It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 24/4/17

its-monday-what-are-you-reading

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Book Date .This meme is a great opportunity for book bloggers to showcase their ‘book-ish’ habits for the week. It is a good forum to share books read in the past week, current reads and upcoming reads. It is also a fantastic way to connect with fellow bookworms and add some books to your reading wishlist. Thanks for hosting Book Date!

We have another short week here in Australia. After the Easter long weekend, next up is the Anzac day public holiday, which falls tomorrow. Then it’s back to school for my children on Wednesday/Thursday, as the next school term resumes. It has a been a fantastic school holiday break for us weather wise, we have enjoyed plenty of outdoor activities and park visits. I hope the lovely warm autumn weather continues a little longer!

On the reading front it was a productive one, the school holidays haven’t really affected the amount of books I have managed to get through. I did get distracted by a binge watch of the Netflix series 13 Reasons Why but I  still managed to complete four books this week. I was pretty pleased with myself as one of the books I read this week was a 700 page plus doorstopper (Gallipoli by Peter Fitzsimons) for a challenge I am completing with a friend. I received some great books in the mail for review (see below) and purchased a few books too. In terms of reviewing, I am still a little behind after my trip overseas but I hope to have it on track when the kids return to school this week. If you wish to catch up on any of my reviews I will leave the links below.

The Hypnotist’s Love Story by Liane Moriarty (4.5 stars)

Baby Doll by Hollie Overton (5 stars)

Blueberry by Glenna Thomson (5 stars)

A big shout out of thanks to all those that stopped by and took the time to comment or read one of my reviews last week. It is greatly appreciated. Please feel free to comment away on today’s post. I wish you all a lovely week and happy reading. Here’s my reading breakdown.

What I read:

good wife.jpg (TBR shelf)

gallipoli.jpg (TBR shelf)

fatal tide.jpg (TBR shelf)

13 freasons

What I am currently reading:

glory.jpg (TBR shelf)

What I plan to read next:

A review book and  a book club selection

jasper jones

What I received this week:

shack bay (Review copy)

silkworm secrets.jpg (Review copy)

what she lost

shape us.jpg

midsummer garden.jpg

tattle.jpg

ends us

13 freasons

That’s my round up for this week. Thanks for reading! Mrs B 🙂

 

 

16 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 24/4/17

  1. Yay for short weeks. 🙂 Glad to see Hypnotist’s get 4.5 stars since I like her books and may tackle that one. And I finished up 13 Reasons Why a few nights ago… quite the story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Greg, we have been blessed with a few short weeks in a row. The Hypnotist’s Love story is very good, I rate it just behind my favourite, Big Little Lies. I hope you manage to tackle it soon. I agree, 13 Reasons Why is quite the story… very raw.

      Like

  2. Hey there, Amanda. I have been wanting to read Peter Fitzsimons book for ever, so glad you chose that one as your March challenge, can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Gallipoli. I’ve also completed my March Challenge as you know I was reading the Linda Thompson memoir, I will post my review very soon. Very very interested in It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover, a book that has been recommended by a YA author who reviews books and is a blogger. And I must find myself a copy of Jasper Jones as that has been on my radar for a very long time. Some of your other books sound intriguing too, especially Tattle Tale. Oh, Amanda sooooo many books and so little time, but I am very pleased to tell you I’m reading a lot quicker which leads to reading more books each week, that’s a bonus right? Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for calling past and commenting Sue. I happy to have achieved getting through Peter Fitzsimons Gallipoli for the challenge, it was a hard slog but rewarding.
      I have never read anything by Colleen Hoover but the cover really appealed to me and I have seen many positive reviews for this one. I’ll let you know my thoughts of course via a review. Good to hear a YA blogger you follow has also rated this one highly.
      I hope you manage to source a copy of Jasper Jones at some point. I’m currently reading it, not sure what to make of it so far.
      I am so happy to hear you are reading quicker. I do think the more you read the quicker you get! I’m glad a few more of my books this week are making it to your TBR pile 🙂

      Like

    1. Hi! Thanks for calling past my blog this week 🙂 I finished 13 Reasons Why a few days ago and still feel pretty raw. I actually loved the series more than the book, which is unusual. Watch out for a review of Jay Asher’s book here soon.

      Like

  3. I read 13 Reasons several years ago. I heard the adaptation is good, and hope to get to it soon. I have read several CoHo books, and liked them, though I have not read It Ends with Us. Have a fantastic week!
    Sam @ WLABB

    Like

  4. My kids had a short week last week. I wish I had more time to read. Working full time makes it challenging. You had a great reading week with 4 books read!! I read lots of reviews of Hoover’s last book and thinking about reading it. Hope you love all your new books.

    Like

  5. Nice assortment of books. Our breaks are over except for May 29 (Memorial Day) as we push toward the end of the school year on June 2. We’re firmly in the middle of testing season here in Minnesota. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

    Like

  6. Good to hear your weather is great too. The Gallipoli book at 700 pages – wow. I bet it was interesting though. We have had a couple of displays in Wellington that Peter Jackson helped with, and they were amazing to see. Weta Workshop did some of them and I wanted to touch but you weren’t allowed. The hair on their legs was so real.
    For viewing I am watching A Place to Call Home season 4, fortunately it is on free TV here, awesome Australian production.

    Like

Leave a Reply

