It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 27/2/17

its-monday-what-are-you-reading

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Book Date .This meme is a great opportunity for book bloggers to showcase their ‘book-ish’ habits for the week. It is a good forum to share books read in the past week, current reads and upcoming reads. It is also a fantastic way to connect with fellow bookworms and add some books to your reading wishlist. Thanks for hosting Book Date!

It was a quieter week for me on the reviewing and blogging front this week. However, it was a really positive one for receiving book mail this week, my parcel man was awfully busy! I received four book related packages this week, providing me with plenty of reading material to keep me busy, ready for a new reviewing month in a couple of days! Who can believe a new season is almost upon us? For us here in the west of Australia, we welcome autumn, even though it feels like we had a blink and you miss it style summer!

I felt like it was a slow week for me reading wise, but upon reflection, I actually finished three books. I also reviewed three books this week, if you count the one I just posted. I also had a healthy week for spending on books, which was funded by my thriving second hand  book market stall on Sunday! This week I purchased five new books that have added to my sagging bookshelves!

If you wish to catch up on any of my reviews I will leave the links below.

Beyond the Orchard by Anna Romer (5 stars)

The Good Cop by Justine Ford (4 stars)

The Golden Child by Wendy James (4 stars)

If you are visiting this week, I greatly appreciate your time as well as feedback. I hope you have a great week ahead, reading, reviewing and blogging. Here is my reading breakdown for the week.

What I read last week: 

cedar (From my TBR shelf)

golden-child (Review copy for Beauty & Lace)

j-cox-f-secret (Loan)

What I am currently reading:

deep-end

What I plan to read next:

A review book.

What I received this week:

golden-child (Review copy for Beauty & Lace)

deep-end (Review copy for Beauty & Lace)

missing-pieces (Review copy courtesy of Bookstr)

handmaids-tale (Personal purchase)

woman-god (Personal purchase)

fifth-letter

orphan

currency-lass

daughter-mine

That’s all folks, have a wonderful week, Mrs B 🙂

 

10 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 27/2/17

  1. Wow, you received 4 books plus you purchased 5, your bookshelves must be more than sagging, Amanda. The only one I bought this month was The Long Paddock. I’m trying to whittle down my mountain of books so with all my will power I won’t be buying any for a while. Salvos and the Book Fair doesn’t count, does it? Lol.
    I’m adding all the books you’ve listed to my to be read list except for the Margaret Atwood one, tried her before but her style of writing is not my cup of tea.

    Hope your autumn weather will be a lot warmer and kinder than the summer you had.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ha ha, I went to the ARRA conference on Saturday with 4 books to get signed that I had read and finished up buying 5 books including a couple of indie titles by authors I met at the conference – stepping outside my comfort zone!!! I also read The Golden Child as you know and am reading Fiona Lowe’s Daughter of Mine which is excellent 😀 I also received a signed ARC of Lisa Ireland’s new book and picked up the debut novel Blueberry for free at the convention. My shelves are literally heaving!!! I am going to a literary dinner in Melbourne around the middle of March with Natasha Lester and will receive a signed copy of her new book as well. I am going to try not to enter any more competitions and not accept any review books for a while to get the piles down, just like Sue is doing. Oh and Sue I met Alissa Callen at the convention and she very kindly signed my copy of The Long Paddock😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Janine, I just loved reading this post, thanks for sharing your experience at ARRA. I would have dearly loved to have gone but distance means its hard to get there! One day and hopefully one year in will be held in the west!
      What a great book haul you scored. What Indie authors did you get? I find it is good to challenge yourself once in awhile and try different authors.
      I’m so glad to hear you are enjoying Daughter of Mine, I love the cover! I can’t wait to read Lisa Ireland’s new book, so you are very lucky to score an ARC. I have a copy of Blueberry sitting on my sagging shelves!
      The literary dinner with Natasha Lester sounds lovely. I do hope you enjoy it. I met Natasha a few times last year which was a great experience every time! Western Australia is lucky to have her.
      I think that may be the key – don’t enter any competitions or request books for awhile, to get the book piles down! I find it hard to restrain myself when so many authors are releasing some fantastic titles this month!
      Good news on the Alissa Callen book 🙂

      Like

    2. Oh Janine, I envy you meeting Alissa Callen, I hope I’ll meet her one day, she seems like a very lovely person. Enjoyed all your pics of the convention and it seemed like you had a ball 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Sue – thanks for visiting my Monday post this week 🙂 Yes I was thrilled with four books and 5 purchased too! The floor is covered in books and the shelves are groaning with the weight! Today, after I wrote this post, three more books arrived! I just can’t keep up! You are very good at restraining yourself with buying books, there are so many lovely new March releases I can’t wait to get my hands on! Salvos and the Book Fair don’t really count I’d say!
    Great to hear you are adding my books from this week. The Josephine Cox one didn’t really do anything for me, I was disappointed and rated it two stars, so just warning you! I’m reading the Margaret Atwood one for the challenge we are doing – February’s challenge is a book you wish you had read in high school. Sorry to hear her style is not your cup of tea.

    I too am hoping both your weather and ours is nice and warm this autumn! .

    Like

    1. Hi Amanda, yes, restraining myself is going to be hard but with this Aussie weather – humidity, dampness from the rain – the books tend to go yellow and musky smelling and with my intolerance to moulds I have to be careful so once most of the books are read they’ll be given away. Any new releases are written on my TBR list right away so I don’t miss any and I can look through the list at any time and when I’m ready I can borrow from the library and if that fails I’ll just buy it in ebook form.
      That’s a shame you didn’t enjoy the Josephine Cox book now I’m hanging to read it to see what I might make of it!
      It’s never crossed my mind to wish for a book I had read in school and even now nothing comes to mind so I’ll start from the March challenge – A book published within the past year. But thanks for letting me know the book you’re reading for the challenge we are doing. Enjoy the Margaret Atwood book.

      And Amanda, just letting you know there will be no more romance reading conventions 😦 as this one was the last one ever. I’ll explain why I didn’t go when I send you a private message.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh no! No more romance reading conventions 😦 I never got the chance to attend any! I’m interested in why now! I shall wait for your message of explanation.

        I haven’t start my Feb challenge book yet, even though its March! I’m still determined to give it a go. The March challenge is very easy – nearly all my books have been published in 2017!

        Sorry I just didn’t enjoy the Josephine Cox book, even Stepmum (it was her copy) said it wasn’t the best. I skimmed it unfortunately 😦

        The thought hadn’t crossed my mind about books going musky and mouldy! Maybe I should check my shelves! A good reason for restraint!

        Like

  4. I’m looking forward to autumn too, but for different reasons. It’s a shame I can’t parcel up our Victorian heat wave and send it to you LOL.
    Three books finished for a slow week is great. My week was exceptionally slow with only one book finished, but some weeks are just like that.
    Lots of great titles in your book haul. As usual we have some in common.
    Hope you have a great week!.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Bookish mail is best! I love getting new books that way! And hope your autumn is nice- I’ve heard it’s been a hot summer down there! We’re going into spring (slowly) and February is usually an awful, cold month but it’s been surprisingly mild this year. Go figure. 🙂

    The Golden Child and In At The Deep End both look fun.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

