Uncategorized

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 10/10/2016

its-monday-what-are-you-reading

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Book Date .This meme is a great opportunity for book bloggers to showcase their ‘book-ish’ habits for the week. It is a good forum to share books read in the past week, current reads and upcoming reads. It is also a fantastic way to connect with fellow bookworms and add some books to your reading wishlist. Thanks for hosting Book Date!

Hi all! As I am writing this I am taking a break from my preparations for the next and final school term for 2016. I start back in a couple of days as I work part time, so today officially ends my two week school holiday break. Overall I was happy with what I achieved in my break. I read a fair bit, got ahead on my reviews and attended two fantastic author events. I also have two more author events booked in for this week. Tonight I am seeing Hannah Kent (Burial Rites fame) and Wednesday West Australian author Tim Winton. Author events aide, I published two reviews on my blog this week. If you are interested in any of these reviews you can read them here:

The Wrong Girl by Zoe Foster

The Locksmith’s Daughter by Karen Brooks

Here is a snapshot of last Monday night’s author talk with Australian crime fiction writer. Candice Fox.

14495423_1080180508745457_3020657265253961357_n.jpg

I wish you all a very happy reading week. If you are reading this, I thank you for stopping by. Please say hi and feel free to comment on my reading journey. My wrap up on my reading this week looks like this:

What I read last week:

wrong-girl-2 (From my personal TBR pile)

never (Author event –  signed copy!)

lock (ARC via Beauty and Lace for review)

small-great (ARC copy via The Reading Room/Allen & Unwin)

What I am currently reading:

into-the-darkness (Goodreads giveaway win)

What I plan to read next:

opal (Review copy courtesy of the author)

What I received this week:

i-let-you-go (Loan from a fellow bookworm)

trees (Personal purchase via recommendation from a bookworm)

house (Personal purchase)

two (Personal purchase)

Thank you! Mrs B 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 10/10/2016

    1. It was a great week thanks! This one is even busier – two author events. It is hard being in the evening but I just can’t resist. Perth seems to be experiencing a flurry of great visiting authors over the next couple of months! I do hope you can get to one of these events 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by Laurel. I just read your review of Small Great Things – fantastic! I will have to check back on your thoughts on I Let You go. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed it. The Wrong Girl was a fun chick lit read – very Australian.
      Thank you for stopping by and enjoy the rest of your week!

      Like

  1. Glad you had a great break. 🙂 And enjoy the author events!

    The Locksmith’s Daughter looks fantastic (and nice review)!

    I Let You Go looks good also.

    Like

    1. It was a great break Greg, now back into it! I have another author event tomorrow night, I’m really looking forward to it.
      Thanks for your positive comments on my review of The Locksmith’s Daughter. If you like historical fiction you will enjoy it.
      I’m keen to get into I Let You Go, I have heard it is a very good thriller.
      Thanks for stopping by, have a great week 🙂

      Like

  2. It sounds, and looks like, you had a great bookish week last week and with some great plans ahead this week also!

    I’ve heard good things about Small Great Things and also I Let You Go; haven’t read either of them myself though. Have a great week!

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by Jade, I hope you are having a great week and a productive reading week too!

      My review for Small Great Things is going up tomorrow to mark the book’s release. I hope you manage to read it. I am also keen to get to I Let You Go very soon.

      Like

  3. Good that your school break was profitable, the author event looks amazing. Hope you like the Nicholas Sparks book, I did – great father/daughter relationship development.

    Like

  4. Thanks for stopping by Kathryn. The school break was great thanks, now it’s going to be hard to get back into work and lessen the reading time! The author event was really good, Candice Fox is amazing. I just read your lovely review for Two by Two, I’m so looking forward to making some time for this book.
    Enjoy the rest of your week 🙂

    Like

  5. It’s so encouraging when you can kind of catch up on everything when you have some time off. I’m glad you had a great break!

    The Locksmith’s Daughter looks intriguing. I will have to check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your encouraging words Lindsey and thanks for stopping in.
      I would recommend The Locksmith’s Daughter if you enjoy historical fiction with a different storyline. I enjoyed being swept up in the Elizabethan era.
      I hope your week is going well 🙂

      Like

  6. I would love to attend an author event, but these rarely happen where I live.
    I enjoyed your review of The Locksmith’s Daughter and hope to read it soon.
    Enjoy the rest of your week!

    Like

    1. Hi Yvonne and thanks so much for stopping by. That’s a shame you don’t have many author events your way, they are such a great way to connect to authors and their writing.
      Thank you for taking the time to read my review of The Locksmith’s Daughter. I do hope you manage to read it 🙂
      I hope your week is going well 🙂

      Like

  7. I’ll be looking forward to your review of Never Never and hope to read it in the next couple of months.
    Great review of The Wrong Girl, I put a reserve on it and should be available soon. I’ve only read Susan Duncan’s first book Salvation Creek I enjoyed it a lot. I think I need to catch up, I see she’s written a few since then.

    Glad you had a great break enjoy your time back at school!

    PS. I’ve just finished reading Castle of Dreams. I don’t even know what to say my heart is still breaking. So so sad.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hi Sue, thanks for leaving a post reply to this earlier 🙂

    I have finished and written up my review for Never, Never in the holidays. I was trying to bank a few up so I can draw on them when I’m busy back at school so the blog doesn’t go flat! I am hoping to post it up next week, so keep your eye out for it if you are interested in my thoughts. I do hope you can read it over the next few months.

    Thanks for taking the time to read my review for The Wrong Girl. I hope it makes its way to you soon. I’m sure it is very popular at the moment with the TV series starting.

    I have some more Susan Duncan Books sitting on my TBR shelves – Gone Fishing and the first Salvation Creek book to catch up on like yourself. I just couldn’t resist the cover of this one!

    The first week back at school is almost over, only 9 more weeks to go! Then onto some serious summer holiday reading! I hope your library books are going well this week?

    I am so glad to hear you finished and enjoyed Castle of Dreams. It is my favourite read of 2016. Elise is such a lovely author to connect with too 🙂 I’m sure she would love to hear your thoughts and yes it is sad but so, so good!

    Amanda xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

