It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 23/1/17

its-monday-what-are-you-reading

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Book Date .This meme is a great opportunity for book bloggers to showcase their ‘book-ish’ habits for the week. It is a good forum to share books read in the past week, current reads and upcoming reads. It is also a fantastic way to connect with fellow bookworms and add some books to your reading wishlist. Thanks for hosting Book Date!

It was a big reading week here at Mrs B’s Book Reviews. The lovely summer school holidays have been kind to me and I have enjoyed lots of great books… in fact, I managed to finish five books! I have to admit I am a bit of a speed reader once I get into the reading groove! As well as reading, the kids and I have had fun this school holiday week, trips to the movies (to see Sing), birthday parties to attend and some fun at the beach. We are looking forward to a public holiday this week, it is Australia Day on Thursday. We will be celebrating with a family trip to the beach kayaking, as well as a traditional Aussie BBQ and hopefully a dash of the delectable pavlova will also be on the menu!

So with five books under my belt, my reviews are piling up. This past week I published four reviews for my blog, one of which, The Liberation by Kate Furnivall was for the online magazine Beauty and Lace. I also published a mini review of Elianne by Judy Nunn on Goodreads/Bookstr only. I plan to get some more reviews written up for future posting over the next week. It was also a welcome week for receiving books. I got one order through the mail, as well as a couple of great new books via a loan from a fellow bookworm. They will all keep me busy!

If you wish to catch up on any of my reviews from the past week I will leave the links below.

The Liberation by Kate Furnivall (4 stars)

Third Time Lucky by Karly Lane (4.5 stars)

Daughter by Jane Shemilt (3.5 stars)

Secrets of a Happy Marriage by Cathy Kelly (3 stars)

Elianne by Judy Nunn (3.5 stars) Goodreads mini review onlyElianne by Judy Nunn (3.5 stars) Goodreads mini review only

Here is my reading journey for the last week, enjoy reading!

What I read last week:

breathe (TBR pile)

daughter (TBR pile)

tallowood (Loan copy)

elianne (Autographed copy from author event)

liberation (Review copy courtesy of Beauty & Lace Book Club)

What I am currently reading:

london-safe

What I plan to read next:

river-night (ARC courtesy of Bookstr)

What I received this week:

gifts-our-time (Personal purchase)

stolen-child (Personal purchase)

fell (Personal purchase)

find-me (Loan)

house-secrets (Loan)

That’s all for this week – wishing everyone a happy and fruitful reading week!  Mrs B 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 23/1/17

  1. A few familiar books there and some I’ve not heard of.

    The beach on Australia Day sounds nice. I’m hoping it’s not quite as hot, though I’ll be at my mother’s for the day as the 25th is her birthday and I’ll head to her place after work on that day and stay til Friday.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wowee so nice to get through some great books. I see The House of Secrets there at the end, I have that for review and it must be coming up soon on my calendar. Your Australia Day plans sound perfect, hope they go really well.

    Like

  3. I read (and enjoyed) Daughter a couple of years ago….and yes, those back and forth time lines can be challenging. It also felt a bit repetitive at times.

    I am curious about Try Not to Breathe….enjoy your week, and I love the sound of BBQs! Of course, they would be challenging here, in all the rain. But on our milder days, my daughter’s husband will do one on the covered patio…LOL.

    Enjoy your week, and here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

    Like

  4. Sounds like you had another great week!

    Beneath the Southern Cross is the only Judy Nunn book I’ve read. I should read more but they are long books. The ones I’ve looked were over 500 pages.

    Sarra Manning I haven’t heard of before. The House of Secrets looks like a book I would enjoy. As does After the Last Dance, which I came across while checking out The House of Secrets. Loved your review. That’s definitely two books heading for my TBR pile. No, make that three. Just read your review of The Liberation.

    Enjoy your Australia Day celebrations. I’ll be having a quiet day – pottering about in the garden in the morning and on the couch in the afternoon with my current read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

