It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 13/3/17

its-monday-what-are-you-reading

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Book Date .This meme is a great opportunity for book bloggers to showcase their ‘book-ish’ habits for the week. It is a good forum to share books read in the past week, current reads and upcoming reads. It is also a fantastic way to connect with fellow bookworms and add some books to your reading wishlist. Thanks for hosting Book Date!

It was a fairly busy latter part of the week, as my birthday fell on Friday. I had a lovely beachfront lunch Friday, followed by fish and chips on the beach at sunset on Saturday evening. Sunday I spent the afternoon with family and friends having a yummy high tea at a local garden teahouse. Despite the celebrations, I still managed to whiz through a total of four books this past week. I also received a few loan books from a bookworm family member and I also welcomed a review book in the mail. I was lucky to receive a bookshop voucher from a  friend for my birthday, which I look forward to spending at some point.

On the reviewing front, I published two reviews this week on my blog. I rated a couple more on my goodreads account as well. If you wish to catch up on my reviews this week, here are the links.

Beauty & Lace Book Review: The Last McAdam by Holly Ford (4 stars)

The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth (5 stars)

Here is my reading breakdown for the week, thanks for stopping by this week and as always, I welcome any input on my reading habits!

What I read this week:

country roads (TBR shelf)

 

silk 2.jpg (Library loan)

olive.jpg (Library loan)

brilliant friend (TBR shelf)

What I am currently reading:

new name

What I plan to read next:

leave stay (TBR shelf)

What I received this week:

angel (Review book courtesy of Goodreads)

french perfumer.jpg (Loan)

dead speak (Loan)

That’s all folks! Happy reading! Mrs B 🙂

 

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 13/3/17

  1. Good to hear your birthday was well celebrated. Four books read for the week is fantastic. A little envious of you hearing Judith Marillier speak, she writes so well. Enjoy your reads for this week.

    Like

  2. Happy birthday! Excellent celebrations! Lunch at the beach, high tea, fish and chips. I’m drooling here.

    Your books look tempting. I have yet to read anything by Elena Ferrante, but I am definitely intrigued. I’ve also heard good things about Let the Dead Speak.

    Have a great week, and thanks for visiting my blog.

    Like

  3. Happy birthday! Sounds like you spent it quite well! 🙂 And yay for 4 books, that’s great. I love the look of The Olive Tree- makes me want to be by the sea ha ha- and Let The Dead Speak looks suspenseful!

    Like

  4. Happy birthday! Sounds like you had a lovely one! 🙂

    I’ve never seen those covers of the Elena Ferrante books before — they’re still not fantastic, but they’re so much better! The covers of the U.S. versions are absolutely hideous. They’re such a turn-off that it’s part of the reason I haven’t checked out the series!

    Like

  5. Hi Amanda, just a quick comment before I mosey off to bed, needing plenty of early nights with this shocking flu. Glad you had such a wonderful birthday weekend!
    Lots of great books you’ve listed that a few of them will get added to my TBR list. I have Kayte Nunn’s first book Rose’s Vintage but yet to read it. The French Perfumer sounds good as does Let The Dead Speak.

    Enjoy the rest of your week, Amanda and happy reading! Xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I apologise Sue, i just realised I have not replied to last week’s Book Date Monday post. Thank you for calling past and commenting even though you didn’t feel well.
      I’m so glad to hear you have Kayte Nunn’s first book to read, it was a healthy 4 star rating for me. I have no doubt you will love it as much as I did.
      Le the dead speak was lent to me by my stepmum and as yet I haven’t got around to reading it. She did assure me it was good though.
      I’m also yet to get to The French Perfumer, another book from my stepmum. It has such a lovely cover and inside book design, its almost worth keeping on the shelves. It’s not a long book so shouldn’t take me long to knock it off. I’ll let you know when i’m reading/reviewing it!
      Amanda xxxx

      Like

Leave a Reply

