Uncategorized

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 5/9/16

It's Monday! What Are You Reading

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by Book Date .This meme is a great opportunity for book bloggers to showcase their ‘book-ish’ habits for the week. It is a good forum to share books read in the past week, current reads and upcoming reads. It is also a fantastic way to connect with fellow bookworms and add some books to your reading wishlist. Thanks for hosting Book Date!

Spring has sprung here in Perth, Australia and I am happy to say goodbye to winter! We were blessed with two fantastic days weather wise over the weekend, so I took advantage of some outdoors time. Reading went a little on the wayside over the weekend, giving way to one of my book related habits on Saturday. I did my monthly stint at a local markets selling my second-hand book haul. It was a cold start at 5am but worth it as I get to connect to local bookworms who purchase books from my stall. Yesterday was Fathers Day here in Australia. I celebrated with fish and chips on the foreshore at our local beach with my family including my two sons, husband, father, mum and brother. We are very lucky to have such a stunning beach so close to home.

Onto my reading wrap up, I published two reviews, Suburban Nightmare by Emily Webb, which you can read here.This was a book provided to me by The Reading Room/Echo Publishing Australia. The second was a young adult Australian book from my personal bookshelves, that I read last month but haven’t had time until a couple of days ago to get my thoughts together. You can read my review of Stay With Me by Maureen McCarthy here. This week was a fairly normal reading week, I finished three books and I am almost ready to publish a review of The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena later on today. So please check back here if you are interested in my thoughts. If you are reading this I thank you for stopping by, please say hello and let me know what you are reading and if you have any thoughts on my books too!

What I read last week:

s nightmare   under the harrow  couple next door

What I am currently reading:

local girl

What I plan to read next:

sweet wattle  saddler boys

Something lighter ! 🙂

Thanks for stopping by and have a lovely reading week! Mrs B

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 5/9/16

  1. Spring is here in South Africa as well! Whoo hoo! Now we just need to pray for rain… I am going to have a look at your review on The couple next door right now as I still want to read that one. Hope you will have a great week and happy reading!

    Like

    1. Good news Spring has arrived in South Africa too. I do hope you get some rain, we had a big storm today bringing lots of rain. Thank for stopping by and taking the time to comment, much appreciated. I hope you also manage to get to read The Couple Next Door.
      Enjoy the rest of your week!

      Like

  2. Our year here in the northern hemisphere is drifting into Fall. I’m enjoying the cooler mornings with still warm days and am not at all eager for winter to arrive. Today is rainy which is great since all my plans are for indoor things. Come see what I accomplished last week here. Happy reading!

    Like

    1. Sounds like a perfect time of the year your way Kathy. I also appreciate the warm days but cooler mornings. I do like rainy days for inddor activities too – like reading! Thanks for stopping by and I’ve just checked out what you accomplished this week… looks great. Will be commenting on your post.
      Enjoy the rest of your week.

      Like

  3. I loved The Couple Next Door…and now I’m eyeing Local Girl Missing. Your Saturdays sound nice…and I hope you enjoy Spring.

    I would love to visit Australia some day, but since I hate flying, only tolerating flights of 5 hours or less, I’m a bit restricted there…lol.

    Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by Laurelrainsnow. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed The Couple Next Door, it was a great debut and wow to the last 3 pages! Local Girl Missing was even better for me, another ending I didn’t see coming. I would be interested in your thoughts if you get around to reading it. I will be posting my review of Local Girl Missing very soon.

      Australia is lovely place to visit, but I agree the flight is a killer!

      Enjoy the rest of your week!

      Like

  4. Oh yes Perth sounds beautiful. I’ve never been to that side of Australia, we have signs of Spring here too and bulbs are beginning to bloom. What a great idea to do sell your used books at a stall, love the idea. I usually hand mine in that I am not going to keep to our annual second hand book fair where I love to go as well and stock up!

    Like

    1. Hi Kathryn, thanks for dropping in to say hello. Perth and the west coast where I live is pretty isolated and tends not to get visited, we have some lovely beaches and sights to see here though. Lovely to hear Spring is underway where you live.
      Selling books at a market is what I love, in between reading and blogging! That’s great to hear you donate as well as buy books at an annual book fair. I love book fairs too, we have a fantastic one coming up in a couple of weeks time. I love stocking up, though I really don’t need to!
      Enjoy the resy of your week!

      Like

  5. What a lovely way to spend Father’s Day, with all those members of family together at the one time. It sounds like selling the second hand books on the market is quite a rewarding thing; connecting with other bookworms is always fun.

    I hope you enjoy all your upcoming reads!

    Like

    1. Hi Jade, thanks for stopping by my blog, much appreciated and thank you for your lovely comments.

      Selling books at the markets really is a rewarding hobby. I get to make a little money to support my book reading habits and see my books go to a good home. I love chatting to fellow readers, I often come away from my conversations with many more books or authors to discover.

      I am really enjoying one of my upcoming reads, so far so good 🙂

      I hope you are having a great week!

      Like

    1. Hi Lindsay, thanks for droping by. I do like to balance out my genres, too many thrillers in a row gives me the chills after a while! I have to swap! Australian rural romance is always my go-to genre if I need a change or a comfort read. Do you also switch your genres around?

      I do hope you are having a great week 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

