Australian · contemporary fiction · Rewind Book Review

Rewind Book Review: Love At First Flight by Tess Woods

love at first flight

I first read and reviewed Love At First Flight by Tess Woods in November of last year. It stood out  as one of my best reads of 2015. Many months and many books later, Love At First Flight still holds a strong place in my heart. I was thrilled when I found out Love At First Flight was being published in print. I was also very lucky to be invited to the launch  of this book and finally meet Tess Woods in person, which was a most lovely experience. To celebrate the print release of Love At First Flight, I am reposting my review of this fabulous five star read.

Book blurb:

Looking back on it now, I can see it was instant. The second we locked eyes. Boom. Just like that. The me I had spent a lifetime perfecting began its disintegration from that moment. And despite the carnage it brought to all our lives, I still don’t regret it. What would you risk to be with the love of your life? And what if your soul mate is the one who will destroy you? Mel is living the dream. She’s a successful GP, married to a charming anaesthetist and raising a beautiful family in their plush home in Perth. But when she boards a flight to Melbourne, she meets Matt and her picture perfect Stepford life unravels as she falls in love for the first time ever.What begins as a flirty conversation between strangers quickly develops into a hot and obsessive affair with disastrous consequences neither Mel nor Matt could have ever seen coming. Mel’s dream life turns into her worst nightmare.Love at First Flight will take everything you believe about what true love is and spin it on its head.

5 stars

Love At First Flight is set between two Australian cities, Melbourne and Perth. It tells the story of a man, Matt, a physiotherapist who is about to get married to the love of his life and a woman Mel, a married GP with two children.  The two go from complete strangers to unexpectedly much more, when they are sat next to one another on a flight to Melbourne. This chance meeting is the catalyst for a relationship that develops between the two. Love At First Flight examines the instant attraction that occurs between Matt and Mel, to the much deeper love that subsequently develops. It is the kind of forbidden attraction that shatters the lives of Matt and Mel themselves and those around them, through their actions. Love At First Flight is an honest and completely raw examination of the stages of a love affair that occurs between two people, who literally risk it all to be together.

I whizzed through this book in a day, staying up well beyond my bedtime to read this absorbing story. I found Love At First Flight a highly affective piece of writing, when I was reading it I was constantly thinking about it. I found myself questioning what I would do if I was placed in a similar scenario to Mel, the main character, it definitely gave me much food for thought.  It also made me question the construction of being “in love” with someone. After completing it last night, I still haven’t stopped thinking about the book and I don’t think it will leave me for some time. I am okay with this as I have grown most attached to the book and the characters. I think the affective nature in this book lies in the honest writing and realistic scenarios in which Woods places her characters. It really did hit the spot for me, though confronting at times, as it prompted me to rehash some feelings of being a teenager, similar to Mel’s children, witnessing the aftermath of a powerful affair. So a warning to some readers, you may find this aspect of the book confronting.

Love At First Flight deserves a solid five star rating. Tess Woods has herself an instant fan and I so cannot wait for her next book. I was fortunate to receive this book for free in a giveaway run by the author, I wish to shout out a big thank you Tess for sharing Mel and Matt’s story.

Love At First Flight was published in 2015 by Harper Collins Publishers Australia http://www.harpercollins.com.au/9781460705414/

 

Leave a Reply

