2018 Reviews · contemporary fiction · Guest Review · Mrs R Review · romance

Guest Book Review: Together by Julie Cohen

Title: Togethertogether small

Author:  Julie Cohen

Published: July 11th 2017

Publisher: Hachette Australia

Pages: 320

Genres: Fiction, Contemporary, Romance

RRP: $29.99

Rating: 4 stars

This is not a great love story. 
This is a story about great love.

On a morning that seems just like any other, Robbie wakes in his bed, his wife Emily asleep beside him, as always. He rises and dresses, makes his coffee, feeds his dogs, just as he usually does. But then he leaves Emily a letter and does something that will break her heart. As the years go back all the way to 1962, Robbie’s actions become clearer as we discover the story of a couple with a terrible secret – one they will do absolutely anything to protect.

Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes’s Me Before You, David Nicholls’s One Day and M L Stedman’s The Light Between Oceans.

Mrs R’s review:

Together is American author Julie Cohen’s 18th novel. Of the previous books I have read by Julie, Together is Julie at her best. At its heart, Together is a love story like no other set in England and the USA between Robbie and Emily. Told in the third person, it’s defining feature is that the story goes backwards in time. Broken into five parts, the story begins at the end of eighty year old Robbie’s life in 2016. It finishes in 1962 when Robbie and Emily first meet. Even though it took my head a few chapters to get into this style of writing I found myself enjoying something so different to the norm. I really appreciated the effort that Julie took into taking her book in a different direction.

Julie also took the characters of Robbie and Emily on a different path that broke the mould. They’re journey was full of painful surprises and secrets that I never saw coming. Robbie was an alcoholic from a young age to help him deal with the harsh reality of life. Even when Robbie found happiness he still fought his demons to stay sober. Building boats and boating were two of Robbie’s saving graces and I found it interesting to learn alongside Emily. I could see how this hobby could become a way of life, especially into the retirement years. Robbie’s wife Emily had her own issues that she dealt with gracefully and with inner strength. The main problem was that she was unable to have children. Despite this, Emily chose to be an obstetrician and one particular patients testimony showed just how much she was appreciated. Julie has painted a realistic picture of the daily struggles people face and the how adversity can be overcome as a couple.

I wish I could say so much more about this book but to do so would be to give away spoilers! If you’re reading this review, I implore you to get a copy of this book because the final secret out of the many will leave you reeling. It will make you question everything you know about love, morals and ethics.

Together by Julie Cohen was published on July 11th 2017 by Hachette  Australia. Details on how to purchase the book can be found here.

To learn more about the author of Together, Julie Cohen, visit here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s