2016 Reviews · Britain · mystery · psychological · suspense · thriller

Book Review: Watching Edie by Camilla Way

edie

Book blurb:

Beautiful, creative, a little wild… Edie was the kind of girl who immediately caused a stir when she walked into your life. And she had dreams back then—but it didn’t take long for her to learn that things don’t always turn out the way you want them to.

Now, at thirty-three, Edie is working as a waitress, pregnant and alone. And when she becomes overwhelmed by the needs of her new baby and sinks into a bleak despair, she thinks that there’s no one to turn to…

But someone’s been watching Edie, waiting for the chance to prove once again what a perfect friend she can be. It’s no coincidence that Heather shows up on Edie’s doorstep, just when Edie needs her the most. So much has passed between them—so much envy, longing, and betrayal. And Edie’s about to learn a new lesson: those who have hurt us deeply—or who we have hurt—never let us go, not entirely…

4-stars

My review:

Watching Edie is a novel that explores what happens when a friendship goes wrong. It is a dark and disturbing tale of a horrific secret that cannot be buried, no matter how hard the perpetrator tries to keep it hidden.

Watching Edie is divided into two time frames, with two different female narrators. In the present day, the book is told through the eyes of Edie, a waitress, who finds herself pregnant and bringing up a baby alone. A past storyline also runs through Watching Edie, which is told from the point of view of Heather, who was once Edie’s best friend. The reader is fed tit bits pertaining to a terrible secret which is revealed near the close of the novel, which ripped apart these once incredibly close best friends. The secret comes bubbling to the surface when Heather suddenly reappears in Edie’s life in the present day, as Edie struggles with postpartum depression. The author, Camilla Way, explores the possibility that such a horrible act of the past can truly be forgotten through the progression of the novel.

Watching Edie was a thrilling psychological based twister of a novel from start to finish. It had me hooked from the very start. What I appreciated about Watching Edie was the structure of the novel. I feel the choice of switching between past and present day, as well as swapping voices, had significant impact on the reader. It was excruciating at times but the drip feed style narrative leading up Edie and Heather’s bust up was utterly compelling. The device of alternating narrators, also allows the reader to switch where their sympathies may lie with a particular character. Just when I thought I had one character figured out, something in the narrative would push me towards empathising with the other. To me, this always signals a great psychological thriller. Watching Edie typifies the ‘unreliable narrator’ style novels, made famous by such books as Gone Girl or Girl on the Train. Watching Edie is definitely up there with these novels, it is a very clever thriller.  It had great moments of darkness that had me guessing right up until the end. The end was unexpected but it was a fitting conclusion to this twisted tale.

Watching Edie is a sharp and layered novel that held me in its vice-like grip, from the opening to the close of the last page of the book. It is best enjoyed by lovers of the psychological-thriller genre.

Watching Edie by Camilla Way was published on 1st August 2016, by Harper Collins Books Australia.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Watching Edie by Camilla Way

  1. Oooooh, I absolutely enjoy reading psychological thrillers. I think this one might be on my list already but I must check – I definitely don’t want to miss out on reading this book! Awesome review!

    Enjoy your school holidays, Amanda! I had just finished commenting on your last Book Date post and sent it off then realised I forgot to mention the said holidays. I do hope you’re getting lots and lots of reading in but, I’d say that could be a tad difficult with two young boys.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really enjoyed this one Sue and I would recommend it if you love dark psychological thrillers. It has a similar feeling to Gone Girl/Girl on the Train, with the unreliable narrator dictating the direction of the novel. In Watching Edie, there are two unreliable narrators to contend with! I hope you manage to read this book at some point 🙂 Thanks for reading my review and taking the time to comment.

      Thanks for the school holiday wishes, we have one more week to go and I don’t feel like I have caught up to where I wanted to be with my reading! As you said it is difficult with two young boys to entertain. I’ve just moved into my reading room/book boudoir to do some review work and they have followed me in to build cubby houses, lol!

      I’m just about to check on your comment on my Book Date post 🙂

      Like

      1. Believe it or not I haven’t read Gone Girl or Girl on the Train. I’ve read a few reviews where most readers found the books totally boring or hated it, thank goodness bad reviews do not sway me, actually if a review has a bad rating I make sure to read that book. Maybe I’m not such a good reviewer as I could never bag out an author – there’s never been a book I’ve disliked. I’ve stopped reading a couple of books but only because it’s not a genre I can get into.

        Well, cubby house building is fun! Lol. I feel for you not getting as much reading in, I’m the same although I don’t have kids at home any more (I only have the one and she is – omg – I don’t know if I can mention her age, I’m sooo old, lol – here goes – she’s 28.) but there is always so much housework, cooking, shopping, etc, to do!

        Ooh, I’ve just read your reply to my comment on your Book Date post (loved it) and I’ll reply back today, if not most definitely tomorrow.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh you so must get on and read Girl on the Train. It has got to be one of my favourite thrillers. Gone Girl was good too. I was impressed with the Gone Girl movie adaptation, they did a good job. Don’t let those reviews sway you! I find it hard to write bad reviews. If I don’t like the book I won’t write a review. I still feel bad giving less than 2 stars as an author has still worked hard at their craft and been through the tough journey to get published. I find it hard to put a book down even if I can’t get into it.

    As 28 year old would be far easier than my 6 and 4 year olds.! They are only young once so I’m trying to enjoy this age as it is flying by. I’m sure there is still much to do household wise even when they are older. The cycle of shopping, cleaning, cooking etc doesn’t end!

    Thanks for stopping by yesterday. I had a busy one as it was my brother’s birthday then straight onto the train for the Candice Fox event. Thanks for being patient! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

