It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 7/11/2016

its-monday-what-are-you-reading

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Book Date .This meme is a great opportunity for book bloggers to showcase their ‘book-ish’ habits for the week. It is a good forum to share books read in the past week, current reads and upcoming reads. It is also a fantastic way to connect with fellow bookworms and add some books to your reading wishlist. Thanks for hosting Book Date!

The first week of November got off to a great start. A combination of lovely warm spring weather, a first dip in my pool for the season, some reading time by the pool, along with a fantastic author lunch I attended today has been positive.

As I mentioned above, today I attended a lunch with a celebrity chef here in Australia, Manu Feildel. Feildel is French but has made his name here in Australia, namely as a judge on the popular reality television series, My Kitchen Rules. It was an absolute pleasure to taste a sumptuous lunch with Manu, from recipes gleaned from his latest cookbook. He is currently here in Perth to promote his new cookbook. I also enjoyed an in conversation session and topped off the day with a personal signing/meet & greet with Manu. Below is a montage of pictures from today’s lunch:
manu

My reading and reviewing efforts are looking pretty healthy this past week. I completed four books and posted three reviews on the blog. Below is the breakdown of my reading efforts, along with links to the reviews I posted this past week, if you wish to catch up. If you are calling past my blog this week I would love to hear from you and I always welcome any thoughts on my books. Have a lovely week, Mrs B 🙂

The Rarest Thing by Deborah O’Brien (5 stars)

The Best of Adam Sharp by Graeme Simsion (4.5 stars)

Sweet Wattle Creek by Kaye Dobbie (4 stars)

What I read last week:

fmaily-secret (From my TBR pile)

love-elim (From my personal TBR pile and a friend recommendation)

vietnam (From my personal TBR pile)

turning-tide (From my personal TBR pile)

What I am currently reading:

barbed

What I plan to read next:

war-bride (From my personal TBR pile)

What I received this week:

aurora (Goodreads giveaway win)

girl venice.jpg (Personal purchase)

cloud (Personal purchase)

ash-bell (Personal purchase)

butterfly (Personal purchase)

That’s all for this week –  thanks, Mrs B 🙂

12 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 7/11/2016

    1. Thanks for stopping by Kathy – I hope you are having a lovely week. I thought you described my author event very well – it was absolutely amazing and so very delicious! Happy reading to you too. I’m off to check out your reading week now…

      Like

    1. Hi Laurel, thanks for stopping by this week. I hope you are having a lovely week and a positive one on the reading/reviewing and blogging front. The food event was only my second of a cookbook but it was delicious. I will have to try to get to some more food related author events in the future. Will check your Monday out now 🙂

      Like

  1. The meeting with the chef/author sounds really wonderful. I enjoyed The War Bride and I see Pamela Hart has a new one out about March next year I think. I do need to read Deborah Challinor, I bought her convict series but not started yet!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Kathy, thanks for stopping by this week. I hope you are well and I also hope your week has been lovely so far.
      The chef author event was amazing – a real highlight of my year!
      I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed the War Bride. I loved Pamela’s previous book The Soldier’s Wife. I’m looking forward to another release in March.
      I have read only a couple of Deborah Challinor, this new one looked interesting. I do love convict/early settlement historical fiction.
      Best wishes for a great week 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for stopping by Stephanie.
      The chef/author event was fabulous, very fun indeed. The lunch served was recipes from the book which was very inspiring.
      Yes I am very lucky to own my own pool. It is a godsend in the heat of summer here in Western Australia!
      I hope you are having a lovely week so far.
      Amanda 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A dip in the pool sounds good, we’re unseasonably warm here but our pool weather is mostly over ha ha. Glad spring is starting off nice. The Girl From Venice looks like a good read, and so does The Turning Tide. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for stopping by this week Greg. I hope your week has been great so far on the life/blogging and reading front!
      It was so refreshing to take a dip in the pool at the weekend. Now I know Summer is just around the corner!
      Glad to hear it is unseasonably warm your way, enjoy it while you can!
      I’m keen to get into a Girl from Venice, after seeing some postive reviews on other blogs.
      Wishing you a happy week!

      Like

  3. Hi Amanda,

    I envy you your wonderful lunch with Manu – definitely something unique. His book will probably be in stores by now, I’ll have to keep an eye out for it. I collect cookbooks by well-known personalities.

    I’ve never read Anita Heiss but I plan to one day. It will be ages before I get to Fiona’s latest book, the next one on my list of hers to read is The Sunnyvale Girls when I get to it. Love her books! Another author I’ve never read is Dean Koontz well, only under is pseudonym Leigh Nichols and those books are fantastic. Ashley Bell looks a bit spine-chilling and exorcist -ish like. Can’t wait for that review. The War Bride has been on my list for a while now – oh, so many books, so little time. I’ll wait for your reviews before I add some of them to my ever growing TBR list.

    I’m going to add all the books listed on your previous Book Date blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Sue
    I hope your week is going along nicely so far? How is your reading going? Made any dents to the TBR shelf?!

    The Manu event was something special – very enjoyable and the lunch was relaxing as well as fun. It inspired me to have a go at some of Manu’s recipes soon.
    It’s nice to hear you collect cookbooks – do you have a favourite?

    I should finish the Anita Heiss book off tonight. I’m loving what I have read so far. I have had her previous book Tiddas on that TBR shelf of mine. Perhaps I will dust it off soon! See what you think after reading my review.

    I’m glad to hear you are a fan of Fiona Palmer’s. She was the first author I saw at an author event, she kick started my interest in attending author events! I loved the Sunnyvale Girls and I’m sure you will too. If you get time put it on your TBR list! I still have The Saddler Girls and The Sunburnt Country of Fiona’s to read.

    I didn’t know Dean Koontz writes under another name – how interesting. I’m glad to hear these books have been great reads. I’ve never read one before but couldn’t resist picking his latest up when I was op shopping last week! He is an author wo has been recommended many times by my customers at my market stall so I thought i should get on and try one. I will let you know how I go!

    I’m keen to get into the War Bride, just like you. I loved Pamela’s previous book – The Soldier’s Wife. It is another book that I know you will love – I’m sorry I just can’t help but add to your TBR pile! Another book blogger just alerted me to Pamela Hart releasing another book in March too, that will be going straight on my TBR pile!

    I think too many books, so little time should be my motto in life!
    Glad to hear I have added even more books from my Monday post last week to your reading pile 🙂
    xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

