Uncategorized

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading 28/11/16

its-monday-what-are-you-reading

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Book Date .This meme is a great opportunity for book bloggers to showcase their ‘book-ish’ habits for the week. It is a good forum to share books read in the past week, current reads and upcoming reads. It is also a fantastic way to connect with fellow bookworms and add some books to your reading wishlist. Thanks for hosting Book Date!

I can’t believe it is the final post for November! December, Christmas as well as our summer school holiday break is nearly here! November has been a great month for me for being able to connect with some fantastic authors. Last week was no exception. I met Australian author Matthew Reilly. Although I have to confess I have not read any of his books, as I tend to steer clear of the fantasy/action genre, listening to him speak definitely converted me. Matthew Reilly is a highly successful author here in Australia and this was demonstrated just through his book signing line –  it was huge! However, when it came to my turn, Matthew was such a gentleman. I’m looking forward to getting stuck into his books over the summer break. Below are a few memories from the night –  I especially loved the book cover themed cupcakes!

ma-reilly

Now for my reading round-up for the week. It was a very slow one reading wise, I only finished one book, which is a pretty poor effort for me! I now have three books on the go, all unfinished, so I think that is saying something about my read mood right now! I’m hoping that over the next week or so I will be able to focus more on my reading and knock off a few of these books. I also didn’t publish any reviews :-(. I do h,ope to have a couple up in the next few days. If you are reading this I thank you for stopping by my blog. Feel free to comment on my books this week. Below is my reading breakdown. I wish you all a happy reading week!

What I read last week:

tournament.jpg (From my personal TBR pile)

Currently reading:

mary-k (From my personal TBR pile)

miss-p (From my personal TBR pile)

What I plan to read next:

scared (Author provided e-copy for upcoming blog tour)

What I received this week:

dark-wood (Loan )

what they knew.jpg (Personal purchase)

That’s all for this week – have a good one! Mrs B 🙂

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading 28/11/16

  1. It is always great to meet an author even if you haven’t read their books although looks like you have now. Aren’t the cupcakes delicious looking and so well co-ordinated with cover.

    Like

  2. I love meeting authors. I just read one book by an author I met years ago. I bought a few and had them signed but just added them to my TBR mountain. They finally moving to my reading stack. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

    Like

  3. Some great books on there. I loved the Mary Kubica and Ruth Ware and really liked Miss Peregrine’s Home. Hope you enjoy. So cool you got to meet an author and it changed your mind about his books. Have a good week.

    Like

  4. Looks like a great signing, and glad you got to meet a new author. Your books do look fun-Don’t You Cry looks like a good thriller.

    Scared to Death looks, well… scary! Ha ha

    Have a great week!

    Like

  5. Hey Amanda,

    finally I can sit down and write on your blog. You know, sometimes it’s good to have time out from reading and reviewing, you do so much of it I’m sure you enjoy some time away from the computer!

    I have Mary Kubica’s first book but of course that won’t be read for a while. The Tournament, your first Matthew Reilly book, I’ll be interested to see what you thought of it. And did you get to eat a cupcake, Amanda?

    I’ve just added Scared to Death, In a Dark, Dark Wood and What They Knew to my ‘must read list.’

    Replying to your Book Date Blog 14/11/16:
    My Danielle Steel books range from the year 2000 to 2014 and one from this year. And yep, a lot to get through from the one author. Between 2014 and the new book I think she’s written another 12 so my stack is just building up and building up. Lol.
    A couple of library books are included in the 50 book pile so I’ve nearly finished those two. Hmm, how do I choose what to read next. Well, with this stack of 50 I just chose all the ones I’ve had for a long long time and I just want to get rid of them, otherwise I pick what I’m in the mood for on the day I’m selecting something to read. If I’ve read a couple of psychological crime books then the next time I prefer to read something light.
    I am a fan of Cathy Kelly but I haven’t read a book in years so I can’t say what my favourite is. Looking forward to your review of her new book.
    Haha, I browsed around my bookshelves the other day to have another look at the many books I’d forgotten I had and to my surprise I actually have a Alice Hoffman book titled The Museum of Extraordinary Things.
    Isn’t it funny how we see books differently occasionally? I didn’t find The Railwayman’s Wife slow at all and also I could relate to it because the story was set close to where I live, that could make a huge difference, sometimes.

    And your Book Date from last week which I didn’t get to comment on but will do so here. I love Harlan Coben – an amazing author! The last time I read one of his books though, was over two years ago. Six Years was a terrific read.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Sue, sorry for the delay in replying to this, gosh it has been a busy fortnight! My older son finishes school on Friday this week, so things should slow down a bit. I finish up next week (Wednesday) which I am really looking forward to, I can foresee some good summer holiday reading happening!

      I hope you had a lovely weekend? Did you get much from the markets you visited? How is your Christmas shopping going and how about your reading for the week?

      I finished the Mary Kubica book last night but didn’t enjoy it as much as Pretty Baby (2nd book). I hope you enjoy Mary Kubica’s first book, The Good Girl. It was a solid thriller from memory but I highly recommend Pretty Baby if you can get to it.

      I really enjoyed Matthew Reilly’s book Tournament but then I’m a big fan of Tudor hisotry and he added a nice twist to this era. It has inspired me to seek more of his books out actually. Those cupcakes were very yummy by the way, I ate one in the very long book signing line!

      Glad to hear you have added a few of my thrillers on your TBR pile. I haven’t got around to reading two of them, but In a dark, dark wood was highly recommended to me by another reader.

      I found it interesting to read about your Danielle Steel collection and reading. I often turn to her if I’m in need of a quick and light read.

      Your reading habits and selection of books does mirror mine. As you said it is good to alternate a thriller with a light read. I often get overwhelmed by the sheer choice of books I have on my shelf. Reviewing influences my reading habits a lot.

      The new Cathy Kelly book was not the best I have read from her, I’m finding the review hard to write! It sounds like you have read alot of her backlist Sue.

      Ah yes, that is funny that browsing your bookshleves you find a book you have forgotten! It happens to me as well! I’ve found my copy of Museum of Extraordinary Things, I’m going to attempt to fit it in to read this week, Thanks for reminding me!

      I can see now why The Railwayman’s Wife resonated with you. A book always holds more meaning when you have a connection to the setting.

      I am a new fan of Coben’s work now. I loved Home. I will try and seek out Six Years to read on your advice 🙂

      Thanks so much for your post x

      Like

Leave a Reply

