It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/1/17

its-monday-what-are-you-reading

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Book Date .This meme is a great opportunity for book bloggers to showcase their ‘book-ish’ habits for the week. It is a good forum to share books read in the past week, current reads and upcoming reads. It is also a fantastic way to connect with fellow bookworms and add some books to your reading wishlist. Thanks for hosting Book Date!

I am writing this post after coming back from the local beach. It has been a lovely week weather wise, such great summer days we are having here in Perth. My boys enjoyed a frolic in the waves, along with their first kayak ride with their Uncle. I took a book with me in the hopes of reading but it was just too much fun watching them! I’m now sitting in the comfort of my air-conditioned home, writing my wrap up for the week.

My reading in the past week was defined largely by World War II fiction and non fiction. Last week, the novel The German Girl seemed to kick-start by interest. I then read The Toymaker, The Beast’s Garden and finally a non fiction offering, Born Survivors. Each was just as compelling as the other in their own way. I have already reviewed The Toymaker but I also plan to review The German Girl and The Beast’s Garden. Look out for these if you enjoy historical fiction, with an emphasis on World War II. My final book this week was one of light comfort  – Di Morrissey’s, A Distant Journey. It was just what I needed after some heavier novels.

As I mentioned above, this week I reviewed The Toymaker. I also reviewed an Australian Pacific War saga novel titled The Turning Tide. The final review I posted this week was an Aussie rural novel  that included a focus on the Vietnam War experience, titled The family Secret. If any of these interest you I will leave the links below.

The Family Secret by Fiona Palmer (4.5 stars)

The Turning Tide by C.M. Lance (4.5 stars)

The Toymaker by Liam Pieper (4 stars)

If you are stopping by my blog this week, I thank you for taking the time to pop past. If you should have any comments or thoughts on my reviews or books I always welcome them! Have a great week!

What I read last week:

toy-maker (TBR shelf)

beasts-garden (TBR shelf)

born-survivors (TBR shelf)

distant j.jpg (Loan)

What I am currently reading:

stars h.jpg (TBR shelf)

What I plan to read next:

shadow-sister

What I received this week:

daughter-murray (Loan)

truffle (Personal purchase)

That’s all folks, have a fantastic reading week! Mrs B 🙂

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/1/17

  1. Sounds like great reads! I do like a WWII read now and then. And beach time! That sounds pretty good right now as we have so much snow. 🙂

    Hope your reads are all good this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like you had a great day at the beach with your family, I would find it hard to look away too when the kids are having so much fun it’s something you’d want to enjoy with them.

    I’m looking forward to reading Di Morrissey’s latest novel, I have 7 of hers on my bookshelf just not this one. The other two that interests me is Daughter of the Murray and The Dangers of Truffle Hunting by Sunni Overend. Love her name it’s my name also but with a different spelling, Sanni – it’s the german spelling.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for replying to my Monday yesterday Sue.

      Yes yeseterday was a lovely morning spent by the beach and then a dip in the pool later on in the afternoon set it off just nicely. It was a shame my husband had to go to work, it was so much fun wathcing the boys in the kayak!

      I really enjoyed Di Morrissey’s latest. My review is almost finalised. I too have four still on my shelves.

      Daughter of the Murray was given to me by my Stepmum. She also gave me Di Morrissey’s new book too – I’m lucky! She highly recommended Daughter of the Murray by the way!

      I saw Tess Woods highly recommended The Dangers of Truffle Hunting so I had to get myself a copy. The cover is sooo gorgeous. I love her name too! That’s lovely that her name is like the german spelling of your name – interesting! xx

      Like

  3. Ah that’s a lot of WW2 books to read all at one time. I read The Beast’s Garden awhile back and liked it. Will be interested in your verdict on The Shadow Sister, I am just hanging back a bit from it but most likely will read or listen to it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Kathryn, thanks so much for stopping by my blog this week. Yes I agree, I read alot of WW2 literature but it is such a fascinating era and it suited my reading mood last week! I’m keen to get into The Shadow Sister, it is such an addictive series!

      Like

Leave a Reply

