2019 Reviews · contemporary fiction · new release · suspense · thriller

New Release Book Review: The Perfect Wife by JP Delaney

Title: The Perfect Wifethe perfect wife small

Author: JP Delaney

Published: August 6th 2019

Publisher: Hachette Australia

Pages: 352

Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Suspense, Thriller

RRP: $32.99

Rating: 4 stars

“There’s something I have to explain, my love,” he says, taking your hand in his. “That wasn’t a dream. It was an upload.”

Abbie wakes in a hospital bed with no memory of how she got there. The man by her side explains that he’s her husband. He’s a titan of the tech world, the founder of one of Silicon Valley’s most innovative startups. He tells Abbie she’s a gifted artist, a doting mother to their young son, and the perfect wife.

Five years ago, she suffered a terrible accident. Her return from the abyss is a miracle of science, a breakthrough in artificial intelligence that has taken him half a decade to achieve.

But as Abbie pieces together memories of her marriage, she begins questioning her husband’s motives – and his version of events. Can she trust him when he says he wants them to be together for ever? And what really happened to her, half a decade ago?

A gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Woman in the Window and The Wife Between Us.

Review:

‘You were always unique, Abbie. Irreplaceable. A perfect wife. A perfect mother. The love of my life. Everyone says that, don’t they? But I really meant it. After I lost you, plenty of people told me I should move on, find someone else to spend my life with. But I knew that was never going to happen. So I did this instead. Was I right to? I don’t know. But I had to try.’ 

Described as the “hottest new name in psychological fiction” JP Delaney returns with, The Perfect Wife. This riveting and thought provoking suspense filled thriller has a modern technological twist. The Perfect Wife is a ground breaking psychological tale that examines memory, obsession, relationships and trust. This one will draw you in from the start and continue to play with your mind until the final page.

The Perfect Wife is Abbie’s story.  When the book opens Abbie finds herself in hospital, with her husband by her beside, but she doesn’t know who he is. Nor does Abbie have any memories of how she got to the hospital and why. She learns that her husband is a tech mogul. All this has a strong bearing on the woman Abbie has become. Little by little, Abbie learns more about her life. Abbie discovers that she is a gifted artist, a devoted mother and a loving wife. However, there is a twist to this tale, linked to a terrible accident five years earlier, and it strikes at the very heart of Abbie’s confusion about her current state of mind. Gradually, fragments of memories come to life for Abbie, presenting problems in her marriage. Abbie must consider if her husband is telling her the complete truth, and whether or not he can be trusted.

Wow, what an ethical minefield this book presented! The Perfect Wife is a progressive book of sorts, and although it has been marketed as a psychological thriller, in the same vein as the previous two books penned by the author, I would say The Perfect Wife is a breakthrough novel. It really situates itself in the here and now of our technology focussed world. We are continually finding ways to incorporate technology in our daily lives and The Perfect Wife is perhaps a forewarning of what it is come if we strive to advance technology in our current existence. It is a confronting and scary reality that really did send a shiver down my spine!

The structure of The Perfect Wife works to heighten the mood and events of the story. Told in part from the lead’s point of view, along with another protagonist, we get a well rounded view of the ins and outs of the narrative. There were a number of unexpected twists and a few ‘ah-hah’ moments that occurred while I read The Perfect Wife. Trust played a big factor in my approach this book, and I wasn’t entirely sure what to make of the lead male character, Abbie’s husband Tim. Despite my suspicions, I did find that The Perfect Wife was very readable, thanks to the smooth pacing and the line of suspense carefully drawn by the author.

The Perfect Wife is one of those books that you will want to talk about, mull over and even introduce to other like minded book friends, there are some really interesting concepts raised in this book. I am a fan of the Netflix series Black Mirror and The Perfect Wife immediately made me cast my mind back to an episode featuring Artificial Intelligence. In this particular episode, a woman who just couldn’t let of her dead husband purchased an AI version of her beloved. I won’t say any more for the spoiler factor issue, but this is really fascinating territory, which will blow your mind and it links directly to the ideas presented in The Perfect Wife! It is great to see an author think outside the box and present readers with a different style of novel in the psychological thriller category, a genre that I feel is very full at the moment. Readers will appreciate the theories presented in The Perfect Wife, and I guarantee this one will have you thinking hard until the bitter end.

Turn to The Perfect Wife, the third offering from popular thriller author JP Delaney, if you are after a novel with a twist. This is one is directly in touch with our tech savvy world, making it an up-to-the-minute read.

The Perfect Wife by JP Delaney is published by Hachette Australia. Out now. $32.99

https://www.hachette.com.au/jp-delaney/the-perfect-wife


To learn more about the author of The Perfect Wife, JP Delaney, visit here.


*Thanks is extended to Hachette Australia for providing a free copy of this book for review purposes.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s