It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 21/11/16

its-monday-what-are-you-reading

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Book Date .This meme is a great opportunity for book bloggers to showcase their ‘book-ish’ habits for the week. It is a good forum to share books read in the past week, current reads and upcoming reads. It is also a fantastic way to connect with fellow bookworms and add some books to your reading wishlist. Thanks for hosting Book Date!

I do hope this past week has treated you well and it has been a week full of great books! I need to apologise to the lovely blogging community for not taking the time to visit your blogs or reply personally to my Monday post last week. Last week was a busy one and medical emergency for a close friend took up some time that I usually allocate to blogging. I’m hoping to get back on board as usual this week.

Medical emergencies aside, last week was a big one for this bookworm. I met JODI PICOULT! Jodi was here in Perth Thursday and Friday last week promoting Small Great Things. I managed to attend her author event Thursday night. As well as chatting about her new book, Jodi did a Q & A with the audience and signed her books. The signing line was huge, the longest I have  ever come across in all the author events I have attended. Lucky for me, Jodi not only signed my book but she also personalised another book I had for my lovely assistant at work. It was her 50th birthday the same day and though she dearly loves Jodi Picoult, she couldn’t attend. I was chuffed. Below is a few pics from this memorable night.

jodi.jpg

Onto my reading efforts this week. I had trouble focussing on a book this week, so I did something I rarely do, which is put a book aside for awhile. The book I selected to read after took a little longer to read than usual but I put that down to tiredness and a busy week. I picked up my first Harlan Coben book out of interest and ending up flying through it in less than 24 hours. At the moment I have nearly finished the new Cathy Kelly book which I need to return tonight as it is a loan. On the reviewing front I published two reviews on my blog. If you are interested in catching up on my thoughts, I’ll leave the link below.

Standing Strong by Fiona McCallum (4 stars)

A Kiss From Mr Fitzgerald by Natasha Lester (5 stars)

Here is what my reading breakdown looks like for the week. If you are stopping past my blog to read this, I am thankful for your visit. I would love to hear any thoughts on my books!  I will endeavour to get to all blogs and answer all posts on my blog this week! Have a great week ahead, Mrs B 🙂

What I read last week:

forgetting.jpg (From my personal TBR shelf)

coben.jpg (Loan copy)

What I am currently reading:

secrets-marriage (Loan copy)

What I plan to read next: 

A review book.

What I received this week:

stormy weather.jpg (Review copy for Beauty & Lace Book Club)

cath weeks.jpg (Personal purchase)

coben-2 (Personal purchase)

That’s all for this week, thank you again for visiting! Mrs B 🙂

19 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 21/11/16

    1. Thanks for stopping past Kathryn. The Jodi Picoult event was very memorable, it’s even better to have the books signed too.
      My friend is much better now thanks, its just lucky i was able to help her out as she is a Mum of three small children.
      I’m looking forward to more books from Harlan Coben, he is very absorbing.

      Like

    1. Thanks for coming by Laurel, hope your week is going well so far.

      It was a very exciting moment to meet Jodi Picoult. I’m glad you enjoyed Small Great Things, it is a very passionate book from Jodi. I also enjoy all her other books.

      I hope you get to Home soon – I devoured it in less than 24 hours!

      Like

  1. The two Harlan Coben’s you show happen to be the only two of his I’ve read. I thoroughly enjoyed them both and do plan to read more of his work in the future. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Greg, meeting Jodi Picoult was a big fangirl moment for this book nerd! It was a really interesting author talk.

      My friend is feeling much better now Greg, thanks for your thoughts.

      I’m looking forward to getting into Fool Me once as I loved Home so much!

      Hope you are having a great week, thanks for calling past.

      Like

    1. Thank you Melinda, it’s nice of your to stop by my blog. Meeting Jodi Picoult was an amazing experience. I hope you enjoy her new book. I did and can appreciate after listening to her speak how much went into it.

      Have a great week, happy reading!

      Like

  2. Oh goodness! I hope that your friend is Okay.

    I’m glad that you met Jodi Picoult AND got the signings done – that’s awesome! Also it’s great that she personalised the book for your assistant even though she couldn’t attend. I’m sure she is thrilled with it!

    I hope that you manage to get through your reading this week and enjoy your latest haul. Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your concern Di, my friend got stitches for a glass injury, she is on the road to recovery now.

      Meeting Jodi and getting the signings done was such a memorable experience, ticked that one off the book bucket list! My assistant was absolutely thrilled as well as shocked at the present.

      I hope you too are having a fantastic reading week, enjoy your books. Thanks for stopping by my blog this week.

      Like

    1. It was a very exciting moment to meet Jodi Picoult, I have admired her work for many years now.

      I too love author events, there seem to have been so many this year and in particular the last 3 months. What I love about author events is learning about each writer’s journey, they differ so much.

      Thanks for commenting on my book haul, so many books so little time! Blind caught your eye… lol, that’s a good one!

      Have a great week and happy reading.

      Like

  3. It was so awesome to meet Jodi Picoult Lakeside Musing, very memorable. I was so chuffed that she personalised my book as the signing line was so long!

    I’m sorry to hear there are not many author events in your area 😦 I’m glad you enjoy hearing about other bloggers experiences though 🙂

    I hope your week is going well so far, thanks for stopping by!

    Like

Leave a Reply

