It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 13/2/17

its-monday-what-are-you-reading

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Book Date .This meme is a great opportunity for book bloggers to showcase their ‘book-ish’ habits for the week. It is a good forum to share books read in the past week, current reads and upcoming reads. It is also a fantastic way to connect with fellow bookworms and add some books to your reading wishlist. Thanks for hosting Book Date!

Its been a wacky weather week here in the west. While the rest of Australia swelters through extreme heat and battles bushfires, we are dealing with flooding issues. A record amount of rainfall dumped in just 24 hours was the culprit, resulting in the wettest February day on record for a century! Locally, I live near a lake and it burst its banks. At present we can’t complete our usual lap around the whole lake, as the path is still submerged under water, along with the handful of park benches along the route! It’s very humid here now and we experienced a smaller sprinkling of rain this morning. It’s due to clear up Wednesday, it really is such strange weather for summer. I hope the weather is much better your way, or are you too experiencing some out of the ordinary weather patterns?

Onto the business of reading, it was a solid week for me reading and reviewing wise. I completed four books, three of those had a Paris or French theme, as I was in the mood for that kind of read. The final book I read was The Chemist by Stephanie Meyer, for a new book club I bravely joined this week. It was great to meet some new people, though it was daunting at first but this group made me feel very welcome. It was just a shame I did not like the book chosen at all  –  it was almost a DNF . I had to force myself to read it until the end, as I didn’t want to show up to my first meeting with a new book club having not read the book! The Chemist had a mixed reaction at our meeting, half liked and half shared my thoughts, leaving plenty of room for a good discussion to take place! I am now reading something a little lighter, Hester & Harriet by Hilary Spiers, which reminds me a little of The Vicar of Dibley television series! I’m reading this one as it features the same two characters in Hilary Spiers latest book which I am reviewing for Bookstr ‘Love, Lies and Linguine’.

I published three reviews this week. One was for the Beauty and Lace Magazine, another was a Goodreads giveaway from a local publisher and the final review was loan copy from a fellow bookworm. If you wish to catch up on any of my reviews I will leave the links below.

Old Scores by David Whish-Wilson (3.5 stars)

To Capture What We Cannot Keep  by Beatrice Colin (4 stars)

 Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz (3.5 stars)

Below you will find my reading breakdown for the past week. Thank you so much for stopping by and taking the time to peruse my books this week. Wishing you all a fantastic week filled with some great books!

What I read last week:

capture (Review copy for Beauty & Lace)

paris (Signed copy giveaway from the author)

a-french-wedding (Loan)

chemist (Book club)

What I  am currently reading:

hester (From my TBR shelf)

What I plan to read next:

love-lies (Review copy via Bookstr)

What I received this week:

black-sheep (Loan)

j cox f secret.jpg (Loan)

everything.jpg (Personal purchase)

sister-bones (Personal purchase)

long-paddock

That’s all for another week! Mrs B 🙂

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 13/2/17

  1. I wonder is it that we both live on the west coast of our countries that we are getting such wacky weather. Could be. Our wind and rain has been awful. Your rain sounds terrible. The Chemist would not appeal to me so impressed by your persistence with it.

    Like

  2. It seems like more and more people are talking about wacky weather, I’m sorry to hear about the flooding. I’ve heard other parts of Australia are hot too, quite the summer down there sounds like! Glad it was a good reading week! Four books is awesome. And I think joining a book club would be fun- hope the next read is a little better. 🙂

    Have a super week!

    Like

  3. I’m so glad your book club meeting went well and had a good discussion! I find too often I’m the odd one out in tastes and everyone feels opposite to me about the book.

    A non-book-related note – yes! Everyone is talking about weather this week! Whether it’s snowstorms, rain, or heat, it sounds like many have had a lousy week…. 🙂

    Like

  4. We’ve had a lot of wacky weather, too, with more rain than usual. That would be good, except for the flooding. Not in the city so much, but in the foothills where I once lived.

    The Black Sheep piques my curiosity….and I wouldn’t like that aspect of the book club, having to read an “assigned” book. That wouldn’t work for me.

    Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

    Like

  5. I hope the flooding is sorted. Of all the weather nightmares I tend to think those are the worst. I keep looking at The Chemist then not picking it up. I don’t think I’ll enjoy it but I want to see what Meyers has written. Glad your book club went well. Have a good week.

    Like

  6. Over here in the south-east our weather has been whacky too, but not as extreme as yours or in other parts of the country. Summer makes me nervous. Especially this year as record spring rains have resulted in an abundance of grass. The CFA has burnt off around us, but there are still areas where they can’t get to. Would love to see a little more rain this summer.

    I also read Paris Time Capsule last week. Loved it. I’m collecting A Paris Apartment by Michelle Gable from the library today, which is another book about that same Paris apartment. To Capture What We Cannot Keep is also on my list of books to read. I enjoyed your review.
    Hope you have a great week!

    Like

  7. Your country’s weather is like ours in the US. Some are getting tons of snow while some of us are flooded or still have hot weather during this winter. Paris Time Capsule sounds like a good book; I added that to my TBR. I think it’s interesting to learn about others and to be inspired by them in some way.

    Like

  8. Hi Amanda, your weather sure does sound nightmarish. A shame about your lake and bursting its banks and that you’re unable to go for your fitness walks. We’re pretty safe with our lake when it does overflow the only part under water is the car park at the fish co-op, the fish co-op is safe as it’s built up nice and high. But it’s only ever happened once and that was quite a few years ago.

    I haven’t read any Stephenie Meyer books but I am keen to read The Chemist. Your 2 star review has me wanting check it out so I can give you my thoughts.

    To Capture What We Cannot Keep will be added to my ‘must read’ list as will a few of the others that are above.

    Looking forward to hearing what your next book club read will be. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

