It's Monday! What Are You Reading?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 24/10/16

its-monday-what-are-you-reading

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Book Date .This meme is a great opportunity for book bloggers to showcase their ‘book-ish’ habits for the week. It is a good forum to share books read in the past week, current reads and upcoming reads. It is also a fantastic way to connect with fellow bookworms and add some books to your reading wishlist. Thanks for hosting Book Date!

It was a lovely weekend weather wise here in Perth. With a slow start to spring, it finally looks like spring may be here to stay! My reading went a bit on the wayside to give way to some outdoor activities spent with family and friends over the weekend. We all enjoyed a trip to the local races, Ascot. Sunday was a chance to rest and relax and get our pool ready for some hopefully warmer weather soon! I hope the weather was kind to you this past week!

In the last week I have almost managed to get on top of my reviews and as of today, I have two left to complete in the next few days. I posted three reviews this week. If you are interested in catching up on any of them, you can find the links below:

Opal’s Story by Phyllis H. Moore review

The Hand That Feeds You by A.J. Rich review

After the Fall by Carissa Lusk review

I read three books this week, all were review books. The book I am currently reading, as well as what I plan to read next, are all also review books. I’m looking forward to making a dent on my personal TBR pile, as soon as I shift these review books out of the way! Below is a breakdown of my reading habits for the week. I always very much welcome thoughts or comments on my books. If you are reading this, I thank you for taking to time to visit my blog. Have a great week! Mrs B 🙂

What I read last week:

carissa (E-book review copy courtesy of the author)

songs-of-war (Book 1 of a series read in preparation for book 2, a review book).

castle-d (Review book for Beauty and Lace).

What I am currently reading:

kate-kerrigan (Review book for Beauty and Lace).

What I plan to read next:

rarest-thing (Review book courtesy of the author).

What I received this week:

ice (Personal purchase).

leave-me (Personal purchase).

teahouse (Personal purchase).

Thanks again for stopping by! Mrs B 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 24/10/16

    1. I would imagine it does seem strange that here down under we are preparing for a nice hot summer ahead! I hope the weather is bearable your way. I’m glad you enjoyed looking through my books and seeing some new ones this week. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

      Like

  1. Ah yes, Spring is on its way. We are getting spring rain here in NZ today!! I see you have some books in your reading line up of Santa Montefiore, I had never heard of her until recently. I picked up one at the local book fair so will get a sample.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s is great to hear spring is also on its way in NZ too. We also are getting rainy days off and on. That’s great you managed to pick a Santa Montefiore book at your local book fair – enjoy :-). I hope you week is going well so far.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks you for stopping by Elizabeth, much appreciated. It has been a great week reading, reviewing and book collecting wise. I hope your week has also been great. I do love both spring and autumn – which is your Fall, the temps are both ideal!

      Like

  2. Glad it’s getting nice for you, we’re in full fall mode now and it’s cooling off some but I don’t mind. Although I will when it gets colder. 🙂 The pool sounds good.

    After the Fall looks like a bit of a suspenseful read.

    Like

  3. Thanks Greg, it has been a longer winter than usual here in Western Australia, so lovely to get some warm spring days. I love our autumn – which is your fall too, ideal temps. I’m looking forward to taking a dip in our pool and indulging in some poolside reading soon too!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I hope you are having a great week 🙂

    Like

  4. Will read your review It Was Only Ever You sometime today and will see which list to add this too. I swear I must stop reading reviews they’re doing my head in as I keep adding more and more to my TBR list! I’m half way through Leave Me by Gayle Forman. I love it!!! Actually, if it wasn’t for reviewers like you or Kathryn White I would not know about half of these books, I’d probably just bypass them. So I guess it doesn’t hurt to add them to my list to follow up on when or if I want. After reading Kathryn’s review I just had to borrow it from the library.

    Lucky you having a pool. Hubby and the daughter are pool people it takes me an hour to get into the water water so I don’t bother. They swim I read.

    Responding to your last comment on 17/10/2016: Yes, I would love to hear your thoughts on The Riders, of course, when you get around to it.

    The book club meeting is still going ahead just Roseanne Catt has had to postpone but you’re right it’s something to look forward to next year.

    Thanks Amanda, yes I did get a bit of reading time in sometimes though, I wish I could go away for a month or so so I can just curl up with a book without being disturbed.

    And responding to your comment on the Book Review The Hand that feeds You: I know what you mean about committing to a series. I read 8 authors that write in a series and I can’t add any more authors that write books where the series is ongoing, these 8 are hard enough to get through as is.

    Only recently a series by Nicci French has been written. Blue Monday the first novel to feature psychotherapist Frieda Klein, each novel continues with the days of the week theme. e.g. Blue Monday, Tuesday’s Gone, Waiting for Wednesday, etc. So I’d say by the time Nicci French finishes up with Sunday more stand alone books might be on the cards. Very interested to see what they have planned next. So far there are 11 stand alone novels and I’ve really enjoyed each one, I think I’m on there last one and I have the first two in the Frieda Klein series.

    Like

  5. Hi Sue – you must read It Was Only Ever You – it is beautiful, romantic and full of music, which is good for the soul. I’m sure you will love it.

    I love how reviewers/bloggers connect us to books. I agree many i would have never heard of before often catch my eye through reading blogs or seeing the books being added to personal accounts of Goodreads. I’m glad to hear you are enjoying Leave Me. I treated myself to a copy after seeing a few positive reviews on Beauty & Lace Book Club and Debbish.

    Good news on the book club meeting still going ahead. I have added the Roseanne Catt book to my want to read list on Goodreads. I will look forward to your report after the author visit.

    I agree wouldn’t it be nice to get away from life in general for a month just to read, we could make a real dent in those TBR bookshelves! I think next week is going to be a big one buying wise, lots of authors I love have new ones arriving – Di Morrissey, Tricia Stringer to name a few! Lucky I’ll be doing my market stall this weekend selling some of my second hand books for some $$$ for new ones!

    Wow 8 authors who write in a series is a big commitment, well done, I know I couldn’t do it at this stage!

    I think Blue Monday may be the only Nicci French book I have read. I did enjoy it – I think? It was a few years ago now. I like that Nicci French bases the books on days of the week, I’m sure some standalones are in the works once the ‘days’ have been exhausted! A friend from my book club highly recommends Nicci French but at this stage I can’t fit in this series.

    Amanda xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

