2017 Reviews · chick lit · contemporary fiction · Guest Review · Mrs R Review · romance

Guest Book Review: The One We Fell In Love With by Paige Toon

Title: The One We Fell In Love Withp toon 1.jpg

Author:  Paige Toon

Published: May 19th 2016

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Pages: 416

Genres:  Fiction, Contemporary, Romance, Chick Lit

RRP: $19.99

Rating: 5 stars

Phoebe is caught between a rock and a hard place. Settle down and get married, or return to the French Alps to pursue her passion?

Eliza is in love with someone who is no longer hers. In fact, he probably never was… And her dream of becoming a musician seems to be spiralling down the drain.

Rose is out of a job and out of a boyfriend. To make matters worse, she’s been forced to move back in with her mother…

But these very different girls have one thing in common. Angus. The one they fell in love with…

Mrs R’s review:

Ten years ago, Paige Toon released her first book, Lucy In The Sky. Today I love her books as much as I did back then and this book is no exception. The One We Fell In Love With is about family, loss and secrets. The family is triplets, Phoebe, Eliza and Rose who I enjoyed getting to know over time. Their stories are told through alternating chapters and each woman’s voice was unique, letting me get to know them intimately. Not once did I question who’s narrative I was reading. Phoebe is the oldest sister, the one who everyone loves, with a passion for adrenaline sports such as rock climbing. The middle sister is Eliza, a spiky wanna-be musician living at home who isn’t ready to let go of her dreams. Baby sisters Rose’s life is falling apart, forcing her to move back home. The one thing these different sisters have in common is their next-door neighbour, Angus. Each sister gets to recall the first time they saw Angus at 17 years of age, not knowing the impact it will have on the rest of their lives. Going between that pivotal moment in time and the present, Paige brings together the threads of their lives to come to a shock revelation in the middle of the book that changed everything. This contemporary chic lit is deceptively simple to read and is real, full of warmth and love. A must read for fans of Giovanna Fletcher, Marian Keyes, and Lisa Jewell.

The One We Fell In Love With, by Paige Toon was published in Australia on the 29th March 2017 by Simon & Schuster. Details on how to purchase the book can be found here.

To learn more about the author of The One We Fell In Love With, Paige Toon visit here.

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Guest Book Review: The One We Fell In Love With by Paige Toon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s