I’m shattered and heavier books for the weekend! Thanks I’m sure things will change, it seems to be the case each day I step into work!

        Like

Leave a Reply to Amanda Barrett Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s